3/8 Musette amps 120, +2~310 huh?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Okay I know she spikes with food, but this is ridiculous. 190 pts in 2 hours?

I have two thoughts of what might have caused this but welcome any other ideas because she has been doing so well on Lev. Either she went very low last night, and this is a bounce, or she is rebounding off the .4u and still needs a lower dose.

Nothing else has changed since I started her on Lev, still eating the same diet all Friskies Pate at 7% carbs. I've tried to get her to eat something that is lower in carbs but no dice it is either Friskies or Fancy Feast with her, and well with 13 cats I just can't afford to put everyone on Fancy Feast nor do I want to open that many 3oz cans (yep I'm lazy in that department). Plus since she is a social eater isolating her to give her only Fancy Feast isn't going to work either tried that and she stresses out and either slams herself againt the door or refuses to eat anything until allowed back with her buddies.

The only other thing I can think of that is making her jet up like this is I have been giving her, her ear drops at the same time as I feed and give insulin since they are also b.i.d.

Not sure if I need to go up in dose to counteract the stress of getting the drops, go down to see if it is rebound, or hold steady until we finish the drops in 12 days?

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Could you skip the ear drops tomorrow am and get numbers at +2 and maybe +4 to see if there is any difference? If there is, than you know it's the drops and can dose accordingly. If there isn't a change then you know the drops have no effect and can rule that factor out.

With that 39 the other day I would not be looking to raise the dose back up. Just saying.

Maybe test the ear drops, as above, and if they aren't the reason, lower her to .3u and see if there is an improvement. Sometimes you have to experiment. And sometimes that works for the better and sometimes not.
 
I'm thinking it is the drops the more and more I look into them. I skipped them last night (thus the 120 amps) because it just wasn't worth the fight and she is reacting so badly to them that she is starting to run at test time. So thinking that maybe they are stinging her or something I started doing a little web searching. I didn't find anything on the drops themselves but did find that one of the active ingredients in them says to only use in diabetic cats as a last resort as in a lifesaving action. I also posted over on health asking about them and it seems that at least one other person has used them in a FD cat only to have the BGs sky-rocket. Plus they seem to be only to be used for a week tops and the vet has her on them for 14 days...I'm thinking not.

Since they aren't critical to her care and are merely being used to help her get over the inflammation of the ear mites, and I can see no inflammation in her ears, they are a lovely shell pink color again instead of the color of a boiled lobster, I can't see having them shoot her to the moon and stress her out. If it looks like the inflammation is returning I'll call them and see if we can put her on something else, but right now everytime I use them her BGs look like she just ate half of the dog's kibble.

So I think for now I'm going to hold her on that .4u and discontinue the drops and see if we get back to a more even keel.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Sounds like a plan. I actually thought that once the mites were killed and out of the ear, and scratching stopped, the ears would clear up by themselves. But I have never had a cat with ear mites before, only fleas, so I don't know much about it.
 
I've seen a lot of cats with ear mites in my day and never before have I had to put drops in their ears once the mites were gone, so I found the drops odd myself, but thought well I didn't look at the slide so maybe there was a secondary infection or something that he saw that I didn't. So after seeing what I have with her BGs and on the web about the drops I called the vet back and asked if the drops were for an infection or something...nope just to make her ears heal faster. So I guess her ears will have to heal at mother nature's pace because this isn't worth a couple days sooner of healing.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top