3/8 Kitty AMPS 81, +6 88 - Dosecrease measuring

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy and Kitty

Member Since 2009
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=8390

We're now at .75. Ideally, we might want to step down by fats and skinnies, but DH and I have been sticking with doses we think we can measure consistently. My guess is tonight's dose will be a .5 Fat.

I'd be lyin' if I didn't admit to being optimistic about the future. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/8 Kitty AMPS 81, +6 88 - Dosecrease tonight!

Knock, knock! Hello? Am I knocking on the right condo? Is this the same bean, who...how many months ago insisted on listening to two bad vets advice and dose kitty at 10 units? Rather than listen to us smarty party people and start at 1 and adjust accordingly? @-)

Knock, knock....is this that condo? And now look at you talking about fatties and skinnies of micro dosing! and you're right, the key to micro dosing and call it whatever number you like is to figure out what the "number" is and be consistent that you shoot the same amount each time, until you adjust the dose. so fat, skinny, .8, .75, .5, you get the idea..... :o

Oh wait......you're micro dosing MR. KITTY!!!!!! :o Wonder what those two vets would say about it!!!!!! :-D :-D

Yeah! Mr. Kitty! Yeah microdosing! Yeah Mr. Greenie - I think that's his new name! Mr. Greenie! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/8 Kitty AMPS 81, +6 88 - Dosecrease tonight!

Gee whiz, Hillary, you have a loooooooong memory! It was only one bad vet. In retrospect, stepping down from 10 once daily to 5 once daily and then to 2 twice daily (what the second vet suggested) might have been wise. What would Kitty have gone through dumping down from 10 in one step? That was the concern, as I recall.

The very bad old days. Mr. Buzz -- aka Mr. Kitty -- aka Captain Meowie van Kattie! -- is one tough guy.

Better days now. :-D
 
Re: 3/8 Kitty AMPS 81, +6 88 - Dosecrease tonight!

Kathy and Kitty said:
Gee whiz, Hillary, you have a loooooooong memory! It was only one bad vet. In retrospect, stepping down from 10 once daily to 5 once daily and then to 2 twice daily (what the second vet suggested) might have been wise. What would Kitty have gone through dumping down from 10 in one step? That was the concern, as I recall.

The very bad old days. Mr. Buzz -- aka Mr. Kitty -- aka Captain Meowie van Kattie! -- is one tough guy.

Better days now. :-D

I'll drink to that :)
 
Re: 3/8 Kitty AMPS 81, +6 88 - Dosecrease tonight!

Best of luck with the dosecrease!
I like the bedtime spot check last night... don't need to send the bedtime spot check police after you! :lol:
Keep up the green Kitty!
 
Re: 3/8 Kitty AMPS 81, +6 88 - Dosecrease tonight!

Is this Kathy & Mr. Greenie?? I'm so very happy for you both--Try the dose, you have had green for a very long time-
Paws & fingers crossed for you!! I"M SO HAPPY for you!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Go for it!
 
Re: 3/8 Kitty AMPS 81, +6 88 - Dosecrease tonight!

Good luck with the decrease. How exciting!!!! Shhh....I won't say more than that.

aka Captain Meowie van Kattie

Oh, that's a new one Kitty! When does your Mama Bean call you that? When you've been a good boy or a good boy (cause you're always a good boy)? :lol:

Kathy - I like you new obsession...worrying about sliding down the scale!
 
Re: 3/8 Kitty AMPS 81, +6 88 - Dosecrease tonight!

Amy and Six said:
aka Captain Meowie van Kattie

Oh, that's a new one Kitty! When does your Mama Bean call you that? When you've been a good boy or a good boy (cause you're always a good boy)? :lol:

Kathy - I like you new obsession...worrying about sliding down the scale!

Captain Meowie van Kattie is used to call him to dinner. He responds well to it -- coincidence??? :-D
 
Re: 3/8 Kitty AMPS 81, +6 88 - Dosecrease tonight!

kathy, you know i wouldn't say this if i had doubts...
i think you can safely take the dose down to 0.5 unit. i'd forget the fat. kitty can handle it. he's been in normal numbers since the middle of november when a shot was purposely skipped to empty the shed a little. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/8 Kitty AMPS 81, +6 88 - Dosecrease tonight!

:lol: Love the name!

I'll stick with Mr. Greenie for now if that's ok! :mrgreen:

Oh and yes, I have a very long memory! I retain all kinds of information in my head....but I remember when you came on board and when we talked and I tried to explain that it was ok to trust these unknown internet people and how difficult that was....oh yes, I remember! And it's something that is important to remember, so you can reflect on how far you and Sir Greenie have come and the wonderful progress that you made.

Congrats on the dosecrease!
 
Re: 3/8 Kitty AMPS 81, +6 88 - Dosecrease tonight!

Verra nice, Kathy, a dosecrease for Kitty. Good luck!!!
 
Re: 3/8 Kitty - amount of decrease - Jill!

Jill & Alex said:
kathy, you know i wouldn't say this if i had doubts...
i think you can safely take the dose down to 0.5 unit. i'd forget the fat. kitty can handle it. he's been in normal numbers since the middle of november when a shot was purposely skipped to empty the shed a little. :mrgreen:

I know you wouldn't. I'm excited and nervous! Jill, based on the picture below:

http://romlin.com/jock/SyringeFineGradations/

...I'm a little anxious to say it, but I think we're currently AT .5, or maybe .5 fat, not .75. The bottom our stopper is exactly aligned with the top of the 1 unit line. If we take out a medium to full size drop, we will be below .5. nailbite_smile

We've just been reducing drop by drop. I'm not hung up on the number. Kitty has earned the dosecrease fair and square. Based on what you've said, I think we can take out a full size drop, not a medium drop?

Yikes.
 
Re: 3/8 Kitty AMPS 81, +6 88 - Dosecrease measuring-Jill!

from what you've described, taking out a full size drop sounds fine. :-D
good luck with the reduction!
 
Re: 3/8 Kitty AMPS 81, +6 88 - Dosecrease measuring-Jill!

congrats on the minusing of the full sized drop. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/8 Kitty - amount of decrease - Jill!

I'm not hung up on the number.

Oh, who am I kidding? :mrgreen: My insides are flip-flopping. nailbite_smile

THANKS! This is amazing. When i thought it was a fat .5, I wasn't nervous at all!!! :lol:



And Hillary...yes, you encouraged me to trust, when I had lost trust and was so frightened for Kitty.

And you were right.

Thank you for that. :YMHUG:
 
You are so very welcome! cat_pet_icon AFter all it's all about the cats.

I remember when you showed up, I could feel your anxiety and pain and so very much wanted to help you. So, thanks for believing in us wackos and learning to trust again. I only bring it up, because I think it's important that we remember how we got here, how we felt and how far we have come since. This will keep us grounded and give us the needed insight to help the next newbie that shows up.

And believe me, I remember how I got here and how I felt and how far Maui's has come. I look at her today and think, wow, a year ago she was a mess and looked terrible (and me too!).

nailbite_smile And none of that you hear! These are exciting times for Mr. Greenie Pants and one that I'm so very happy to see happening.

Call the dose whatever you want, just be consistent - so one big fat drop less than before, can't wait to see how you write that in his ss!
 
Re: 3/8 Kitty AMPS 81, PMPS 91- Measuring a DROP

And how big is a full drop??? :? confused_cat

We went from the bottom of the stopper firmly touching the top of the 1 unit line to: the bottom of the stopper hangs just over the top of the line.

We took out a dro just big enough to slide down the needle. I've taken out smaller. I've taken out bigger.

I hereby dub this dose: .5.

:mrgreen:

Our guesstimate is that we could do this 2-3 more times.

Hillary -- it is so painful to think of that time.

Sienne, yes, I remember when you started! Kitty had been on one shot per day for four months, up to 10 units ONCE DAILY. I think we were close to losing him. I didn't know any better, and I was terrified. I finally looked at him and said, "Enough." I got a second vet opinion -- the one who sent me here -- but if I couldn't trust the first vet, how did I know I could trust her advice?

I remember Hillary reaching out to me and telling me, "These people know what they're doing. They've really helped me. You can trust them." It helped me jump that big gap.

Then Jill taught me to test.

And here we are. Whatever the heck you call this dose!
 
And Hillary sent me my very first methycobalamine. Kitty was losing his hind legs to neuropathy -- could barely get into his box.

Now? He buries like a pro. :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top