3/8/10 - Bashful - AMPS 220 +3.75 - 26!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Theresa&Bashful

Member Since 2010
3/4 Condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=8128

Hi gang,

Bash is doing well and had great numbers over the weekend - WE LOVES THE GREENIES! :mrgreen: This morning he gave me a run for my money and got his shot an hour late because he made me chase him all over heck and creation (and he's not falling for the "treats" thing anymore..lol). Argh...what a whily cayote he is. Now I have to back up by increments to get him back on schedule...little trouble maker.

WCR: Feeling good and all the P's - enjoyed laying in the sun this weekend. Eating like a little piggy and drinking well. Let's hope he keeps these lovely numbers up. Scares me to shoot low, but he seems to be doing well and keeping things pretty even. Eats on his own whenever he dips low (I've been watching).

Happy Monday...cough cough..

Theresa & Bashful
 
Re: 3/8/10 - Bashful - AMPS 220 +3.75 - 26!! Hypo

Did my pre-bed check at +3.75 and Bash was at 26 - I was concerned because I brought some food in to him and he's eating like he's starved. as soon as I saw the 26, I grabbed some HC and added a tablespoon to his lc. He's eaten most of a can of FF in the last 15 mins...

Am I doing okay? rechecking at 15 mins...ack!
 
Re: 3/8/10 - Bashful - AMPS 220 +3.75 - 26!! Hypo

ps he wasn't exhibiting any symptoms other than the extreme hungries and he was crying a little bit. At first I just thought he was wanting loves. No glassy eyes or staggering

Do I need to add Karo to his food??
 
Re: 3/8/10 - Bashful - AMPS 220 +3.75 - 26!! Hypo

Give him a a couple of teaspoons of straight HC. Re-test in 15 min.

And yes, you're doing great.
 
Re: 3/8/10 - Bashful - AMPS 220 +3.75/26 -+4/41

He ate the tablespoon of HC I gave him 10 mins ago. Now at 41. I'll retest in 15 mins. If he's continuing up, do I need to keep testing every half hour until he's past +6? Or just until he's showing an upward trend is past 50? Also, should I mix in another tsp of HC at any point or only if he's still under 50 in 15-30 mins?

When I went back in my room he was done eating, back up on the bed on the heating blanket and looking at me like, thank's for the snack..what's the hubub? OMG...the boy is giving me a coronary...
 
Re: 3/8/10 - Bashful - AMPS 220 +3.75 - 26!! Hypo

I know. Our guys rarely think it's a big deal! (And it's really not a hypo unless he's symptomatic.)

I would give him at least MC until he's surfing in the 50 or better. At this point, Bash has earned the dose reduction so there's no need to worry. What you need to be attentive to is that his numbers don't bobble -- go up and then drop back down. You want at least 2 consecutive tests with surfing or rising numbers. If Bashful is carb sensitive, MC should be fine but I'd like to see him above the 40s.

Are you able to stay up? If not, give him HC.

Can you get anther check in 15?
 
Re: 3/8/10 - Bashful - AMPS 220 +3.75 - 26!! Hypo

That you need to be attentive to is that his numbers don't bobble -- go up and then drop back down. You want at least 2 consecutive tests with surfing or rising numbers.

Sienne - you mean 2 or more tests where he's continuing to rise? Not just rise and then drop again, correct?

Yes, I'll be staying up to check, at least until he's higher consistently. And if need be I can set alarm to get up later to check more.

I only have HC (shredded meat in gravy) and LC - I can just mix the HC in with LC to get an MC yes? Others have mentioned they do this to have an MC.

Yes, rechecking in 15.

I will post his AMPS in the a.m., and depending on that maybe lower dose by .25?

I took the 911 off since he's going up - off to test again. Will post again in a few mins.
 
Re: 3/8/10 - Bashful - AMPS 220 +3.75 - 26!! Hypo

you mean 2 or more tests where he's continuing to rise? Not just rise and then drop again, correct?

Exactly!

Yes, you can mix LC + HC for MC food. Or, you can add a few drops (literally) of Karo to LC. (The beans with kitties with IBD do this.)

It doesn't look like Bashful has been bouncing, but in case he decides to take a trip to RBC, you have the option of shooting the old dose to shorten the rebound. If his numbers are in the yellows or less, reduce by 0.25 (i.e., shoot 1.75u).

I gotta get to sleep. It sounds like you've got the situation well in hand. Great catch, BTW.
 
Re: 3/8/10 - Bashful - AMPS 220 +3.75 - 26!! Hypo

Thanks Sienne - for being there for me...You're a lifesaver!!

He's at 53 at +4.5, so continuing to rise. I just gave him the mix and he's having another snack (brekkie in bed no less...lol). Oy, what a scare! He's been surfing the greens so nicely I didn't expect a big drop like that.

Will keep testing 15-30 mins for the next while to make sure he's rising or surfing and has no significant drop.

Oh, and as long as I was poking him...he's negative (0.0) for ketones as well.

Thanks so much for the support. You can read that sheet a thousand times and then it happens and panic land! : ) nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top