KPassa
Member Since 2012
Previous Condo.
Thank you so much to Marje and Sam and Dale 'n' Chip for staying up late with me last night! :YMHUG:
I'm so frustrated right now! :-x After all that hard work last night, this morning was starting out so great with another possible green run. But Murphy's Law decided to kick in and Henry decided it was "playtime" just as I was giving Mikey his shot. I wasn't sure if I got any in him in time (his fur smelled like insulin), but with this +5 number, I know it's not all from a bounce because he hasn't bounced that high from greens in a long time. :YMSIGH:
Yes! This is one fabulous thing I learned from last night. I never even had to feed him anything more than his 8% LC food, which is what I leave out for him during the day when I'm gone at work and not sure if I'll make it home to test him. So, that'll help ease my worries going forward on the days I don't test around nadir and fear nailbite_smile he might drop too low. He's very good at self-regulating his food intake to keep his numbers from going too low. :mrgreen:
Even though the 49 was on the Micro (which I only occasionally use) vs. the Prime, which gave me a 59?
Believe me, I've tried getting him to NOT discuss it at all, but he's an annoying, pesky, little brother, so trying to get them to do anything to make your life easier is basically giving them ammo on how they can better irritate you. :lol: :roll: One good thing at least is that the more arguments he gives me, the more research I do to counter those arguments (or find out he might be right...very rarely).
I've never once considered stopping insulin with Mikey, mostly because of his differential diagnosis labeling him as a Type 1. I grew up with a kid in my class that was Type 1, so we all got schooled on "juvenile diabetes" (what they called it at the time) and already knew that with Type 1, there is no other option besides giving insulin because their pancreas is physically incapable of producing enough insulin no matter what you might do otherwise. Even still, there's been a few times I've wondered if him being a feline and being so young that "you never know," maybe things are different with Mikey? If they are, I'd rather not use Mikey as the guinea pig and wait for someone else to figure it out first. :lol:
Thank you so much for the vote of confidence! Last night was fairly easy in terms of anxiety-inducing low numbers, at least compared to 2/18, when I shot him at a fairly high PMPS (185) but then he dropped all the way to 56 by his +2. That was a nailbite_smile mostly because it was so unexpected and I hadn't really "shot low." This one was expected, so a lot easier. ;-)
And I'm going to save that picture and look at it every time I start to doubt whether or not I should shoot Mikey in the future. :mrgreen:
Thank you so much to Marje and Sam and Dale 'n' Chip for staying up late with me last night! :YMHUG:
I'm so frustrated right now! :-x After all that hard work last night, this morning was starting out so great with another possible green run. But Murphy's Law decided to kick in and Henry decided it was "playtime" just as I was giving Mikey his shot. I wasn't sure if I got any in him in time (his fur smelled like insulin), but with this +5 number, I know it's not all from a bounce because he hasn't bounced that high from greens in a long time. :YMSIGH:
Dale 'n' Chip said:And you are laying the groundwork to know that Mikey can handle all this just fine even if you were out and had to leave food down or something.
Yes! This is one fabulous thing I learned from last night. I never even had to feed him anything more than his 8% LC food, which is what I leave out for him during the day when I'm gone at work and not sure if I'll make it home to test him. So, that'll help ease my worries going forward on the days I don't test around nadir and fear nailbite_smile he might drop too low. He's very good at self-regulating his food intake to keep his numbers from going too low. :mrgreen:
Marje and Gracie said:You did great last night and I'm sorry I lost connection and couldn't get back on. I wanted to tell you to be sure and reduce his dose this morning with that 49.
Even though the 49 was on the Micro (which I only occasionally use) vs. the Prime, which gave me a 59?
Marje and Gracie said:As far as your brother goes....IMHO, I'd set limits and one of them is that you will not discuss Mikey's diabetes or treatment with him again...at all. Mikey is your cat, it's your decision. Period. Do not discuss it with him....don't try to teach him; he doesn't want to learn. You are just absorbing negative energy that you don't need. You did GREAT GREAT GREAT last night. I was SO PROUD of you for shooting!!! And look how well you managed his curve...gorgeous!!!!
There is probably not one of us here who hasn't at some time wondered how our kitty would do if we just stopped the insulin. I've seen what happens to Gracie's numbers when I've taken her down too low....they shoot right up. What ever would make me think that if I stopped insulin, I'd see something different? Also, I've seen alot of SSs and I've seen people stop insulin. At first the numbers seem ok but then they gradually increase. Who wants to start over?
BTW, I found the BOS award you deserve. Here it is just for you...you earned it!
![]()
Believe me, I've tried getting him to NOT discuss it at all, but he's an annoying, pesky, little brother, so trying to get them to do anything to make your life easier is basically giving them ammo on how they can better irritate you. :lol: :roll: One good thing at least is that the more arguments he gives me, the more research I do to counter those arguments (or find out he might be right...very rarely).
I've never once considered stopping insulin with Mikey, mostly because of his differential diagnosis labeling him as a Type 1. I grew up with a kid in my class that was Type 1, so we all got schooled on "juvenile diabetes" (what they called it at the time) and already knew that with Type 1, there is no other option besides giving insulin because their pancreas is physically incapable of producing enough insulin no matter what you might do otherwise. Even still, there's been a few times I've wondered if him being a feline and being so young that "you never know," maybe things are different with Mikey? If they are, I'd rather not use Mikey as the guinea pig and wait for someone else to figure it out first. :lol:
Thank you so much for the vote of confidence! Last night was fairly easy in terms of anxiety-inducing low numbers, at least compared to 2/18, when I shot him at a fairly high PMPS (185) but then he dropped all the way to 56 by his +2. That was a nailbite_smile mostly because it was so unexpected and I hadn't really "shot low." This one was expected, so a lot easier. ;-)
And I'm going to save that picture and look at it every time I start to doubt whether or not I should shoot Mikey in the future. :mrgreen: