3.8.15 Zoey 358 MEATLOAF POSITION and LESS STABLE Today's DST shoot times: 6:15/6:15.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rose

Member Since 2015
good morning!

moving this morning's AM dose up by 15 minutes to make the adjustment.... 6:15. Tomorrow's a.m. shot will be 6:00 (new DST clock). Should be back to 5:30 times by Wednesday. (Notated for archival so it will help me remember... )

Happy Sunday!

yesterday
 
Zoey is back mostly in a meatloaf position again. Her blood +5 is 208. She's been out in the sun a bit so I've not seen if she's pooed outside, but she is having daily BMs up through yesterday. I've noticed over the last few days that she seems to be getting weaker in her hind legs. Today is very evident that she can't walk as far without resting and she's a little wonky from behind. She's on weekly Complex B injections and I gave her a shot this morning. Maybe it's just because she's at the end of the week with her shot and she needed the one I gave her??

Is there something more that I can do? She has a heating pad that she can move on and off of. Is her being active better or worse? Should I confine her or let her go in the garden like she has been today? Just so much second guessing going on....

I did order her some Zobaline and it should be here on Tuesday. B Complex is what the Vet gave me when I asked for B12. I know it's not the same.

Any pearls of wisdom to throw our way?
 
I like seeing all those low blues you are getting on Zoey's spreadsheet. :cool:

Zobaline is methylcobalamin B12. It's likely that the B12 shots you are getting are cyanocobalamin B12. The methyl B12 in Zobaline should help.
 
@Wendy&Neko -- I read that somewhere about the B12 and it needing it to be methyl B12 which is what prompted me to order the Zobaline. Zoey was doing so much better with the neuropathy and over the past two or three days I just see signs of it creeping back in where it's noticeable and pronounced. Makes me question my faith that she's going to heal herself so your reply has made me worry a little less. Thank you bunches!
 
When someone mentions a cat in a meatloaf position, I tend to wonder about pancreatitis. Have you seen any signs of it? Here's Marje's Primer on Pancreatitis.

Punkin liked to meatloaf as his normal tucked in position, but when he had a round of pancreatitis i could tell the difference between the comfy meatloaf and the "i don't feel good" meatloaf position.
 
by the way, you've got 11 shots at the 2.0 and the lowest numbers you're catching are blue. You could increase by 0.25u. Getting her BGs into green numbers might also help her.

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
@julie & punkin (ga) yes, zoey has been diagnosed with pancreatits. she appears to be feeling better today so hopefully whatever it was that was going on with her has passed. sometimes i wonder if it's not just me looking for something else to be wrong at this point. if she were to sneeze i'd probably overreact and start a whole new worrying process. as far as upping her insulin, i thought i had the syringes with the half slashes (that's what I asked for and the pharmacist said he gave me), but they're not. i will go on a search for syringes with half marks today and plan to increase the dose tomorrow a.m. (3.10.15) thank you for the feedback!
 
We can't get the half unit marked syringes here so what I do is spend quite a bit of time getting a sample syringe ready using coloured water. I then just need to compare the dose I'm drawing to the sample. Keeps it consistent and much faster than trying to start from scratch measuring each dose.
 
Perfect! Thank you for sharing and saving tons of time with that dose hack.
 
@MollynSkooter she seems to be feeling better today. a little more relaxed than she appeared to be yesterday. she just seemed to be tightly tucked in yesterday and not quite as steady as she had been being. today's definitely not as bad and she was given the complex b shot yesterday so i'm sure that is what is helping with the steadiness. it was time for her weekly dose. tomorrow the zobaline should arrive and that will become part of her daily routine. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top