3/8 Phoenix BG 51 Getting Really Nervous

Scdal

Member Since 2020
I am beginning to wish I had held off on Phoenix's pm injection. His PMPS was 103 but I had been keeping his BG up with carbs and honey for most of the day.

I did decrease Phoenix's insulin dose down to 8.5 from 9.5. I know I am supposed to decrease by half a unit but this doesn't work for Phoenix. He usually will stay low on half dose reductions.

I am getting worried because his BG is now 51 at +1. I gave him some fancy feast hc and some honey but I am worried about the insulin shot that I just gave him.
 
Ok, just remember the syrup wears off quickly and you've got no food bump, time to put some coffee on, you may have a busy night.
Yes I know the syrup can wear off fast. I just checked Phoenix's BG and it is up to 150 but I believe it will drop again. It did this afternoon so I am going to check Phoenix's BG again in 45 minutes.

I believe I am in for a long night as well. Thankfully, I am retired. I do have plenty of coffee and chocolate covered coffee beans in stock. I have to save the chocolate covered coffee beans for when I get really tired. They really get me wired up. Thank you for responding.
 
Oh, chocolate covered coffee beans are the best! Do you think perhaps the +1 might have been a wonky strip? im glad he's back up to 150. Is that approx 1.5 then? How is he doing otherwise? Appy ok?
 
Oh, chocolate covered coffee beans are the best! Do you think perhaps the +1 might have been a wonky strip? im glad he's back up to 150. Is that approx 1.5 then? How is he doing otherwise? Appy ok?
No, it wasn't a wonky strip. This afternoon, Phoenix went from 55 at +8.5 to 143 at + 9. That was within 30 minutes. This is why I am going to closely monitor him tonight.
 
It might be worth quickly moving your 2022 SS tab over to the left so it's the first one that opens for members, and keep it updated as well as your thread title. I can't stay on, I've had a particularly long and tough day, but I hope the cycle goes smoothly. You may yet get a bounce this evening from the lower numbers earlier today.
 
It might be worth quickly moving your 2022 SS tab over to the left so it's the first one that opens for members, and keep it updated as well as your thread title. I can't stay on, I've had a particularly long and tough day, but I hope the cycle goes smoothly. You may yet get a bounce this evening from the lower numbers earlier today.
Sorry, I have moved it to the left. I am sorry you had a rough day. Go get some sleep and hopefully you will have a nice day tomorrow.
 
Yes I know the syrup can wear off fast. I just checked Phoenix's BG and it is up to 150 but I believe it will drop again. It did this afternoon so I am going to check Phoenix's BG again in 45 minutes.

I believe I am in for a long night as well. Thankfully, I am retired. I do have plenty of coffee and chocolate covered coffee beans in stock. I have to save the chocolate covered coffee beans for when I get really tired. They really get me wired up. Thank you for responding.
Oh I use my chocolate covered espresso beans for the same purpose!
 
Whoa. How did you get him up to 227? Did he just bounce? I guess you can sleep tonight? I wish you and Phoenix a safe and restful night.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top