3/8 Johnny AMPS 312 PMPS 188 - new or long-term diabetic?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janice & Johnny

Member Since 2010
Jumping in tonight with a question about Johnny. At 10 months from diagnosis, should he be considered a newly diagnosed kitty or a long-term? He went OTJ after 3.5 months of insulin and back on the juice three months later.

I'm asking because twice in the last couple of weeks (most recently Sunday night), we gave him an earned reduction for hitting 49. The first time it didn't stick and I'm not sure we're far enough into this reduction to say the same, but I'm wondering if he should now be in the category of long-term and earning reductions when he goes below 40. He does still seem to bounce after hitting the 40s if that means anything.

Insulin-aside, Johnny is doing really well! He wishes I would check in more often so you could see him. We always joke that when he's sitting in the front window, he's not there to look at stuff, but rather to give people the opportunity to see *him.* He loves to be noticed by people on the sidewalk. :)
 
Re: 3/8 Johnny AMPS 312 PMPS 188 - new or long-term diabetic

hi, guys!! good to see you!

no input on your question...but best of luck...

celi & binks
 
Re: 3/8 Johnny AMPS 312 PMPS 188 - new or long-term diabetic

Where have you been? I was beginning to think we needed to send out a search team!

Based on time, Johnny in a "new" diabetic. However, for kitties who are making a return appearance after spending time at the Falls, we try to make it tougher for them to earn their reductions and also give the pancreas more support. In other words, go by the long-term diabetic rules.

When the Tilly Protocol changed, one of the "rules" that was different is that in order to earn a reduction, all cats had to have 3 times below 50 to earn a reduction or a drop below 40. You may want to adopt these rules for Johnny.
 
Re: 3/8 Johnny AMPS 312 PMPS 188 - new or long-term diabetic

Hi Celi & Binks! Thanks for the visit. :)

Sienne, that is hugely helpful. I like the idea of not reducing until three drops below 50. He didn't seem quite ready, given his numbers, but I was just following the rules. We're on the second cycle of the reduction. Should we hang in with this one? Or head back up to .25? I'm wondering if a skinny .25 might be a good compromise.

I feel bad checking in at work in the a.m., because I can't really visit the other condos so easily. And then at night, I feel like since I was a no-show, I should wait until morning! Repeat cycle. lol I'll do my best to check in more often. Thanks for missing us.
 
Re: 3/8 Johnny AMPS 312 PMPS 188 - new or long-term diabetic

I think you need to gauge what will work best for Johnny. I think this round of treatment is really different than the last time at least with respect to how he's responding to insulin. I would go the the three drops below 50, etc. as a reduction strategy. When reducing, I would shave the dose. If Johnny needs less insulin than that, he'll tell you. Given the amount of insulin he's on, you really don't have a choice other than to shave.

Let's see how Johnny does at this dose. I tend to think you're going to need to bump it back up but you never know. I suspect there's too much yellow for him to hold at 0.10u but Johnny can be full of surprises.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top