3/8 Maverick PMPS 90

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karrie and Maverick

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=38364

And another blue. Do I increase this to a sk .5?
*new battery in reader yesterday
*new strips (opened a new bottle in case it was strips)
*new lantus (in case it was insulin).

It still seems like he's going the other way vs getting back to OTJ levels. This is a tad frustrating.

I don't know when his nadir is and his ears are looking really really red. I have to get the side of his ears to bleed his tips can't take much more or they will have issues. I'm pulling out the 25g needle tips for this. The tiny lancets aren't working at all.

I now have digital television. I feel like my world has opened up. I have animal planet and Headline News!!! And I can change the channels I subscribe to once a month. Can you feel the love!??? All for 1$ more than my basic cable plus package.
 
Re: 3/8 Maverick AMPS 119 - dosecrease?

Maverick's numbers are by no means "bad." If you want to fatten the dose and try to drop the overall level, I think that's fine. You're experienced and will monitor and those are the key issues. Also, you've got to remember that sometimes going up will bring the numbers down and help Maverick to regain momentum.
 
Re: 3/8 Maverick AMPS 119 - dosecrease?

I was thinking that too. Right now the numbers are all over the map with late cycle blues and high nadirs. So unless he's somehow getting too much insulin I think I'm going to go up to a Sk .5 tonight. I'd like to see his old all green numbers. Are there ever kitties that go OTJ that maintain 100-140 numbers? I suspect the answer is no. I think I'll get back to a 7:30 shot time. I think the 9:00 shot time, although convenient for me, was less consistent for his numbers for some reason. Can I keep the dose where it is and go back 1/2 hour each shot - since this is the equivalent of a dosecrease? Or go back all at once if I monitor closely?
 
Re: 3/8 Maverick AMPS 119 - more questions

119 looks awfully good to me. Normal numbers are 60-120...Hope you have a good day!~
 
Re: 3/8 Maverick AMPS 119 - more questions

There have been a couple of cats who run overall in slightly higher ranges. There are also cats like Barb's Tuffy who will spike numbers for less than obvious reasons (or just to make Barb crazy).

I think it's your call when/if you want to raise vs. move times.
 
Re: 3/8 Maverick AMPS 119 - more questions

Good morning guys .. I don't have much in the way of advice ... just wanted to say this 119 is still a nice number, even if it is a little higher then you like ... hopefully the extra juice does the job! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/8 Maverick AMPS 119 - more questions

Did I blow it by not waiting longer during the OTJ trial (has this been talked about but not said out loud on the forum)?

Am I doing the right thing now?

I know its up to me but I don't have confidence in me. I can test, and prevent hypos. But he was a very green kitty before with less blues than greens.

And Off Topic - I went searching for black kitty pictures with hearts to post in Tray's condo and found this cool wire cat site:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/40384648@N05/with/5309039820/

I can't post a preview as its all rights reserved.
 
Re: 3/8 Maverick AMPS 119 - more questions

Good morning, Karrie & Maveick...
I agree with others.. this # is a normal #.. I think we all get a little ridiculous wanting all greens (myself included :roll: )
It is important to remember this ;-)
Also, like Sienne said.. sometimes you have to go up in dose to come back down.. the sugar dance is sometimes 1 step forwad, 2 steps back.
I do feel the love with your digitial television too :lol:
Have a great day!
 
Re: 3/8 Maverick AMPS 119 - more questions

Hi Karrie,
I think Maverick looks good, but you know your cat best, and if you think best to fatten dose, I'd go ahead, as Sienne stated; you're a great Bean and will handle it. Maggie's ears are sore, too; she jerks when I have to poke, poor baby. I feel so bad for her, so I understand about the ears.
 
Re: 3/8 Maverick AMPS 119 - more questions

You guys are the best.

Maverick has been flinching and then moving his paw over his ear and I feel horrible :cry:
 
Re: 3/8 Maverick AMPS 119 - more questions

Hi Karrie, Are you putting anything on his ears to help them heal at night? You probably are, but just in case: I use the Neosporin creme (not the ointment) with pain-killer after the last test of the day. I think it helps. Also, it's not greasy and gets absorbed well. I also have been making a concentrated effort not to test more than 5 times (sometimes 6) in a 24-hour period. Rusty tends to have pretty even curves, and I think that Mav. does too, so I, at least, am willing to sacrifice data-gathering to ear healing!

Enjoy your digital service!!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/8 Maverick AMPS 119 - more questions

Do you alternate ears & alternate spots on the ear? Can you use a higher gauge? I use 33 for Baby.. I know the higher it goes.. the smaller it is & less painful.
 
Re: 3/8 Maverick AMPS 119 - more questions

I bought Canadian Lancets last week and none of them had a gauge on the box. So I can't tell. I alternate spots - I use an LED light and can see where there are poked areas. But his ear is actually changing which worries me. So I don't think I can use the tips anymore. I am using a polysporin ointment but without pain relief. I worry about him grooming the pain relief one off - anyone know if this is safe?
 
Re: 3/8 Maverick AMPS 119 - more questions

welcome to the digital age. I've got digital cable but I still don't have an HD box, I'm always late to the technology party.

Sorry poor Maverick's ears are suffering and you're not seeing the #'s you like. FD is very frustrating but hang on in there. We're all hear for you.
 
Re: 3/8 Maverick AMPS 119 - more questions

Hi again, Karrie,
When you say you use the "tips", how high up on the tips do you poke? I always thought that one should aim for between the vein and the edge of the ear, about 1/3rd to 1/2 of the way down the ear. In other words, not the tip of the ear. As I understand it, blood flows down from the tip. If you put some pressure (pinch) below where you plan to poke it will create a "dam" and you will get the blood drop more easily. I agree that you should use fine gauge lancets, somewhere in the 30-33 gauge range (I've had luck with the BD lancets, 30 gauge, and many here use the BD 33 gauge). I don't see that a huge "railroad spike" lancet would improve blood flow and it would certainly tear up the ears.
Good luck!

Ella
 
Re: 3/8 Maverick AMPS 119 - more questions

The very tips of the ears along the edge. And I was using 31g relion lancets up until this week when I switched to the ultima lancets.

Will keep trying the edge of the ear. I get very very very tiny specks of blood even trying the dam and massage techniques. But I am only trying the left ear edge. Hmmm = don't know why I haven't tried the right ear edge. Will do so for the +3 today. I may skip that and do a +6 only.

Thanks guys.
 
Re: 3/8 Maverick AMPS 119 - more questions

Karrie, I'm so sorry things have been a little difficult with the ear pokes. I have finally figured out that Simon's one ear pokes better on the very edge of the ear and the other one works better slightly away from the edge. This is all so confusing and I hope Maverick's ears feel better. I use the neosporin with pain relief and that seems to do the best for Simon. Thanks for being such a support to me this week!!
 
Re: 3/8 Maverick AMPS 119 - more questions

a tip from my experience...DO NOT tune in "The Hills Have Thighs" or "The Devil Wears Nada" on your digital receiver...
I'm just sayin' :lol:
 
Re: 3/8 Maverick AMPS 119 complicated question re shot times

LMAO - thanks for the warning Celi. I've had tv on mute all day - work is too busy.

I think I'm finding a good mix for a tiny bit of energy. 2 coffees first thing, an energy drink, a diet pepsi and another coffee. I'm going to get more energy drinks today. Oh and vitamin B12 and D, and going to get more a vitamin B complex thingy tonight too.

Thanks for the tips about the ears and lancets.

Here's an odd question for everyone. I'm debating on what shot time to convert him to. Do cats adjust to DSTs? Or will he just continue on his existing free feeding schedule? His eating doesn't revolve around when we wake up or shot times. He eats when he's hungry.
 
Re: 3/8 Maverick AMPS 119 complicated question re shot times

Good idea on the B complex, Karrie! Get a liquid if you can find one... Nature's Bounty is a good, cheap one that I use every day.

No ideas on the dose time... I think if you just wanted to keep Maverick the same and then not adjust for DST, you'd be fine? No idea!

Fingers and paws crossed that you get Mav to numbers you like better soon... just remember, he is doing great and spending virtually all his time in the healing range... green or not!!

((hug))
 
Re: 3/8 Maverick AMPS 119 complicated question re shot times

Hi, I don't really understand your question.. my best guess is yes they do adjust, like we all do. If he free feeds then it does not matter what time he eats if food is left out. As far as shot times go you can move them around, I move Baby's often.. as early as 2am/2pm & as late as 4am/4pm. I do follow protocol when moving them, meaning I typically do it in either 15 or 30min increments. I don't know if this even answers your question though :roll:
 
Re: 3/8 Maverick AMPS 119 complicated question re shot times

He's a 59 ohmygod_smile Went to move the shot time up 15 minutes. I don't get it at all.

His +6 was the same as AMPS at 119. If its a rising number I'll shoot it (testing again in 20 minutes).
 
WOW - lots of things going on here today. I can't believe I am so late in visiting you... Thought I had, guess not. :oops: sorry! -- on the lancets - I use the BD 33 gauge, they work well with Mannie. And I poke on the edge, about a third of the way down. I usually get good drops there. there are days however....

on the eating and the DST - they adjust. mine do -even when I move Mannie's shot time to accommodate the time change. it takes a day or two, but they figure it out.

nice pmps today - nice shooting too!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top