3/8 Shooter- need help with pmps @85

Heather & Shooter

Member Since 2009
Happy Friday!

I forgot to mention the other day the vet is also concerned with Shooter's blood pressure. I told her about another vet who said it was 208 and they weren't concerned because of the vet visit stress. So she took it 3 times and it was like 185 then 201 then 197 or something. She wants to eliminate vet stress and get a more accurate reading by having me give him gabapentin 2 hrs before going in for the recheck this afternoon. Thoughts on this?

3/7 Shooter AMPS 117 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB
 
Yes, like BG, BP can also be elevated at the vet due to stress. Do know a vet who can come home and measure his BP?

How to Measure Blood Pressure



Preparation

Cats can suffer from "white coat syndrome", also known as situational hypertension, where their blood pressure rises from the stress of the vet or hospital visit. This causes artificially inflated readings that are not accurate, so it is best to make sure your cat is as relaxed as possible before any tests are run:

  • you should always try to be present when blood pressure is taken.

  • blood pressure should be tested before any other testing or handling is done.

  • blood pressure should be measured in a quiet room. If possible, try to give your cat 5-10 minutes to get used to the room before the blood pressure is measured.

  • if your cat gets stressed at the vet's, it can sometimes help to cover the cat's head with a towel or blanket. This would probably make humans more stressed, but it does help some cats: we used to do this for Harpsie whenever he had blood taken and it definitely made him calmer.

  • the person taking the measurements should be experienced in taking blood pressure in cats.
From https://felinecrf.org/hypertension.htm
 
Ok, so they did about 6 tests but all in a row and never removed the cuff. Are those going to be accurate? They started out at 176/103 and went down to 135/? I messaged them to email me all of the readings from 2 days ago and today.
 
Ok, so they did about 6 tests but all in a row and never removed the cuff. Are those going to be accurate? They started out at 176/103 and went down to 135/? I messaged them to email me all of the readings from 2 days ago and today.
That second reading is good, Its within normal range. And yes, you leave the cuff on for all the readings. I have done them at home before and I always try and leave the cuff on although sometimes it moves out of place and I have to reset it. The easiest Ive found is to put the cuff at the base of the tail.
 
That second reading is good, Its within normal range. And yes, you leave the cuff on for all the readings. I have done them at home before and I always try and leave the cuff on although sometimes it moves out of place and I have to reset it. The easiest Ive found is to put the cuff at the base of the tail.

Ok thank you so much! They might opt to not give him bp meds then but will the gaba make it lower than what would be normal even at home?
 
Not sure who is available right now but since Shooter hasn't gone hypo should I give the full 5u? I'm wondering if the solensia shot and gabapentin are going to bring his numbers down more (less pain).
 
He ate a little FF pate when we got home from the vet at 3:30 (3 hours ago). Haven't shot or given food but I'm supposed to right now.
Ok good. Can you get another test now? You've had a long day! Do you think you will be able to monitor him if you shoot?
 
Back
Top