3/8 GracieD AMPS 151, +4 42, +5 46, +6 44 Auto Reduction?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jason & Belle (GA)

Member Since 2010
Afternoon everyone!

Gracie is still doing really well on this dose. Her AMPS was higher, but it may have been food related. Since we've pushed back her shot 3 hours in the last few days, I just can't hold off feeding her. We leave dry out for our other cats, and she'll eat that if we don't give her what she wants. That's actually how she let's us know she's hungry. She'll walk over to the dry, stand there and stare at me until I get her food. She'll only wait so long to take a bite.

In any case, she hit a low of 46 at +2.5 and I see that's usually an automatic dose reduction for new diabetics. Is this always the case? I have no trouble reducing her, but I'd rather reduce it by a drop than by a full .25. 1.25 hasn't worked for her.

Edit: 42 at +4. I'd say a dose reduction is in order. I'll try 1.25 because it's easier for my wife. She's had a real breakthrough so hopefully 1.25u will have more effect than it did previously.

+5=46
+6=44

Thanks,

Jason
 
Re: 3/8 GracieD AMPS 151, +3 56, +4 42, +5 46 Auto Reductio

In principle, you're correct. For cats within a year of diagnosis, numbers below 50 warrant a reduction. I would try reducing by 0.25u. If the reduction doesn't hold, you could try fattening the dose.

One question though. When you say you've pushed back Gracie's shot time by 3 hours over the last few days, over how many days and how much per day. An early shot acts like a dose increase so it's possible you're seeing the effect of the time shift.
 
Re: 3/8 GracieD AMPS 151, +3 56, +4 42, +5 46 Auto Reductio

Last Friday I shot 2.5 hours late, and Sunday half an hour late. I did shoot roughly half an hour earlier today to try and make up some time. This was the first early shot time since the delays.

Jason


Sienne and Gabby said:
In principle, you're correct. For cats within a year of diagnosis, numbers below 50 warrant a reduction. I would try reducing by 0.25u. If the reduction doesn't hold, you could try fattening the dose.

One question though. When you say you've pushed back Gracie's shot time by 3 hours over the last few days, over how many days and how much per day. An early shot acts like a dose increase so it's possible you're seeing the effect of the time shift.
 
Re: 3/8 GracieD AMPS 151, +4 42, +5 46, +6 44 Auto Reductio

No dose advice... just want to say that Miss Gracie is doing amazing! And I learned something... didn't realize that the "newly diagnosed" distinction applies to cats within a year of diagnosis. I've only been taking reductions at 40.

Hope you guys are enjoying your afternoon!
 
Re: 3/8 GracieD AMPS 151, +4 42, +5 46, +6 44 Auto Reductio

Congrats on the dose crease..Sometimes a dose doesnt hold the first time, then the next time it does-
Take a wait & see...Looks good!
 
Re: 3/8 GracieD AMPS 151, +4 42, +5 46, +6 44 Auto Reductio

Shooting 1/2 hour early is fine as long as you do this only once a day.

Given that you've got to adjust for daylight savings time, you'll need to factor that in to your getting back on schedule.
 
Re: 3/8 GracieD AMPS 151, +4 42, +5 46, +6 44 Auto Reductio

I can't get back to normal time before the clock change, so I'm just going to get back 1/2 an hour every couple of days. I have the flexibility now, and it will be nice to sleep in for an extra hour or so. I shot what amounts to 1.3u. I took two drops off of 1.5. Eyeballing it, it's close to where I was at 1.25, but I'm hoping I can be more consistent this way.

Night all, and as always thanks for the help and the support!


Sienne and Gabby said:
Shooting 1/2 hour early is fine as long as you do this only once a day.

Given that you've got to adjust for daylight savings time, you'll need to factor that in to your getting back on schedule.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top