Dandelion
Member Since 2015
Yesterday
I got my buddy home this morning and he’s doing much better.
. Gotta love fluids and I’ll be talking to my vet about THAT topic tomorrow.
Last night at shot time - 7PM - his BG was 197 on their AT2 and he was on a sugary drip. I’m thinking .. not bad for a preshot. They kicked me out because it was time to do rounds. I was told early this morning that they didn’t give him insulin until 8PM .. ..1 hour delay plus dose reduction to 1 unit... and he’d been on dextrose. Oohhhh myyyyy. They removed the dextrose at 8PM but he spent the night in the 600s. Yeesh. He was given ondanestron and every 4 hours he ate - baby food which is a spiker for him, and 1 can of FF pate. At 7AM his bg was 670 on their AT2. Ouch.
At first I was reluctant to remove him from a controlled setting worried this time about hyperglycemia, and again nausea, lasting til who knows when from a big dose reduction and drained depot, 2 one-hour-late insulin shots, time change, a nadir in the 600s, and his regular vet doesn’t get to work until tomorrow afternoon. I spoke with the attending vet about my concerns re hyperglycemia and somewhere in there she said he wouldn’t hit 300 today on 1 unit, and also wants him on 1 unit until I make contact with his regular vet.
I’m like for 30+ more hours he could be this elevated?
I asked to see him, inspected him and decided to bring him home.
When I got home @+1.5 his human meter had him at 398. I thought, “oh we’ve got this.” His last BG was 177 and on the AT2, contrary to what the vet said about not going under 300, it was 277. That was at +5.
He’s eating though not the amounts he used to but that’s fine. He took a stroll around the deck earlier, pooped without issue
, had a sun bath, and is sleeping in his chair now. His bg will probably be high tonight but I’m not expecting the shocker I got this morning. Crossing fingers and staying vigilant.
*I did get the “what tight regulation protocol” question this morning. At that point I decided to bolt with my cat. Appreciate the help, love the fluids for him but.....

I got my buddy home this morning and he’s doing much better.
Last night at shot time - 7PM - his BG was 197 on their AT2 and he was on a sugary drip. I’m thinking .. not bad for a preshot. They kicked me out because it was time to do rounds. I was told early this morning that they didn’t give him insulin until 8PM .. ..1 hour delay plus dose reduction to 1 unit... and he’d been on dextrose. Oohhhh myyyyy. They removed the dextrose at 8PM but he spent the night in the 600s. Yeesh. He was given ondanestron and every 4 hours he ate - baby food which is a spiker for him, and 1 can of FF pate. At 7AM his bg was 670 on their AT2. Ouch.
At first I was reluctant to remove him from a controlled setting worried this time about hyperglycemia, and again nausea, lasting til who knows when from a big dose reduction and drained depot, 2 one-hour-late insulin shots, time change, a nadir in the 600s, and his regular vet doesn’t get to work until tomorrow afternoon. I spoke with the attending vet about my concerns re hyperglycemia and somewhere in there she said he wouldn’t hit 300 today on 1 unit, and also wants him on 1 unit until I make contact with his regular vet.
When I got home @+1.5 his human meter had him at 398. I thought, “oh we’ve got this.” His last BG was 177 and on the AT2, contrary to what the vet said about not going under 300, it was 277. That was at +5.
He’s eating though not the amounts he used to but that’s fine. He took a stroll around the deck earlier, pooped without issue
*I did get the “what tight regulation protocol” question this morning. At that point I decided to bolt with my cat. Appreciate the help, love the fluids for him but.....
