3/8 Rosy PMPS 148/+2 207/+5, 176/+10 HI what to do?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Helen, Rosy is doing GREAT and so are you. I know the HI is hard to look at, especially after she has had a couple of good cycles in a row, but Serryn is right. Some cats seem to delay their bounces for a cycle or two, and some I could swear are saving up - times when you would expect them to bounce, they will skip one or two of those expected bounces and then just have one really big bounce instead. I think maybe their pancreas just gets tired and needs a break sometimes. You will gradually notice the bounces getting lower and not lasting as long. The bounce will clear out on its own. Some cats clear them quickly, some take a few days.

When this bounce clears out, we can evaluate whether the 1.5u dose is enough or if maybe she needs a bit more. For now, the best thing to do is keep shooting the same 1.5 unit dose and see where she ends up after this bounce clears out.
 
kim and simon said:
Hi Helen, just stopping by to say hi! What a ride you've been on! You are doing great. Say hi to Rosy and give her some scratches from Simon and me.


Tks Kim and simon! Good morning from HK!

Vyktors Mum said:
It should be okay that is a good meter but to be doubly sure next time you are at the vet take your meter and get them to test with their meter and your meter at the same time from the same blood. There will be some difference (20% either way is acceptable under the law) but it shouldn't be too huge.

You're giving her treats everytime you test aren't you - whether you get to finish the test or not. Maybe a treat before you test as well as after might encourage her more. It's such a shame you have to move her to test, that is probably bothering her more than the test.

p.s. would love to see a photo of all your kitties lazying around together if you have the sort of camera that can upload to the computer.

Yes Serryn, will do.
Rosy is such a good girl. She came out at those odd hours for me to do the test. I'd rather prick myself than to prick her if it can work that way. Cannot give her a treat b4 test, she'll go crazy asking for more!

I've got pic on my gang but have difficulty uploading here! Im not good with the computer, have to get my husband to help me after he came home after work. Poor man feeding all 22 of us & got to stay up helping me with the tests.


Helen
 
Libby and Lucy said:
Hi Helen, Rosy is doing GREAT and so are you. I know the HI is hard to look at, especially after she has had a couple of good cycles in a row, but Serryn is right. Some cats seem to delay their bounces for a cycle or two, and some I could swear are saving up - times when you would expect them to bounce, they will skip one or two of those expected bounces and then just have one really big bounce instead. I think maybe their pancreas just gets tired and needs a break sometimes. You will gradually notice the bounces getting lower and not lasting as long. The bounce will clear out on its own. Some cats clear them quickly, some take a few days.

When this bounce clears out, we can evaluate whether the 1.5u dose is enough or if maybe she needs a bit more. For now, the best thing to do is keep shooting the same 1.5 unit dose and see where she ends up after this bounce clears out.


Is there anyway to help Rosy to clear out quickly? If she stay on the high figures for long period, I'm afraid of ketone. Not that she has, she's healthy & blood test from vet is normal.
 
You just have to ride it out Helen - DO NOT increase the dose because she is high, Lantus doesn't work like that and you will do more harm than good. The bounce is a sign that her liver is working well and also lets you get some rest so not all bad. Are you testing her urine for ketones? Might be hard to get a sample from the right cat with so many but if she's not too shy you can just put the ketone strip under her flow when you catch her going.

Don't forget to start a new condo for her AMPS and link this one to it :smile:
 
has Rosy ever had ketones? It's always recommended to test for them, especially because you just did a big decrease in dose, but as long as the tests are negative then the best bet is to let the bounces clear on their own. It looks like the last two times Rosy was over 500, she was back in the blues again in just a few hours. That was on a higher Lantus dose, so we'll have to wait and see whether she does the same on the 1.5u dose or not.
 
you're doing fine, helen. this is one of the hard parts of the whole thing - the waiting. serryn is absolutely right, though - just shoot the same amount for now.
 
Vyktors Mum said:
You just have to ride it out Helen - DO NOT increase the dose because she is high, Lantus doesn't work like that and you will do more harm than good. The bounce is a sign that her liver is working well and also lets you get some rest so not all bad. Are you testing her urine for ketones? Might be hard to get a sample from the right cat with so many but if she's not too shy you can just put the ketone strip under her flow when you catch her going.

Don't forget to start a new condo for her AMPS and link this one to it :smile:

julie & punkin said:
you're doing fine, helen. this is one of the hard parts of the whole thing - the waiting. serryn is absolutely right, though - just shoot the same amount for now.

Right. Ive learned my lesson. I'll not jump into any increase on her dosage.
Rosy acted perfectly normal, maybe after the blue & yellow yesterday, she is happy.

helen
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top