? 3/8 AMPS: 73! We're shooting green!

What does he do for food when you aren't home? Will he eat from the feeder? Is there anyone to feed him?
Yeah he has a timed feeder with 2 segments! The best I could do today is come home and check on him at +5 but it'd only be a 5 minute pop in
 
Yeah he has a timed feeder with 2 segments! The best I could do today is come home and check on him at +5 but it'd only be a 5 minute pop in
That's great. He nadired at AMPS yesterday and it's possible he is doing the same thing today considering he has gone up from 73 to 87 without food. I would shoot the full dose and leave slightly higher carbs for him to eat. Maybe even feed some MC with the shot to give him a boost
 
That's great. He nadired at AMPS yesterday and it's possible he is doing the same thing today considering he has gone up from 73 to 87 without food. I would shoot the full dose and leave slightly higher carbs for him to eat. Maybe even feed some MC with the shot to give him a boost
Alrighty. HOO gawwt I am SCARED lol but here we go!

I told myself we were ready for TR but I was NOT READY FOR THE NEXT DAY TO HAVE OUR FIRST GREEN PRESHOT LOL!
 
We did it but I am scared :nailbiting:
Yay! Here's your BOS award for shooting your first green!

balls_of_steel.jpg



When do you have to leave? Can you get another test? So we know where he is after food? What did you feed him with the shot?
 

Attachments

  • balls_of_steel.jpg
    balls_of_steel.jpg
    24.3 KB · Views: 238
At least I can tell now from collecting data that he is a food spiker 100%
Yay! Here's your BOS award for shooting your first green!

View attachment 66456


When do you have to leave? Can you get another test? So we know where he is after food? What did you feed him with the shot?
Yeah I'll test him right before I run out the door! He's pretty hungry still so I may go ahead and give him extra breakfast!
So I fed him 1 can of his regular FF pate, and gave him a teaspoon of friskies beef shreds in gravy. I figured I'd just leave his FF pate in his feeder for +2, I'll come check on him at his +5 and feed him if he needs it, then he has the feeder set for +6 and depending on where he's at if it's not needed I'll change it to +7!

I'll be leaving in like 30 mins and will get another test in. We couldn't push his shot back anymore cause I have to roll back 15 mins anyways this evening and then further for daylight savings time. We rolled forward a LOT yesterday morning stalling haha.
 
I would set the feeder for +2 and +4 and you can always feed him at +5, if needed. He might not nadir late in this cycle. Don't feed him more right now. You want him to be hungry to eat later.
 
I would set the feeder for +2 and +4 and you can always feed him at +5, if needed. He might not nadir late in this cycle. Don't feed him more right now. You want him to be hungry to eat later.
Got it! Just set it back up.

And that sounds good he'll just have to deal for a bit, my hungry gooby guy.
I didn't realize the nadir could constantly change, it was like clockwork on Vetsulin.
 
I didn't realize the nadir could constantly change, it was like clockwork on Vetsulin.
For unregulated cats it can move around a bit. Later in bounce clearing cycles, around +4 in "normal" cycles. Many cats do not get fed at night after the CG goes to bed, and if that coincides with a bounce breaking cycle, the nadir can be at the very end of the cycle since the cat keeps dropping without food. In cycles where one tests and feed, food counteracts insulin and reduces duration/drops.
 
For unregulated cats it can move around a bit. Later in bounce clearing cycles, around +4 in "normal" cycles. Many cats do not get fed at night after the CG goes to bed, and if that coincides with a bounce breaking cycle, the nadir can be at the very end of the cycle since the cat keeps dropping without food. In cycles where one tests and feed, food counteracts insulin and reduces duration/drops.
That's good to know! I saved this info for myself later.
I'm putting on my shoes to leave and he's 124 so we're good, he's come up quite a bit. It was definitely a bounce clearing cycle cause yesterday he just sat pretty and climbed as the cycle went on from his nice lows wed has a cycle or two previously. That is GREAT to know for data collecting.

Thank you for guiding me this morning, I was super scared and couldn't have done it without you!
 
Congrats on your bravery! Well done!!! :D
I'm celebrating with a drink tonight, honestly!! I'm so thankful for Bhooma explaining to me the concept of a bounce breaking cycle, how it caused the nadir to be later, and now I truly know the value of watching the trends and not just numbers! It will still take me time to understand the trends and how they all affect each other, but nonetheless I learned such valuable information today and I'm so proud! If I didn't give insulin this morning out of fear Lando would have bounced again! He's ALWAYS bouncing these days, and I'm sure he'll do it again soon from today, but for one day we were brave! For our first day ever we shot in the greens and we'll have (hopefully) a full cycle of great numbers. I could cry I'm so proud!
 
Alrighty. HOO gawwt I am SCARED lol but here we go!

I told myself we were ready for TR but I was NOT READY FOR THE NEXT DAY TO HAVE OUR FIRST GREEN PRESHOT LOL!
:eek::eek::eek: I was so terrified the first time too!;) I think most of us are! Congratulations! You did it!!!!!!! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:bighug: Well done!
 
Back
Top