3/8 Myagi amps 121, +2 115, +4.5 89, +9 101, pmps 131

Status
Not open for further replies.

Myagi (GA) and Heidi

Member Since 2017
3/7/18 thread - syringe fed more, self fed more, peed and pooped soft but formed

Amps 121, 0.1u, 5c bkfst w b12 and side of 14c, told him I'd delay syringe till after rabbit watch if he'd eat. Self fed about 2 1/2 tsps combo. Will syringe feed in a bit. He is in window but back asleep. Hate that he's not moving about.

Read Bella thread last night for appy tips and was so upset to see they lost her I couldn't even post condolences. Please Myagi get better.....
 
Last edited:
While this is the best place to be as a FD family it can also be the saddest. Many of the losses here hit me pretty hard too.

I go against the grain with the rules about eating. You mentioned he might eat dry if you let him. It’s not food if they don’t eat and if he’ll eat some dry if it were me I’d let him. Doodles never fully gave up the dry food. As long as I let him have a little he’d eat the wet. Insulin can be adjusted.
 
+2 115, syringe fed 14ml plus a syringe of water, then he ate 1 tsp food off his plate.
Pee test negative for ketones :)

I go against the grain with the rules about eating. You mentioned he might eat dry if you let him. It’s not food if they don’t eat and if he’ll eat some dry if it were me I’d let him. Doodles never fully gave up the dry food. As long as I let him have a little he’d eat the wet. Insulin can be adjusted.

We've been using a little crushed kibble topper off and on this whole time. Used to be enough to get him to almost clean his plate. Right now though, he'll eat one or two pieces from my hand and then lick the crunchies off the top the wet and walk away. I'm going to try a few different things later today, but I may have to give more mature kibble to stop the weight loss. He lost a whisker, indicates not well right? We don't have vet funds so I'm trying so hard to get him better myself. Crying. I'm so scared cause the longer this takes the worse he'll get and it'll be because i couldn't take him to vet early on. He's not completely off food, he's peeing, he bathes, he's not grouchy - still loving loving, but he's not eating proper and sleeps 98% of day. Rabbit watch is sleeping on window bench. I know I'm getting enough food in him fur his insulin but he's so skinny and lethargic (not weak per se as he walks to potty and closet pillow ok, though we're out of zobaline and I'm seeing decline in that improvement, the b12 w folic i hand mix does not seem to work as well as zobaline even though identical ingredients). The famotidine did not seem to make a difference and he doesn't act like tummy upset. He hasn't vomited and he's never been a hairball guy. I'm rambling.... Sorry.
 
I'm so sorry Myagi is still not himself. I 100% agree with Karen, if it comes to not eating, any food (that isn't toxic to cats, like onions) trumps insulin protocols, even if that means kibble, cheese or whatever they will eat. I believe the "mature" formulations are lower in calories, higher in fiber since their metsbolism and motility slows down as they age. Kitten formulations would likely be the most calorie dense.

If he lets you look at his gums, make sure they aren't yellow (or more pale than usual, if you know his usual), his eyes too, make sure they don't change color to brighter green or yellowish.

So many feel better vines to Myagi! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Asia says for Myagi to get better and they can have a date to go see Cats on Broadway! :p
 
I'm so sorry Myagi is still not himself. I 100% agree with Karen, if it comes to not eating, any food (that isn't toxic to cats, like onions) trumps insulin protocols, even if that means kibble, cheese or whatever they will eat. I believe the "mature" formulations are lower in calories, higher in fiber since their metsbolism and motility slows down as they age. Kitten formulations would likely be the most calorie dense.

If he lets you look at his gums, make sure they aren't yellow (or more pale than usual, if you know his usual), his eyes too, make sure they don't change color to brighter green or yellowish.

So many feel better vines to Myagi! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Asia says for Myagi to get better and they can have a date to go see Cats on Broadway! :p
:bighug: kitten food - any brand dry or are you referring to wet?

Just checked, his guns look great nice healthy color.

Couple days ago before I started syringe feeding I didn't like the way his eyes looked, but they look good since. I check them often.

+4.5 89, self fed 1 tsp of 14c. He is bathing in preparation for his big date with his fave gal Asia!:kiss::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Firstly... :bighug::bighug:

kitten food - any brand
Yes, any kitten food is higher in calories, wet or dry.

I haven't been reading your condo every day so I don't know if this has been brought up. Have you tried ondansetron?? My civvie was weird for a while before finally refusing to eat more than a couple bites the last couple meals. Through a group I belong to, they suggested I try ondansetron because it wouldn't hurt anything if it was not truly nausea (he wasn't smacking lips, vomiting, sitting in a meatball position, ... nothing). Within 2 doses, he was eating well!! I wish I had started sooner. :( He's now getting it 2x a day, due to my schedule, but it can be given up to 3x a day. You give it an hour before meals.

Losing whiskers is normal. My cats drop whiskers once in a while and grow new ones. Actually, the new whiskers push out the old whiskers if I remember correctly.

Lastly... :bighug::bighug:
 
Firstly... :bighug::bighug:


Yes, any kitten food is higher in calories, wet or dry.

I haven't been reading your condo every day so I don't know if this has been brought up. Have you tried ondansetron?? My civvie was weird for a while before finally refusing to eat more than a couple bites the last couple meals. Through a group I belong to, they suggested I try ondansetron because it wouldn't hurt anything if it was not truly nausea (he wasn't smacking lips, vomiting, sitting in a meatball position, ... nothing). Within 2 doses, he was eating well!! I wish I had started sooner. :( He's now getting it 2x a day, due to my schedule, but it can be given up to 3x a day. You give it an hour before meals.

Losing whiskers is normal. My cats drop whiskers once in a while and grow new ones. Actually, the new whiskers push out the old whiskers if I remember correctly.

Lastly... :bighug::bighug:
:bighug::bighug::bighug: thank you:bighug: we should have some ondawhatever in a couple days. Paws crossed it helps Myagi too. Thank you and Stacy and Karen and Carla fur helping me calm down and being so loving. He was doing so great and then everything in our home fell apart at once (more than our current unresolved chaos). Him not being right is breaking my heart. :bighug::bighug::bighug: to you and everyone here that have always cared fur Myagi and extended the love to me and my mom too.:bighug::bighug:
 
Morning Heidi.
I haven't been able to be around properly for a good week. Not even a pop in.
Very concerned to read your above post love. Will go back and try to catch up best I can.

Meanwhile. Here is a squishy :bighug: from me. You can have one from Ty too :bighug: but put your washable pinny on first.
If it means getting covered in poo in order to get Ty hugs, then poo covered we will gladly be!! :bighug::p:bighug: (and I check Ty's ss to make sure things holding ok and you're just busy xoxo)
 
+9 101, gave him ya mature since I had to go out for mom stuff. Gave it separate from any of the wet and he ate all of it.
Shockingly Smith's huge baby food section had only fruit and veggies varieties and a couple of chicken with tons of stuff. I found 1 only chicken. He licked it off his paw but wouldn't eat it off the plate.
 
I think DCIN can help if you can get Myagi to the vet. I will donate to their critical care fund for him! There's a lot of love on the board for you and Myagi always brightening people's condos with encouraging words and adorable photos, I'm sure we can help to get him feeling better soon! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
What is it? Is it good stuff?
Eating anything is good.
YA mature, young adult mature, dry food. They're the folks that make the Zero. Mature is 6 carbs. It be kibble:rolleyes:
Yup. Onto that now, straight up no messing , now I've caught up. :bighug:

No moaning Heidi my pal. We loves ya & want to show and share our care .

:bighug::bighug::bighug: I love you guys too! And so does Myagi! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Chris reached out to me and Jenna so my boy's going vet 730am tomorrow. :joyful: I'm scared but relieved. ;)

Pmps 131, 0.1u, 6c dinner, syringe fed but only about 12ml cause he was really fighting and getting distressed. Think He was feeling me. Syringed 2 waters. He ate a tsp off his plate and drank more. Also gave famotidine. Mom had issues so I don't know if he went potty before heading to closet pillow, but he stayed awake quite awhile bathing. So that is positive. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Thank goodness. Has made my entire week . :bighug:

Nine hours and counting. Tiz 7.40pm here now.

Yow be in trainin' forra propearr West Dorrrset accen' missus.
It be roight.

Seen Doc Martin?

Not yet, but i binge watch Vera and coronation street. ;)

+5.5 137 self fed 1 1/2 tsp 6c and drank water and peed.
 
Healing vines for your sweet kitteh. I'm still on business travel.

Pusscatprince pointed out your DCIN stuff to me, so I made a donation there. You need to get Myagi to a vet. I put a note on the donation too Chris and China to ensure the money is routed to your vet bill.

When Leo wasn't eating much last year, it ended up being small cell lymphoma (SCL). The diagnosis was expensive. But you can avoid the detailed diagnosis and ask for prednisolone. Leo was hardly eating anything. As soon as we started the pred, he instantly reverted to normal and was hungry all the time. Pred is about $30/month from the vet, and probably cheaper online. It raised his AM insulin dose but it also healed him. Heck, it is worth a try just to get Myagi eating again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top