3/8 Mikey PMPS 98 +1 60 +1.5 40 +2 45 +3 44 +4 61 +5 99

Status
Not open for further replies.

MikeysMom

Member Since 2011
AMPS 169
+2 116
+3 107
+4 95 Not too bad, Mikey. This our first day using only the Arkray Vital meter. So far those numbers look in line with what we were getting on the Relion.

Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=65656 We'd still love to hear from anyone who has ordered from Canada on your experiences. One site had a generic version of Glargine, in vials, that was less expensive. I'm not going to try it just yet, in part because I want to get pens, but maybe it will become a viable option for LL folks on a budget.

We are sending out lots of cozy healing thoughts and beautiful green vines today!
 
Re: 3/8 Mikey AMPS 169 +2 116 +3 107 +4 95

Hi guys .. nope, not bad at all! Glad the new meter is working out for you .. I think we ordered once from canada .. canadadrugsonline perhaps? Anyways, our experience with them was fine .. Have a great day!
 
Re: 3/8 Mikey AMPS 169 +2 116 +3 107 +4 95

It's nice to see Mikey back in green. I ordered once from Canada, but made the mistake of doing it in the middle of summer. By the time it got to Florida, it was hot. Not just not cold, HOT. That shouldn't be a problem now.
 
Re: 3/8 Mikey AMPS 169 +2 116 +3 107 +4 95

Personally, I would not order generic Lantus...as far as I know, there is no such thing, but I could be wrong. I would be concerned about quality of a generic. I'm all for saving money when possible, but I would not go that route. JMHO Last I knew, all Lantus was manufactured in Germany, so it all starts out there. I believe they are building a factory in China, but I don't think it's operating yet, although I haven't checked recently.

I ordered twice from PharmacyRxWorld.com...the insulin was "from Turkey" but it shipped from the UK both times and it took a week to arrive once it was shipped. It was well packaged in a styrofoam cooler with ice packs, worked fine, and was clearly brand name Lantus, but labeled for sale in Turkey. As far as I'm concerned, it's the same animal, just a different label. It was less than half the price of US Lantus.....I think I paid $95 for a box of pens, and shipping was free. Right now the price is $110, still free shipping. That was my experience FWIW. Hopefully others will share their experience as well. Good luck!
 
Re: 3/8 Mikey AMPS 169 +2 116 +3 107 +4 95

PMPS a lovely green 98

I won't order the generic yet. I can't remember which pharmacy offers it, but it was a reputable (US I think) manufacturer. All drugs can be made in generic form after a certain amount of time, so if that is up, I would expect to see others on the market eventually. As long as it's insulin glargine, it has to be the same as the Lantus brand as far as how it's derived and how it works, I believe, under FDA guidelines. Any generic prescription or OTC drug has the same active ingredient as the brand name, so I would think the same laws apply to insilin as well. If so, it's like using generic ibuprofen instead of Advil...works the same. I just thought it was interesting to see it pop up and if there is a more cost effective alternative, it might really help a lot of people if it does prove effective.
 
Re: 3/8 Mikey PMPS 98

+1 60 Eek, Mikey, you aren't supposed to dive in the shallow end! Gave a big bite of HC with his 2nd dinner to slow the drop.
 
Re: 3/8 Mikey PMPS 98 +1 60

+1.5 40 on the new meter/46 on the old one. I gave about a 1/4 can of HC and will keep testing. I guess Mikey wanted another dose reduction!
 
Re: 3/8 Mikey PMPS 98 +1 60 +1.5 46/40

I've ordered many times from Canadadrugsonline.com and never had a problem.

Good luck with the new dose. 0.10 unit here we come :-D
 
Re: 3/8 Mikey PMPS 98 +1 60 +1.5 46/40

+2 45. Gave another blop of HC with his 3rd feeding. I guess he thought I needed some excitement other than trying to make my deadline around his shots. I'll be gone next weekend, so maybe a reduction isn't a bad thing anyway; my roommate wont' have to worry as much during the day
 
Re: 3/8 Mikey PMPS 98 +1 60 +1.5 46/40 +2 45

+2.5 47 on the Micro (39 on the Vital, but that one has consistently read lower than the Micro). Mikey is acting fine and I gave another huge tablespoon of HC and a couple drops of karo to spike him as he's approaching his usual nadir time.
 
Re: 3/8 Mikey PMPS 98 +1 60 +1.5 46/40 +2 45/42 +2.5 47/39

You've got the drill down. Test and feed every 30 min. until the numbers stabilize above 50. And, congrats on the dose reduction!!

I don't think Lantus is off patent yet. If not, it won't be available in generic.
 
Re: 3/8 Mikey PMPS 98 +1 60 +1.5 46/40 +2 45/42 +2.5 47/39

+3 Holding steady at 44. I gave him another blop if HC with a drop of Karo. Luckily, Mikey usually hits nadir by +4, so hopefully he'll start up soon!
 
Re: 3/8 Mikey PMPS 98 +1 60 +1.5 46/40 +2 45/42 +2.5 47/39

you might not want to spend a lot of money on buying more insulin (anti-jinx). :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/8 Mikey PMPS 98 +1 60 +1.5 46/40 +2 45/42 +2.5 47/39

Yay for the reduction :RAHCAT

I never ordered from Canada, so I can't answer, sorry, but I have a question. Do you need a script for it, if you order from Canada?
 
Re: 3/8 Mikey PMPS 98 +1 60 +1.5 46/40 +2 45/42 +2.5 47/39

+3.5 56 Finally coming up. Now, granted, between the HC I stuffed in him and the low curve, he'll probably bounce into next week in the morning. If that's the case, and he bounces over 200, should I shoot through it and reduce tomorrow PM, or just reduce in the AM? We'll reduce to between .1 and the .25 he's at now.
 
Re: 3/8 Mikey PMPS 98 +1 60 +1.5 40 +2 45 +2.5 47 +3 44 +3.5

+4 61 Slowly on the rise. Past his usual nadir now, so he will probably start climbing more. We'll grab a +5 in a while. He just batted his freeze dried turkey treat all the way across the kitchen before pouncing on it and eating it, so he's feeling just fine.
 
Re: 3/8 Mikey PMPS 98 +1 60 +1.5 40 +2 45 +2.5 47 +3 44 +3.5

:-D i'm thinking libby's psychic - if i were you i wouldn't order any insulin yet either (antijinx!) mikey appears to have other plans for you! antijinx antijinx antijinx!

i would encourage you to take the full reduction to 0.1u, just to be safe. and yes, if he bounces in the morning you could shoot one dose of .25 if he's high, then reduce on the next shot.
 
Re: 3/8 Mikey PMPS 98 +1 60 +1.5 40 +2 45 +2.5 47 +3 44 +3.5

+5 99 I don't know if Mikey has THOSE plans just yet, but he certainly used his juice tonight. We'll reduce tomorrow, and if his numbers aren't terrible, I'll leave him at the lower dose until after next weekend, since I have to work out of town and will be gone Friday-Sunday.

We'll get a +6 before I hit bed, just to be safe.
 
+6 129 We'll see what the morning brings (other than a reduction to a fat .1U) Mikey and I are ready for bed!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top