3/8 Henry

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela&Henry

Very Active Member
Henry remained in low 100's well after midnight last night 3/7 so no shot.
Today's afternoon BG's have been much higher.
AMPS 429 1.5 U
+4 303
+6 347
Called vet for our daily BG numbers update and his urine culture results are back and he's all clear, but will continue antibiotic tonight and tomorrow night to get in a full 14 day treatment.
 
Skipping a shot can really mess up the next cycle or two. Next time, try to test again in 30 minutes or an hour so you can give at least a token shot.

Are you up for testing overnight sometime? It would be really interesting to see if we can figure out why you continually get the high amps number. Some cats go down at night. Sometimes you can impact that by offering food midcycle at night. The high amps could be a bounce from a low overnight number. Just something to explore - the more data, the better.

Hoping for nice numbers tomorrow.
 
Good news on the culture...yeah for Henry! When you can, I would try Sue's suggestion to get a test in some time during the night. Not every night cuz mommy's got to sleep, but here and there so you can try to see what is happening at night. Henry is a puzzle with those high AMPS #'s but low PMPS #'s.
 
You know, it seems every time I can get Asher to eat overnight at some point, his amps are lower. Maybe its my imagination but it seems that way. I’d say it’d be worth a try for you guys.
 
The last test I got in was at 1:15 a.m. this morning and he was at 110. That was +16 hours after his AM shot.
I usually feed before I go to bed around 12 and DH gets up usually around 3-4 to give Henry his last dose of glaucoma eye drops and feeds him again.
Vet thought maybe higher carb food I gave him when he was 96 at +5 shot him up today or rebound from extended time in 100's and body not used to.
She knows he seems to be very carb sensitive.
With the numbers today he should be plenty high enough to shoot tonight, but he has those weird lows at night sometimes.
 
Angela,

I am a little worried - not very but a little. It is likely that your pmps was headed up and it normally would be enough to shoot your 1.5 into. There is unlikely that Henry was still going down at +12 but you didn't really get a nadir today. If I were you, I would get some before bed tests to be sure.
 
I apologize if I am repeating myself, Angela, but are you feeding Henry in the overnight hours? If you leave some frozen food out or use the automatic feeder, this may help with your high amps numbers. Note on Donna's post this morning that it is making a nice difference for Asher.

Usually if you are getting a long duration and a low pmps, you need to reduce the dose. I know that sounds counter productive when you are in the 400s at amps, but you need to have a shootable pmps. You can see that this was the definite pattern on 3/1, 3/2, 3/4 and 3/7.

What would you think about going down to 1.25 and making sure he has food overnight?
 
I can try the 1.25. I give him a 1/2 can of FF around 11:00 pm then usually another 1/2 can at 12:00 am or whenever I go to bed. Hubby is usually up between 3-4 am to give his eye drops and feeds more then, and if he is pesty between 7-8 am he gives him more; we test at 9:00 am.
I went to Kmart and Petco to look at self feeders; didn't like the design they looked like they would be easy to tip over/open.
When I can get to super Walmart about 40 miles away i think they have one I liked better there.
 
That's right, Angela- I remember now. I thought I had asked about overnight feeding but couldn't find the answer.

I love my Petsafe5. I got it at PetSmart. It's the only feeder my cats haven't been able to break into.

I certainly can't be sure the 1.25 would help, but it might be worth an experiment.

And it would be good to try for some overnight numbers also.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top