3/8 Peep AMPS 142, +4: 101, +7: 89

I see you chose to follow the SLGS method, which calls for reducing the dose by .25u if kitty sees a BG under 90, which Peeps did today at AM+7. With all the recent dosing irregularities it may be the result of an overfilled depot draining. Let’s see what others think… @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom
 
I would reduce again because we are not sure what is causing the lower bg and following SLGS. Sandy, this is one time that even though deciding to follow SLGS, I might not wait a full 7 days to up the dose if the numbers go up and stay up. What do you think? I know we won’t decide now but that went into my thinking.
 
Last edited:
I would reduce again because we are not sure what is causing the lower bg and following SLGS. Sandy, this is one time that even though deciding to follow SLGS, I might not wait a full 7 days to up the dose if the numbers sago up and stay up. What do you think? I know we won’t decide now but that went into my thinking.
I agree - if a reduction doesn’t hold it’s back up to the last good dose. We don’t want to open the door for ketone development.
Unfortunately there does not appear to be a last good dose -This situation is missing the SL part so it’s a matter of backing up carefully trying to find a dose that can be safely shot consistently every 12 hours. Since he's in uncharted waters it’s going to be a cycle by cycle situation for a little while. Until he finds some stability when in doubt I would err on the side of caution.
better a day too high than an hour too low.
That’s my $0.02 :cool:
 
Since he's in uncharted waters it’s going to be a cycle by cycle situation for a little while. Until he finds some stability when in doubt I would err on the side of caution.
better a day too high than an hour too low.
That’s my $0.02 :cool:

Yes, this has been the situation. Also, until the UTI is gone there probably will not be a lot of stability. One good thing is that clinically he has improved. Should have results of blood work today or latest tomorrow.
 
Looks like you may not need to change insulins after all ;). One comment, try not to let preshots deter you; remember you are dosing based on nadirs with only some consideration to preshots. You may continue to get some bouncing from lower numbers until he gets more comfy in lower ranges, so try not to let a few higher numbers sway you. I see you've dosed 4u this morning, where per SLGS you would have reduced to 3.25u.

I hope the UTI clears up quickly, and if I can help with the labs when you get them, I'd be happy to pop by.
 
Please keep a close eye on peep today and get some extra tests in since you gave him 4u of insulin instead of the 3.5u. The 4u will affect his depot yet again so please check at +11 and post for advice on pm shot. By doing it an hour early you can stop all the delays that you've been doing. Start a new thread for today with today's date and numbers for today.

Surf safe peep
 
Heard from vet. Definitely positive for UTI. Started on Veriflox. Blood and urine results posted. Kidney function levels slightly elevated. They found no glucose in the urine.
 
Last edited:
No glucose in urine is good. That just means at the time he was above renal threshold which is first step. The kidney values might very well come down when the uti is treated. Hope so.
 
Please keep a close eye on peep today and get some extra tests in since you gave him 4u of insulin instead of the 3.5u. The 4u will affect his depot yet again so please check at +11 and post for advice on pm shot. By doing it an hour early you can stop all the delays that you've been doing. Start a new thread for today with today's date and numbers for today.

Surf safe peep

Peep doesn't ever seem to follow protocol. He will be 2xx tonight. Was 199 at +9. I love my old guy!
 
Peep doesn't ever seem to follow protocol. He will be 2xx tonight. Was 199 at +9. I love my old guy!
Nice! Stick to the 3.5u that Elise had suggested let's see what he can do once his depot is regulated:) worry less what he does at preshot and more what he is doing between +2 and +7ish...that's how we can figure out where he is lowest during cycle. :bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top