3/8 Rosy PMPS 148/+2 207/+5, 176/+10 HI what to do?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/8 Rosy AMPS 144 Shoot or not?

Helen, Will you be home to monitor Rosy?? Can you wait 15 min to see if she goes up some, or will it mess up your shooting times? and post that number here?
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy AMPS 144 Shoot or not?

Just info gathering here for the wiser folks than I...

Will you be available to monitor carefully? Do you have strips on hand for frequent testing...HC food and karo or honey on hand if needed?

From your SS, it is the lowest number you've shot...but in my opinion...
a very nice number!!

celi
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy AMPS 144 Shoot or not?

Yes I can stay home to monitor her. I am gong to take a test now & post. If her BG has rised over the last 20min, I'll go ahead with the shot + food, right?
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy AMPS 144 Shoot or not?

My guess is that's what they'll advise...but let's see where she's at next test. :-D

Exciting, isn't it? :-D

celi
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy AMPS 144 Shoot or not?

25 min after the first test , it a 166 from the 144. I'll give her the shot of1.5u. Feed her & monitor at +2.
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy AMPS 144 Shoot or not?

Go ahead and shoot and feed and yes get a +2 and I will be back to check on that number and we will make further test plans from there
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy AMPS 144 Shoot or not?

You did Great!!! Keep a good eye on her & test at +2 or +3, +4 or+5, and at +6, as you need to do at least 2-3 tests before her nadir or low point of her cycle, usually around +6..
The more data you have in your SS, the easier you can see a pattern emerging, as to where Rosy goes in her cycle--Hope It goes well...You are doing GREAT!!!-Post today's number in your subject line so we all can see it-OK? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy Preshot 144/+20min 166. I shot!!

Helen:

If the number you shot was 166, that's your pre-shot number. Please get a +1 and a +2 and post-those numbers. (Whenever you shoot your lowest number, you want to get a +1 and a +2.)

Also, you can take the "911" off of your subject line.
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy Preshot 144/+20min 166. I shot!!

Thankyou all for standing by us!
Yes, I shot! Rosy took me by surprise with that blue number after the fur shot & the reduction to 1.5u :lol:
Will test at +2
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy AMPS 144 Shoot or not?

Vyktors Mum said:
Go ahead and shoot and feed and yes get a +2 and I will be back to check on that number and we will make further test plans from there

Of course that should have been feed and then shoot but I think you know that one already ;-)

On your spreadsheet wher you put fur shot can you please change to NS for no shot. I know someone said put fur shot but to me that makes it look like you are happy to shoot that low but messed up the shot rather than it was a decision not to shot - others might get confused too.

You can put multiple tests in one box too, e.g. for today in your APMS box you can put @ +12 144, +12.3 166. I think that fits ok into the PS box but if you need to adjust the font size to 8 so it all fits. also then you need to add the blue colour in yourself, you can do that using the buttons at the top of the ss. If you can't work it out can go over it with you this afternoon when I am home from work.

Looks like we are actually the same time so i will check on you when I go home to check on Vyktor at 12 noon - you will be past +2 by then. How is Rosy going with the testing?

I'm not supposed to be on this site from work but something made me feel like I should check this morning :smile:

Nice shooting Helen!
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy Preshot 144/+20min 166. I shot!!

Helen

What have her tests been, please update. I am only here at this computer for 10 mins then back to work.

Serryn
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy Preshot 144/+20min 166. I shot!!

Tested at +3 194

Recap : Preshot 144, +20min 166 Shot 1.5u, gave food, +3 194 :razz:



I was unable to gt that precious drop of blood at +2 :oops: Rosy's fed up with my constant waking her up although I gave her a treat afterwards.

helen
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy Preshot 144/+20min 166, shot+3 194/+5 117

+5 117 gave her food.

Yes! Blue zone today!
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy Preshot 144/+20min 166, shot+3 194/+5 117

She is looking good today :-D

Good that you give her a treat even if you can't get the test that is the right thing to do.

When she's asleep and you want to test do you move her or just try where she is? I test Vyktor wherever he happens to be and he sometimes sleeps right through the test.
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy Preshot 166, shot+3 194/+5 117/+8 232

Vyktors Mum said:
She is looking good today :-D

Good that you give her a treat even if you can't get the test that is the right thing to do.

When she's asleep and you want to test do you move her or just try where she is? I test Vyktor wherever he happens to be and he sometimes sleeps right through the test.

Hi Serryn!

Just now +8 232; she has moved from blue to yellow.
I am very surprised by how quick she can go with those bg figures! :shock:
I think it's enough for the AM seeion. I'll do a PMPS later.

I have to move her everytime I do a test Because she's sleeping at her usual spot with the rest of the group. I dont want the other cats to disturb when we do the test, I'll need to move her & wake her from her sleep.


helen
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy Preshot 166, shot+3 194/+5 117/+8 232

tortie58 said:
Just now +8 232; she has moved from blue to yellow.
I am very surprised by how quick she can go with those bg figures! :shock:
I think it's enough for the AM seeion. I'll do a PMPS later.

I have to move her everytime I do a test Because she's sleeping at her usual spot with the rest of the group. I dont want the other cats to disturb when we do the test, I'll need to move her & wake her from her sleep.


helen

What a shame you need to move her.

I agree that you have enough tests for the AM today but do make sure you get your PMPS. It looks like she is having a bounce from her lovely day so prepare for a high number and maybe that she will stay high for a day or three. Try not to let it make you sad, remind yourself what a good day she has had today and that she will be having many more of those soon. She may have even got down to green today after the +5 :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy Preshot 166, shot+3 194/+5 117/+8 232

Isn't it norm for her +8 to rise as the insulin wears off? I thought she's kind of settled down? :lol: Too optumistic?
Cats are really unpredictable creatures.

Im still dealing with the transition of dry food to canned for the rest. Some are really stubborn dry addicts!

helen
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy Preshot 166, shot+3 194/+5 117/+8 232

Hi Helen,

It's not surprising to see the +8 to be a rising number. Of course, about the time you know what to "expect" Rosy will do something surprising. But I think you understand how it works in theory. I hope you get some more of those good numbers today. Rosy, and you, are doing well.

I'm glad you are switching all of your kitties from dry food. They will all be healthier for it.
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy Preshot 166, shot+3 194/+5 117/+8 232

PMPS 148 Should I shoot?

Same scenerio as this morning...
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy shot+3 194/+5 117/+8 232/ PMPS 166

Have you fed Rosy yet? Can you stall feeding for 30 minutes to get another test? Stalling will throw off your shot schedule for your next shot too. Will your schedule allow that?
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy shot+3 194/+5 117/+8 232/ PMPS 166

If you are going to be home to monitor, have strips and HC if needed, then it's fine to shoot. Please update your subject line so we know what the test data and question is.
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy shot+3 194/+5 117/+8 232/ PMPS 166

No, I havent feed her.
Stalling for 30 min will push back my shooting time. The shooting time has been advanced since 3/6 PM. I really dont prefer to have the change agian.
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy Should I shoot? PMPS 166

Rosy took me by surprise as I didnt expact her bg fall at +12 to 148. Her +8 was 232
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy Should I shoot? PMPS 166

Ok I'll shoot her the 1.5u. I'll monitor her further tonight...thought I can catch up some sleep.
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy PMPS 166 shot1.5u

Is your PMPS 166 or 148? The pre-shot number is the test result you use immediately before your shoot.

Please get a +1 and a +2.
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy PMPS 166 shot1.5u

The PMPS is 148, shot & gave her chicken. Will test further & post.

Can somebody enlighten me why is her bg at +12 is lower than +8? I gave her food after the +8 & she had slept till +12.
I was expecting her bg to rise! :shock:
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy PMPS 148 shot1.5u

There can be a variety of reasons. Some cats have a late nadir. More often, there's a "double dip" - numbers take a second drop around shot time.
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy PMPS 148 shot1.5u

If there is no trend we can follow from the SS pattern, what's the point of doing the curve? Is the double dip common ?
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy PMPS 148 shot1.5u

Hi guys .. nice shooting this morning! I don't have any answers to your question, but others will be along to help figure that out I'm sure .. have a great day!
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy PMPS 148 shot1.5u

PeterDevonMocha said:
Hi guys .. nice shooting this morning! I don't have any answers to your question, but others will be along to help figure that out I'm sure .. have a great day!

Thankyou!
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy PMPS 166 shot1.5u

Hi Helen,
I was just checking in to see how you were doing. Your SS looks great.

Cathy
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy PMPS 148/+2 207

The double dip is fairly common with Lantus. The reason for the testing is so you can see your cat's pattern. ECID, so as you collect data, her pattern will start to show. One thing to keep in mind is that patterns are often longer than one cycle, they come in "waves" that you can start to see over time.
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy PMPS 166 shot1.5u

Catannc said:
Hi Helen,
I was just checking in to see how you were doing. Your SS looks great.

Cathy

Thanks for visiting Cathy.
Lots of helpful friends supporting me along the way. I'm still handling the rough ride.


Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
The double dip is fairly common with Lantus. The reason for the testing is so you can see your cat's pattern. ECID, so as you collect data, her pattern will start to show. One thing to keep in mind is that patterns are often longer than one cycle, they come in "waves" that you can start to see over time.

Thanks for the info! Wish I can last longer than those waves. I'm so tired already... :roll: I barely had slept since last wk.


Helen
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy PMPS 148/+2 207/+5, 176

I know it can be really exhausting...you're doing a great job. This looks very good though, nice blues and yellows! It looks like Rosy is surfing nicely right now. I would get some sleep.....maybe you could get a +11 to see where she's heading before AMPS.
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy PMPS 148/+2 207/+5, 176

I'm so sorry I agreed you were ok to stop testing until PMPS after that rise at +8. I thought she was going to bounce but I should not have assumed that :oops: You can see why it is so important to get that pre shot test. I think with Rosy, to try to avoid stalling in future you will need to try and get +10 and/or +11 tests. That way you won't get suprised like that by her pre shot and you will be able to see already if she is rising and it is safe to shoot. From the sound of her feeding schedule it is okay if you feed her at +8 and then not until her next shot, is that right? That way your +10/+11 will not be influenced by food.

Rosy is reacting really really well to the Lantus, hopefully she doesn't keep you tired for too many weeks and goes into remission. It is especially exhausting to start with because it is emotionally draining as well as you being sleep deprived. As you go on you will see what Rosy's patterns are (but she will still probably surprise you here and there) and it will become easier and less tiring.
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy PMPS 148/+2 207/+5, 176

hi helen! just want to say you're doing a great job. glad so many people were there to help you in the middle of the night here!

the reason for doing so much testing is like laurie said - to see what your cat's body is doing. i think of it like a jigsaw puzzle. you must have puzzles in hong kong!? the testing fills in the picture on the spreadsheet and experienced people can look at it and "read" it, then being able to give you better advice.

you're doing great! keep it up. just try to get a little sleep in between your tests. the first week or two are the hardest - it gets SO much easier before long. hang in there!
 
Re: 3/8 Rosy PMPS 148/+2 207/+5, 176/+10 HI

+10. I've tested twice, A HI is indicated on my meter. Too high too be recorded? What should I do? She's doing great yesterday?

Rosy's first shot will be due in 2 hrs. confused_cat
 
Looks like she has decided to have her bounce now, a bit later than I anticipated. You don't do anything about that just get your PS test which I think will still be a very high number and shoot the same dose you have been shooting, because it is a high number you don't have to worry so much about trying to get any tests too early in the cycle I would do my first check at +4 or +5. She may stay quite high for a little while now. Try not to stress about it she will come back down.
 
Tks Serryn for coming to my rescue! I
Ive tested twice to confirm that "HI" Rosy gave me just now. Definitely she's fed up!
The meter I'm using is a Bayer, should be ok. Shouldn't doubt that hardworking meter, right?

Helen
 
Hi Helen, just stopping by to say hi! What a ride you've been on! You are doing great. Say hi to Rosy and give her some scratches from Simon and me.
 
It should be okay that is a good meter but to be doubly sure next time you are at the vet take your meter and get them to test with their meter and your meter at the same time from the same blood. There will be some difference (20% either way is acceptable under the law) but it shouldn't be too huge.

You're giving her treats everytime you test aren't you - whether you get to finish the test or not. Maybe a treat before you test as well as after might encourage her more. It's such a shame you have to move her to test, that is probably bothering her more than the test.

p.s. would love to see a photo of all your kitties lazying around together if you have the sort of camera that can upload to the computer.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top