? 3/8 Hamilton AMPS 108, +4 77, +5 63, PMPS 79

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elizabeth B

Member Since 2017
So, this is new. I’m delaying his meal by 15 minutes to see if he rises some. I know he gets a big spike for appx 3 hours after eating, so I understand I’m shooting for that window. However, I’m a bit nervous. I even used the old alpha trak and he was 110, which I’ve never seen at preshot. I sure wish I could have been home to catch his nadir, though I doubt it went too low as he really flattens out from +5 - +9ish.

Thoughts!?
 
Good plan to stall and retest when you are new to lower numbers. He did see a lower number earlier, so this is likely a Lantus double dip, and safe to shoot. Do you have plenty of strips and HC at hand? Can you monitor tonight?
 
You have shot a 96 before, so green preshots aren't entirely new. I notice you've been changing the dose around lately. Can I ask why? We determine dose based on nadirs.
 
So, this is new. I’m delaying his meal by 15 minutes to see if he rises some. I know he gets a big spike for appx 3 hours after eating, so I understand I’m shooting for that window. However, I’m a bit nervous. I even used the old alpha trak and he was 110, which I’ve never seen at preshot. I sure wish I could have been home to catch his nadir, though I doubt it went too low as he really flattens out from +5 - +9ish.

Thoughts!?
Sounds like Hamilton does similar to Silver after eating. His preshots still seem to be his lowest. At least its the weekend and maybe get a curve in?
 
Couple things. After 15 minutes he was on his way up at 86, so I felt comfortable shooting. I thought I noted on one of the sheets that his last evening cycle with a low PMPS I did just 7.75u and he started dropping fast, like feed HC at +3 and again at +4 kind of fast, so you wouldn’t see the 50 on his sheet, but I’m confident he was headed that way. So, I tried 7.5u and his nadir was staying in the 70s so felt that 7.75 would be a good dose to go back to and see what happens. I have plenty of strips, HC, and double checked with DH if he could hang with me through a late night. We’ll see how it goes!
 
Typically we dose by what the meter says, not by what might have been. Due to the nature of the depot, dropping the dose by 0.25, at Hamilton's size of dose, may have no impact.

Glad he came up a tad. Paws crossed for a good surf tonight. Might want to get a +1 and a +2, good data to have when you shoot your lowest yet.
 
Yes. I’m very familiar with the protocols, but I’m not willing to let him continue to drop during a PM cycle. Thanks for the feedback!
 
I wasn't suggesting you let him drop. Rather, if you want to make sure he's stays higher when doing a BCS, a much more significant one time reduction would be needed. Even then, the first part of the cycle can still play out the same.

I am saying this for you, but also any lurkers.
 
Totally understand. If you look at his history, it’s clear his magic dose is somewhere between that 7.5u and 8u. At 7.5u he was still spiking above 250 and once we hit 8u, he really started to respond. I just noticed I don’t have all his values on my spreadsheet from his 7.5u days. If my phone isn’t by my side or DH does it, I sometime forget to input later. Sorry. It would have definitely made things easier to see for everyone. I have my new BLU meter, so I just need to sit down and transfer the data.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top