3/8 Fortune AMPS 119 +1 113 +2 91 +3 112 +5 211 +7 260 +10 545!!

yay nice AMPS! looks like a bounce breaking cycle to me. I'm not able to stay but you may want to get a +1 to see if he gets a food bump or not (if not, you can feed a bit more). I'm sure others will be on the board if you need help. Hope Fortune is feeling good too :bighug:
 
yay nice AMPS! looks like a bounce breaking cycle to me. I'm not able to stay but you may want to get a +1 to see if he gets a food bump or not (if not, you can feed a bit more). I'm sure others will be on the board if you need help. Hope Fortune is feeling good too :bighug:

Thanks, Susanne! We thought yesterday was the bounce breaker, so interested to see what he will do today.

Will go grab a +1, BRB.
 
Bounced cleared. Now we see what this dose does. How’s the appetite?

He polished off the food DH made him this morning, and I'm about to offer him some more! He isn't a fan of the Phos Bind texture so I have been experimenting with the best way to mix it in.

He had a hard night - his NMD symptoms came back. Waiting to hear from the neurologist, hopefully a dose increase helps him. :(
 
I just heard from the oncology team, to tell me that prescribing a phos binder is internal medicine’s job. :rolleyes:

Is it ok if I add phos binder to food's with high phosphorus? Of course he prefers those :banghead: but with his phosphorus literally too high to measure, I have been trying to feed options lower in phos, but there aren't a lot he likes right now that are also lower in carbs.
 
It’s best to add the binder to all food he eats. If he takes it better in the higher phosphorus food put it in there and right after feed some of the lower phosphorus food without it. You can read all about it on tanyascrf. There’s another not as bulky site I really like about CKD. I bookmarked it so I need to find it.
 
Oh I didn't know I could do that! I read about the different types, but not quite how to feed.

He definitely takes it better/eats better high phosphorus food; he will be so happy to get some stinky tuna food :woot:
 
It binds with the phosphorus so if it’s in a little really good food and he eats food right after it will bind. Try adding a little more water but if he doesn’t like soupy food or fills up to fast that won’t work.
 
Last edited:
Back up to 112! I am going to feed him some LC (cuz we are still in bulk mode over here).
 
Our phos binder with food experiment isn't going great today, I think he smells or tastes it. Trying different tips I read here, but other ideas are welcome.

Fortune is INTERESTED in food, but clearly feeling crap. His NMD symptoms are bad today; neuro increased his meds dose to 3x/day to see if it helps. I think it's probably a combo of that and low potassium :(

till waiting to hear back from the oncologist regarding his dramatic change in b/w. Have a bad feeling she is going to punt to internal medicine, who is not treating him appropriately, imho.

We have a internal medicine consult with Cornell Vet Specialists in Stamford this Friday; hoping for something positive. I haven't heard much about them, but they are affiliated with Cornell College of Vet Medicine in Ithaca.
 
Put away the trampoline Fortune! If 91 is as low as he's got in him at this dose, he has room for an increase.

Has he had anti-nausea meds today?
 
Has he had anti-nausea meds today?

Yup - He gets ondansetron 3x/day (next dose in about an hour), Cerenia at night. Mirataz wasn't making a difference, so we stopped it - he is on SO many meds now :( so cutting the ones that aren't helping to help his kidney and liver.

I did just had feed him a small piece of chicken breast (purchased especially for the King Kitty), and he DEVOURED it (yay), so I think everything I am offering and/or the phos bind is what is so off putting to him.

I even tried chicken and gravy baby food, a little warmed up, with some FortiFlora and newp. FortiFlora does help when he has been eating something and is having trouble finishing.

We are going to do subQ in a few minutes, I hope that helps a bit.
 
I think I'll give his ears a break til +10 - Fortune found a good spot of sun this afternoon and is "cooking," :) It hasn't been sunny very much the last month, and it is so good to see him so content, sprawled across the window bed. :bighug:

He sometimes comes down again at PMPS, but if he doesn't, I think we are due to go up .25IU. I'm thinking tomorrow morning, though, since sleep is a precious and limited commodity these days. ;)

@Wendy&Neko
 
Wow. Fortune's numbers are very nice today! What kind of symptoms does he have that are worse today? Poor bunny! Glad he's sunning himself though. I bet that's really good for him.
 
Oh, and regarding binder. If kitty won't eat food with the binder, a lot of people on Tanya's support group mix the binder with a little water and syringe it into the kitties mouth before they eat. Some cats just don't like the texture of the binder. They can say it's odorless and tasteless all they want to... but cats KNOW when you put stuff in their food!
 
Is this another bounce? From the TR sticky, we shouldn’t wait out the bounce and increase anyway, right? So going to plan on increasing tomorrow morning’s cycle.
 
I have had 2 different binders that I used to give Perry, I found that one was a little
gritty, but he still ate his food using both of them. I put a lot of water in the food, maybe that will help. Good luck, nice numbers today
 
Is this another bounce? From the TR sticky, we shouldn’t wait out the bounce and increase anyway, right?
Yes and correct. Increase anyway. The only guideline on increasing and bounces is that it's preferable not to increase during the cycle they are breaking the bounce.

Diane brought up a good point, some binders are grittier than others. Maybe you can pulverize a little?
 
Another idea for the ears - I just picked up some Calendula ointment. Can't remember where I read about it but it's a homeopathic alternative to Neosporin. It might be time to start investing in Boiron. I put some on Minnie and she didn't hate it...I have no idea if any of these things help her, but certainly makes me feel less guilty about the state of her ears!

(First random article that came up on a google search: https://vcahospitals.com/know-your-pet/calendula)
 
@RachelG - hey there, checking in. Everything ok? I don't see any updates since yesterday's PMPS...:bighug:



Oh Rachel, so sorry to see about the hospital. Thinking of you. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Back
Top