3/8 Alex PMPS 122,+2~50,+2.5-74,+4~115,+5~120

Status
Not open for further replies.

Caryl & Sebastian & Alex (GA)

Very Active Member
Alex was his usual charming self this morning (ie snarly, growly and yowling and demanding) until he got fed and now he is quiet and settled down and taking a little snooze like a little doll.
He doesn't seem unhappy now though like he did last night at 2AM so I'm happy about that. I don't know what this all means but I'll try to figure it out as the day goes on. Maybe the bupe makes him feel weird(er). I'm stumped. :?

Increased dose, hope Alex sees a nice day.

Happy Monday LL :-D

yesterday
 
Re: 3/8 Alex AMPS 302

I'm stumped too. This is kinda new for him. Whinyness is not a normal side effect of bupe. We're just gonna have to watch, I was pretty sure the pink meant he was gonna break, so maybe it's just taking him longer to break. Keep an eye on his physical behavior today ok? If you catch him meatloafing, vomiting or eating less, let me know.
 
Re: 3/8 Alex AMPS 302

Carolyn and Spot said:
I'm stumped too. This is kinda new for him. Whinyness is not a normal side effect of bupe. We're just gonna have to watch, I was pretty sure the pink meant he was gonna break, so maybe it's just taking him longer to break. Keep an eye on his physical behavior today ok? If you catch him meatloafing, vomiting or eating less, let me know.

I will. So far he has had a great appetite. He really wanted his food this morning. Ate his usual 2 bowls. He's napping now but I just checked and he was on his side as usual and when he saw me he got up immediately because he thought it meant I was going in to the kitchen. :) He's always more mellow after he has breffis. Last night I was a little surprised.

Should I give him bupe today?
 
Re: 3/8 Alex AMPS 302

Your choice, but if you don't give it, monitor him closely to see if there are any behavioral changes from when you were giving it.
 
Re: 3/8 Alex AMPS 302

Carolyn and Spot said:
Your choice, but if you don't give it, monitor him closely to see if there are any behavioral changes from when you were giving it.

He'll definitely be different, he'll growl at Jackson more without it. That I know for sure... but I sure wish I knew if that was just because the med, by it's nature, is mellowing him out a little bit(although not that much last night)
Although, he is very quiet and nappy now.

Last night I was watching the Oscars and after shows and got involved...maybe he just wanted food and was pissed because I didn't give it to him when he wanted it. He sorta chilled after I fed him. Who knows?
 
Re: 3/8 Alex AMPS 302

one cat growling at another is usually considered defense of territory, and that can be brought about by pain.. see what your gut instinct feels like with him both on and off the bupe. I was lucky, I could tell Leo was hurting and I could tell the bupe started working and I could tell that he was no longer in pain. Alex is being a little sneakier about it. LOL
 
Re: 3/8 Alex AMPS 302

Carolyn and Spot said:
one cat growling at another is usually considered defense of territory, and that can be brought about by pain.. see what your gut instinct feels like with him both on and off the bupe. I was lucky, I could tell Leo was hurting and I could tell the bupe started working and I could tell that he was no longer in pain. Alex is being a little sneakier about it. LOL

I'm going to keep him off for at least this cycle. He seems to be quite happy right now so I'm going to see how it goes. He just came over to sit by me and is chirping. His growling at Jacky could also be jealously that he's had for 11 years because Jackson always got more attention sooooo, now he wants me all to himself. Maybe tomorrow daytime when I'm on computer again, I'll put him back on....day off, day on and watch the difference.
 
Re: 3/8 Alex AMPS 302

I think that's a real good plan. Like I mentioned, the nice thing about bupe is it doesn't linger in the system. In Leo it seems to last almost exactly 8 hours. After that there's nothing.. which means it's not building up over time and leading to confusing results. I think if you do the on/off thing, you will start to notice if it's making a difference, or not.
 
Re: 3/8 Alex AMPS 302

Carolyn and Spot said:
I think that's a real good plan. Like I mentioned, the nice thing about bupe is it doesn't linger in the system. In Leo it seems to last almost exactly 8 hours. After that there's nothing.. which means it's not building up over time and leading to confusing results. I think if you do the on/off thing, you will start to notice if it's making a difference, or not.

The thing that I just thought of is that Jackson has the exact same thing(stone and all) and I KNOW that he isn't hurting because when he is, he does everything to let me know short of speaking English to me. If it's his bladder he pees on the bed or bites his penis and growls, unfortunately, if he's constipated, he tries to do the same. :roll: If he gets feline acne on his chin and it hurts him, he'll rub the exact spot on my hand until I feel it even though he HATES me to clean it. (he is REALLY a mama's boy, what can I say) But he's rolling around and hap hap happy except when he gets growled at he growls back now.

ECID...but maybe the fact that Alex has diabetes and Jackson doesn't exacerbates the situation and makes it feel worse because Alex does pee more often and I believe there are more epithelial cells.

I'm gonna pick up more bupe later today.
 
Re: 3/8 Alex AMPS 302,+3~220,+4~142,+6~88

those pinks were leading us to this. LC snack is good. Get your seatbelt on, I think he's gonna bounce hard.
 
Re: 3/8 Alex AMPS 302,+3~220,+4~142,+6~88

I'm putting on my seatbelt as I write...after all is dangerous to type and not be belted in! :razz:

I just got a copy of Maui's blood test from February and her glucose was 108, so what I'm now wondering, since I didn't take a close look at what documents I gave the dentist is two things:

1) did he get her fructosamine test
or
2) did they send him the wrong blood test (you know like the one from last year when she was diagnosed)?

Because what I'm looking at is everything within range except platelet count is low.

I'm not going to concern myself over it.
 
Re: 3/8 Alex AMPS 302,+3~220,+4~142,+6~88

Hillary & Maui said:
I'm putting on my seatbelt as I write...after all is dangerous to type and not be belted in! :razz:

I just got a copy of Maui's blood test from February and her glucose was 108, so what I'm now wondering, since I didn't take a close look at what documents I gave the dentist is two things:

1) did he get her fructosamine test
or
2) did they send him the wrong blood test (you know like the one from last year when she was diagnosed)?

Because what I'm looking at is everything within range except platelet count is low.

I'm not going to concern myself over it.

I didn't think Maui was ever in the 400's LOL! (was she)?
 
Re: 3/8 Alex AMPS 302,+3~220,+4~142,+6~88,+7~87

Carolyn and Spot said:
Nice! I don't know.. time will tell :)

My boy he likes drama! Wonder where he gets that from? :mrgreen:

He's actually being sooo pleasant today. I was balancing him on top of my head when I caught him doing something he shouldn't have and all he did was wag his tail in my face and hop away when I put him down. No whining...nuthin'. :razz:
 
Re: 3/8 Alex AMPS 302,+3~220,+4~142,+6~88,+8~77

give him LC and let's see what that does - if you want, add a tbs of gravy to the lc or serve it naked. :mrgreen:

I have to check but I think the fructo test that was done was in the 400 range. oh well...knew not to get concerned until I saw the records for myself.

balancing him on your head - what are you nuts?!

Although I did meet a cat at a shelter who likes nothing more than wrapping himself like a shawl around people's necks and purring their ear, while mushy their shoulders (little did I realize he mushied with claws and now I have all kind of holes in my leather jacket (which is becoming like the velveteen rabbit) :cry:
 
Re: 3/8 Alex AMPS 302,+3~220,+4~142,+6~88,+8~77

Not sure what you two are talking about... but isn't 400 a normal fructosamine results? The vet who did Kitty's dental did one; I was pretty sure the range for healthy was below 500.

Caryl, not to intrude TOO much on Alex's privacy, but his behavior today forces me to ask... is he constipated? Bupe can do that.
 
Re: 3/8 Alex AMPS 302,+3~220,+4~142,+6~88,+8~77

Kathy and Kitty said:
Not sure what you two are talking about... but isn't 400 a normal fructosamine results? The vet who did Kitty's dental did one; I was pretty sure the range for healthy was below 500.

Caryl, not to intrude TOO much on Alex's privacy, but his behavior today forces me to ask... is he constipated? Bupe can do that.

Nope! Alex has the healthiest bm's of any cat in the world ..lol! (I wish he's stop picking the LB closest to ME to do them in. He ALWAYS does that). Why does his behavior indicate that? He was whiny in the AM..not for the rest of the day. He's been great all day. Especially AFTER that great ....poop lol :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 3/8 Alex AMPS 302,+3~220,+4~142,+6~88,+8~77

Kathy - I'm following up on something the dentist said. He "looked" at Maui's records and told me that am I sure she is in remission as the report said her glucose was 403! I figured it was a mistake and got a copy of her last test (Feb) and it was 108.

So, it made me wonder if the regular vet sent the wrong tests to the dentist and if he saw the fructo test or an early blood test - which if it read 403 sure was a diabetic number, but not 108.....

OOhhh didn't know that bupe gives constipation! oh my! and now that you went there, well...so much for privacy - sorry Alex - but it's Kathy's fault, she asked! :lol:
 
Re: 3/8 Alex AMPS 302,+3~220,+4~142,+6~88,+8~77

Hillary & Maui said:
give him LC and let's see what that does - if you want, add a tbs of gravy to the lc or serve it naked. :mrgreen:

I have to check but I think the fructo test that was done was in the 400 range. oh well...knew not to get concerned until I saw the records for myself.

balancing him on your head - what are you nuts?!

Although I did meet a cat at a shelter who likes nothing more than wrapping himself like a shawl around people's necks and purring their ear, while mushy their shoulders (little did I realize he mushied with claws and now I have all kind of holes in my leather jacket (which is becoming like the velveteen rabbit) :cry:

Yes, I am a little nuts but I have always played around with him by picking him up in the air and lowering his belly down on my head with his legs dangling in front and back of my face. I DO hold him!!! He purrs and wags his tail. But I wouldn't have done it 4 months ago..or even two months ago.... :lol:
 
Re: 3/8 Alex AMPS 302,+3~220,+4~142,+6~88,+8~77

Hillary & Maui said:
Kathy - I'm following up on something the dentist said. He "looked" at Maui's records and told me that am I sure she is in remission as the report said her glucose was 403! I figured it was a mistake and got a copy of her last test (Feb) and it was 108.

So, it made me wonder if the regular vet sent the wrong tests to the dentist and if he saw the fructo test or an early blood test - which if it read 403 sure was a diabetic number, but not 108.....

OOhhh didn't know that bupe gives constipation! oh my! and now that you went there, well...so much for privacy - sorry Alex - but it's Kathy's fault, she asked! :lol:

Another thing about narcotics Hillary. They will do that to people also. Constipation and dilated pupils. LOVELY! :razz:
 
Re: 3/8 Alex AMPS 302,+3~220,+4~142,+6~88+9.5~66

Sorry caryl, got some problems here. yup it was ok by me. :smile: no more though, we need to make sure he's coming up on his own by pmps and not as a result of the food. gotta get back offline, but here's to hoping he'll be on the rise and shootable or else you'll have to change your shot time hehehe shoot full dose on time as long as he's rising and over whatever number you're ok shooting. if he's not, stall. don't shoot anything crazy low though.. make sure he's at least in the 70s.. sorry no time to look at your ss right now so this is rushed
 
Re: 3/8 Alex AMPS 302,+3~220,+4~142,+6~88+9.5~66

Carolyn and Spot said:
Sorry caryl, got some problems here. yup it was ok by me. :smile: no more though, we need to make sure he's coming up on his own by pmps and not as a result of the food. gotta get back offline, but here's to hoping he'll be on the rise and shootable or else you'll have to change your shot time hehehe shoot full dose on time as long as he's rising and over whatever number you're ok shooting. if he's not, stall. don't shoot anything crazy low though.. make sure he's at least in the 70s.. sorry no time to look at your ss right now so this is rushed


I figured that you had personal stuff going on. Didn't think you would just split for no reason. I already know better. Sokay, he's already 138 @+11.25 :)
Hope you're okay over there :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/8 Alex AMPS 302,+3~220,+4~142,+6~88+9.5~66

thanks :smile: nice rise, he might go screaming up but we'll see, maybe lts will help it clear faster .. have a great night!
 
Re: 3/8 Alex AMPS 302,+3~220,+4~142,+6~88+9.5~66

Nice numbers for Alex, he's spending more and more time here.
 
Re: 3/8 Alex PMPS 122,+2~50

Alex is 50 at +2? You'd better MC this and test in 20 minutes. That's a fast, early drop.
 
Re: 3/8 Alex PMPS 122,+2~50

Libby and Lucy said:
Alex is 50 at +2? You'd better MC this and test in 20 minutes. That's a fast, early drop.

I HC'd 1 teaspoon with a little Karo and he's at 74 now. Just gave a little lc and MC because it's so early in cycle. will test again in 1/2 hr. trying to get it up but not so high that his sugar goes nuts.(ie reading the instructions from the other night because I could never figure it out what Carolyn was trying to do myself...lol)
I will get up in the middle of the night no matter what it is when I go to bed....
THANK YOU for watching out for us..I did panic at first nailbite_smile

drama kitteh!
 
Re: 3/8 Alex PMPS 122,+2~50,+2.5-74

good, keep testing because he could drop back down again when the Karo wears off.

I think this dose is too high since you had to use MC today and HC/Karo tonight. I would go back down to 5.25 and give it a little more time, he had some nice 70's on that dose. Maybe the 5.5 units was enough to jump start him so that dose will work even better now. See what others think...
 
Re: 3/8 Alex PMPS 122,+2~50,+2.5-74

i think libby has a good point. a 50 at +2 is too low, too soon.
a couple cycles at 5.5u got him going again. i think you can take him back down to 5.25u now...
 
Re: 3/8 Alex PMPS 122,+2~50,+2.5-74

Maybe this dose, maybe next, but do I catch the scent of breatkthrough...??

Ni Ni, Caryl. Be good, Alex.
 
Re: 3/8 Alex PMPS 122,+2~50,+2.5-74,+4~115

Jill & Alex said:
i think libby has a good point. a 50 at +2 is too low, too soon.
a couple cycles at 5.5u got him going again. i think you can take him back down to 5.25u now...

I hope that's what it means and I'm hoping that Carolyn will check this at some point during the night and also give her opinion because I've been following her "directions" as I asked for her help. This pretty much happened to him when he went up to 5.25 also. He was 76 at PMPS +3 and he never saw green again in 4 more cycles. I don't want to ruin anything if there is a reason for this dose based on Alex's past 'performance"..lol. I need the guidance desperately because Alex is so difficult to try to regulate with his multiple problems. I'm still waiting for his new dose of thyroid medication to kick in, and have been testing other things that could be responsible for his high numbers as well. I was at my wits end a week ago because I felt like I had been getting nowhere for 5 months and finally I feel hopeful for Alex :-D

for the first time he's not all over the place and I am so grateful for that. I don't know if there is a 'specific' reason for this increase or not so that's why I hope that she looks at this before morning...she usually does. She'll probably agree with you guys. Like I said, I will get up in the middle of the night. Alex is in no danger tonight.

I always appreciate when you guys look in on us and help us and thank you :razz:
 
Re: 3/8 Alex PMPS 122,+2~50,+2.5-74

Kathy and Kitty said:
Maybe this dose, maybe next, but do I catch the scent of breatkthrough...??

Ni Ni, Caryl. Be good, Alex.

I said , don't use that word..never. unjinx unjinx. Every time someone uses it about Alex I have a red AMPS the next day. No it's not one. That's why I said in a subject line
"dont use the "b" word :cry:

We still love you Kathy and Kitty ♥♥♥
 
Re: 3/8 Alex PMPS 122,+2~50,+2.5-74,+4~115

well well well.

alex has some work to do over the next few days to convince me he has earned his dosecrease :lol: but I will acquiesce to the awesome numbers for safety purposes... great action and I'm really happy to see this since I didn't even see it coming, and I usually can see em LOL. reduce in the morning .25u and let's see if he earned it. :) might take a couple cycles for him to regain his footing but i'm highly encouraged! now we're off the fast track dosecreases!

Caryl, good jump in with the hc.. to everyone else, caryl has instrux to hc anything under 80 which is high for a normal cat but i'm trying to help him through liver school a little lol
 
Re: 3/8 Alex PMPS 122,+2~50,+2.5-74,+4~115

Carolyn and Spot said:
well well well.

alex has some work to do over the next few days to convince me he has earned his dosecrease :lol: but I will acquiesce to the awesome numbers for safety purposes... great action and I'm really happy to see this since I didn't even see it coming, and I usually can see em LOL. reduce in the morning .25u and let's see if he earned it. :) might take a couple cycles for him to regain his footing but i'm highly encouraged! now we're off the fast track dosecreases!

Caryl, good jump in with the hc.. to everyone else, caryl has instrux to hc anything under 80 which is high for a normal cat but i'm trying to help him through liver school a little lol

okie dokie over & out :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top