3/8 Mandarin AMBG 73 / Walter AMPS 187

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandarin'sMom

Member Since 2014
Last condo

My heart goes out to @Doodles & Karen - such a huge loss and such a special cat. It feels like the board will never be quite the same without Mr. Bossy Pants. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Status quo here. Kind of a rough day for me yesterday. Yesterday was the day that I was scheduled to go to Germany. In light of Lenny's surgery and all of the uncertainties surrounding immigration I still think it was the right decision to cancel my trip, but I feel really bad about having to miss my mom's 70th birthday.

Walter has been running a bit higher after his two reduced doses when I was out of town... and then he threw up a huge hairball at 3 am. So that might have something to do with his higher numbers too. I am about to head to the shelter to help walk dogs and check on one of the diabetic cats there.

We currently have two diabetic cats that are staying at the shelter. They get Insulin (Novolin), but no one ever tests them. Our shelter vets just do a curve every couple of weeks, but they feel that it's not necessary to monitor them more than that. I have been complaining about it for months, but the only response I ever get is: unless you want to take them home, we will go with what the vet wants us to do. Sigh.

Yesterday morning, one of the cleaners noticed that Stormy was lethargic and didn't act like his normal self, but they didn't even have access to testing supplies (and wouldn't know how to test). So I dropped everything and ran out there - poor Stormy was at 26. Almost 6 hours after his shot. Luckily, he came back up and was doing much better by last night, but I don't think they learned anything from this. I can't feasibly take home another diabetic cat (much less two), but it's also hard to keep my mouth shut. I just wish there were more people willing to foster or adopt a special needs animal.
 
Nice AMBG for Mandarin. I hope Walter comes down soon but still not a bad number considering the reduced shots and the hairball!
I'm glad the shelter cleaners noticed something was off with Stormy and knew the right person to call! Hopefully the vet will reduce his dose. Nobody understands the need to test until they have a diabetic cat and even then some don't. My vet had a diabetic cat and it wasn't until she had a hypo that he understood the need for testing.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
That's not a bad number for Walter. I hope he slides down today. Poor Stormy. I hope the vet learned something from this. Sending prayers. for Lenny. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Not a bad start for Walter. Poor Stormy....I can't believe how casual most vets still are about diabetes.....

Happy Birthday to your Mom...I'm sorry you couldn't be there, but I'm sure she understands the many challenges...
 
eek, what a savior you are for little Stormy to drop everything to make sure he was ok. The shelter is lucky to have you around, even if you ruffle a few feathers trying to make sure all the animals are safe and happy.

Hope Walter keeps heading in the right direction now that he got that ick-ball out and is back to his normal dose.

I think we will all miss Mr. Bossy Pants.
 
Oh geez, I don't know how you do it Christina...you're more than a super bean...more like miracle human. I hope Stormy does better. Walter has a pretty nice start today and always recovers nicely. Extra scritches to all your critters especially Lenny today :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I hope Walter will side down for you and perhaps the hairball and bit of stress with you being gone .

Ugh on the diabetic kitties at the shelter . :mad:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top