3/7 Tasha's AMPS 138+3= 71 +6=75 +9=83 (n/s) +12= 92+14=101

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda and Tasha

Active Member
yesterday's condo

AMPS 138
Tasha has started to be very rebellious when getting her bg taken. I wonder if her ears are getting too sore? Any suggestions on that?

Also, can anyone give me an idea what to look for before going OTJ? What kind of numbers and for how long?

I am planing on skipping tonight's shot to get her back on schedule. I cannot reduce it by anymore. It is 0+ now. I had to move her shot later by 2 hours over the past 3 days.
 
Re: 3/7 Tasha's AMPS 138 (eyes please)

hi Linda

for the ears, lots of us use neosprin or (polysporin in Canada) ointment creme, a little dab on each ear during poke breaks, overnite and while your away.

also, alternating ears helps too.

as for the OTJ Q's, others will be along later and hopefully help to answer that.

the thing I see in SS, is that the preshot numbers are bit too high still, plus it would be good to see what Tasha is doing later in the cycle, like +9, +11 in the AM cycle for example.
She does come down to greens after preshot numbers, would you be able to get a +9 this afternoon?

when I was on this dose, it did take a long time (it seemed) to get Luna's blue preshot numbers to work their way down to green preshots, but eventually they did..and every kitty is different and each takes their own time. Food had a big role in that and timing, but I know Tasha is a picky eater of sorts. Hence, ECID (every cat is different)

hang in there, hopefully you get some other suggestions and feedback thru the day.

have a good day Linda!
 
Re: 3/7 Tasha's AMPS 138 (eyes please)+3=71

Thanks Luna.
I have been trying to give her poor ears a rest, so I have been only taking bg where I have been concerned of the outcome and where I can make a difference by using food. Those +2 and +3s in the 50s are after eating . Sometimes only a half hour to an hour before. I am pretty sure if she didn't eat I would be getting 30s and 40s again. Last night after her PMPS I gave her a slightly higher carb food then she is used to because I was concerned about the 100 PMPS and her dumping at the +2 or +3.
 
Re: 3/7 Tasha's AMPS 138 (eyes please)+3= 71 +6=75

Linda,

There are several clues that can help us determine when a cat may be ready to begin an OTJ trial. One would be dropping too low on the smallest dose (usually under 50, depending on the cat). Another is by being in the normal range (which is basically under 100, with some numbers in the 100-120 range being ok) pretty much 24/7 for at least 7 days. A final clue, which is less clear-cut, is when the cat displays inverted curves (curves that are frequently higher at mid-cycle than at preshot, except in cats who are usually late nadir cats), that can indicate that the cat is over dose.

I don't see those signs on Tasha's spreadsheet yet. While some cats can have a successful OTJ trial starting from numbers like these, ideally we'll wait until the preshot values come down. The reason Ronnie is mentioning +9 is that very often when a cat's spreadsheet looks like Tasha's, we are able to help bring that reading down by feeding a small meal about 3 hours prior to the reading. Why does that work? When a cat is getting ready to go off insulin, their pancreas is usually "sputtering." It is working some of the time, but not all the time. A little bit of food will usually stimulate the pancreas to turn back on, and the cat will release its own insulin and bring the number down (which is nice because the injected insulin is not very strong that late in the cycle). If you test at +9, feed a small meal, then test again at +12, if the +12 reading is lower than the +9 you can be almost positive that was the cat's pancreas that made that happen, not the Lantus.

Does that make sense?
 
Re: 3/7 Tasha's AMPS 138+3= 71 +6=75 +9=83 (n/s) +12= 92

PMBG 92 no shot tonight so I can back on schedule tomorrow morning. Hope she doesn't go high
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top