3/7 Rupert PMPS 437,+2 284,+3.5,194,+4.5, 178,+7.5,136

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/7 Rupert AMPS 482

Come on down Rupert! Good news that he is feeling good and looks good. The numbers will come, but that just shows you that progress is being made. Have a great day!!
 
Re: 3/7 Rupert AMPS 482

Rupert Rupert, what're you doing up there? Yes, you're handsome in red, but yellow looks better with your beautiful black hair. :-D

Good Morning Pip. Oh Lordy, how I hate those high bounces. I hope he comes down soon, but not too fast. :-D
 
Re: 3/7 Rupert AMPS 482

HIs right eye is really bloody/weepy this morning.. other than that he seems fine. I just wonder how long we leave him in the red? I'm sure it's a common question and I know everyone says bounces can take u to 72 hours to clear.. just wish there was a way I could knock him off his perch up there a little quicker!!! Vet appt for 10am Saturday morning now.
 
Re: 3/7 Rupert AMPS 482

This is the 5th cycle of his bounce. I hope he clears today, or surely tomorrow. I know how you feel about these high bounces. It just seems so wrong.
 
Re: 3/7 Rupert AMPS 482

Hi guys .. I also hope rupert clears these reds soon .. but not a fast drop, ok rupert? Hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 3/7 Rupert AMPS 482,+2-437

no fast drop today, +2 and 437, so an average of 22.5 pts per hour. Not too stressed, felt better after seeing Julies lovely kitties and knowing how high their numbers can be.. they seem so healthy and happy. And Rupert seems quite happy today. So, like they say when people watch their weight, it's not the number that counts I guess!. Still, if he stays red all day today I'll be seeking dose advice this evening, because he can't stay like this forever!

Sun is shining, it's just above freezing, but it's DRY (unusual for us!). I even managed to ride in my ring last night and Harvey was lovely, improved my mood. Show season is fast approaching (first show April 1). End of April I am supposed to compete on the mainland at a qualifying show.... means two days away... I'm hoping we can get Rupert in a better place by then.. but I think I"m learning that the dose of 1.5 won't kill him, and so I'm thinking the theory would be to possibly drop the dose a teensy smidge whilst we are away since she won't be monitoring BG levels (I don't think.. she is an ex nurse and used to have a diabetic cat so I don't know, this will be the first time we use her so I guess I'll find out.). Would be interested in hearing what other people do when they have to go away??

off to work. hope everyone has a great day. ttyl
 
Re: 3/7 Rupert AMPS 482,+2-437

So.. how does one tell whether the numbers are a bounce or simply a sign that his body needs more insulin??
 
Re: 3/7 Rupert AMPS 482,+2-437, bounce and cat sitting quest

Hi Pip,

For cat sitting, many people have the cat sitter come over ahead of time and teach them how to test. The dose is usually reduced for safety....many cats don't eat as well as they usually do when the caregiver is away, so that is one consideration. What is usually suggested is to post a day or so ahead of when you are leaving for a dose suggestion....Rupert's dose may be dramatically different by then, and the recommendation is made based on current data as well as the monitoring circumstances.

As far as knowing the difference between a bounce and just too little insulin...bounces usually clear within 6 cycles. For Rupert, this is the 3rd cycle of his current bounce. You want to wait for 6 cycles for the bounce to clear before evaluating the dose.
 
Re: 3/7 Rupert AMPS 482,+2-437, bounce and cat sitting quest

I use a cat sitter when I travel. She's a vet tech so there wasn't any issue with teaching her how to test or shoot. Gabby, however, will not allow her to test. My darling diva starts to growl if anyone except me even attempts to pick her up let alone approach her with a sharp object. I drop Gabby's dose a fair amount because she won't let my petsitter test and because she will not always eat well. You can look on her SS to see what I do. (The times I'm away are in gray.)

I used to leave a sample syringe. I would set the dose and use a colored liquid so my petsitter could actually see the liquid. I also leave copious instructions.
 
Re: 3/7 Rupert AMPS 482,+2-437, bounce and cat sitting quest

ooh. what a GREAT idea about the 'sample syringe'! ! thanx for the info.
 
Re: 3/7 Rupert AMPS 482,+2-437,+6, 469

+6, 469. he's never been this high for this long.
Having a hard time staying calm.

Hubby called, he's back down island, at work, but has to go BACK up island again tonight and back out on the sub.. another 24 hour shift. he's exhausted and on the verge of a nervous breakdown and I can't be there to help him out. He's been taking anti depressants since his horse died, and now that he's just so overly tired he's falling apart. He'll do his job, and he'll do it well (that's the problem, HE's the only one that they want or request to do fix this stuff)... but he's going to fall completely apart when he gets back. I really hope I have SOME good news for him re Rupert. right now, everything seems to be going backwards. Hate to hear him so so so shattered when he calls me.
 
Re: 3/7 Rupert AMPS 482,+2-437,+6, 469

Pip, I feel so bad for you. You have your own grief over the loss of Gee, and have to try to help your hubby with his also.
Plus taking care of Rupert's needs.
It's hard to believe that these awful red numbers can be bounces, I know....oh how I know. Waiting to see if and when they will come down is torture. I've said many times on here, how I stood in my kitchen and just wailed from the pain of seeing Checks in the 400's and 500's....just a couple weeks ago.
He got through it though, and is happy and playful and mischievous, just the same.

He happens to have a bad disk in his spine, that causes him pain, but that's not the fault of the high numbers.

I wish I could say something that would make you feel better. Hang in there.

Others who know about dosing, will come along with advice.
 
Re: 3/7 Rupert AMPS 482,+2-437,+6, 469

thanx Barb! you are a sweetie. I'm just whining, I know. I have so many wonderful things to be happy about. Just stressing because hubby is so vulnerable at the moment and is so so so very sad, I don't know if he'll ever truly recover. Thanx for your kind words. It will be okay, I just hadn't realized how much Rupert's numbers affected my mood from second to second. Hate being this darned vulnerable and wimpy.

Seems like your boy is loving the Lev. I'm hoping vet finds something, infection or something, with Rupert on Saturday that would perhaps make sense of this all.. although I know when I told her I'd reduced his dose to 1.5 units she was all 'oh? why? really...?' in a semi accusatory fashion. I might just lie to her and tell her he's been on a higher dose and his numbers are still bad, just to get her to actually LOOK for a reason rather than settling for the old 'well his dose is too low, up it, reasoning'. sigh. Difficult!

Right now he's sitting on the windowsill, quite alert and happy and looking at the birds and stuff going on outside. He's been for his lunchtime pee, had a small snack of Ocean breeze andloks just fine, although possibly a tad dehydrated.... his eye is running again too, although clear this time. Will make sure his water bowl is full and nearby, and head back to work. Hopefully he'll surprise me PMPS but I'm betting it will be red again, if not black by then.
 
Re: 3/7 Rupert AMPS 482,+2-437,+6, 469

I too wish I had more to offer than just cute pics, Pip...
but sending our virtual support and this hug to you and Stuart...

celi & binks

these_funny_animals_887_640_08-thumbnail2.jpg
 
Re: 3/7 Rupert AMPS 482,+2-437,+6, 469

(((((Pip))))) This is really hard and we all understand what you're going through. These bounces are just awful to wait out. They do get better, it just takes some time. You are definitely helping Rupert by giving him insulin. You can tell DH that we understand his pain because we all care so very much about our babies and we know what it's like to lose them.
Liz
 
Re: 3/7 Rupert AMPS 482,+2-437,+6, 469

Hi Pip and Rupert,
I have confidence that you will get through this and that things will get on track soon. I am very sorry that it is all coming down on your head. It looks like Rupert is in the 3rd cycle of the present bounce (the one that started at AMPS on 6 March). But the preceding bounce (5 March, AMPS) had barely cleared before the new one started. It also looks like you are on Day 31 of your Lantus vial/pen/cartridge. The manufacturer states that Lantus should be discarded after 28 days. Most of us use our insulin much longer, but some kitties are very sensitive and really need to start a new vial/pen/cartridge after 28 days (Devon's Mocha is an example, and I believe that Sienne's Gabby is also). Perhaps you ought to start a new pen tomorrow at AMPS and shoot your normal amount? If you do this, be sure to mark it in your spreadsheet.

It is good that you will take Rupert to the vet for his eye condition. An infection can elevate blood glucose. Don't worry about the vet and her insistence on upping the dose. Just nod, smile, and continue to follow the protocol. The vet may be right that Rupert needs more juice, but the protocol says that doses must be worked up to gradually and safely, not raised as a panic reaction to high numbers that are probably attributable to bouncing.

I sincerely hope that your DH will be able to come to grips with his grief and that Rupert will help him out.

Hugs to you all,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/7 Rupert AMPS 482,+2-437,+6, 469, PMPS 437

Thank you EVERYONE. I can't believe how many kind and wonderful people are here. It really helps.

PMPS is 437. so a pretty level day for Rupert (hey, trying to find the bright side!). will stick to the protocol and dose 1.5 tonight, but honestly guys.. I shall be a wreck tomorrow if we don't start seeing some action here! the only reason it came down a smidge since +6 is that he hasn't had anything to eat this afternoon.

Also. had a DOH! moment.. realized I'd got Surf N Turf and Ocean Breeze mixed up. Turns out the Ocean breeze is 8% carbs, the Surf N Turf is only 3. gack.
so I took the rest of the OB back and traded it in, got a few Surf N turf, but also got a flat of the Innova/Evo 95% Chicken&Turkey which is supposelyd 0% carbs. Hopefully that will help. I DO worry though because according to J&B's chart it says that it is 71% fat and only 29% protein... wondering if it's high enough in protein, and worrying about potential weight gain with that high fat level. Thoughts?? I have stocked up, so I have Friskies Ocean Whitefish Pate, Merrick Surfnturf, and the Evo, with a couple of cans of fancy feast gravy stuff for hypo emergencies. Think I"ll keep Rupie exclusively on the Evo for the next while unless everyone thinks that's the wrong thing? Vet is always concerned that he should lose weight.. he dropped a bunch when he was first diagnosed, and now has come back up to about 6.9kg (about 13lbs). He was way too thin before.. he is a BIG boy and we never really felt he was overweight in the first place, but she, of course, is convinced that's why he became diabetic. I , on the other hand, think it was the diet of Royal Canin dry for years that did it. Hopefully the switch to the low carb food will benefit the other four cats as well...

so any thoughts on the high fat that seems to be associated with the high protein foods????
 
Re: 3/7 Rupert AMPS 482,6, 469, PMPS 437, food question...

I wouldn't worry overly much about the protein and fat. If you're concerned about Rupert's weight, I'd be more attentive to the calories. If you can get Merrick Before the Grain foods, they are low carb and low in calories.

To be honest, it's probably better that you traded in the fishy food. Feeding fish regularly isn't all that great, especially for boy cats -- they have screwy plumbing!
 
Re: 3/7 Rupert AMPS 482,6, 469, PMPS 437, food question...

oh, and I forgot to answer about the age of the Lantus. this vial was opened on Feb 11,(I'll update the SS) so technically we have a few more days to go. I got the vet to change the scrip so we can get the pen cartridges next time. It's killer throwing away a 3/4 full vial that cost $75!!! Maybe I'll pick up the new ones tomorrow anyway, if we don't see any action on the numbers tonight!
 
Re: 3/7 Rupert AMPS 482,6, 469, PMPS 437, +2, 284

PM +2... and we finally have YELLOW again. phew. thank you Rupert. Let hope this is the bounce finally clearing. He is very thirsty, but alert. Was cat(2)_steam that he got poked, but was good about it. Made sure he had a bit of a snack at +1, now he's gone outside for a pee and to sulk, no doubt! He'll be back in soon. The woodstove is cranked up and it's chilly outside!
 
Re: 3/7 Rupert AMPS 482,6, 469, PMPS 437, +2, 284,+3.5, 194

Not content to own JUST the 'High Score of the Day' Crown, Rupie contiues to pursue the all around title by going after the Diving achievement medal as well! doh!

could something as simple as switching from the 8% to the 0% carb food make THAT much difference in such a short time (he just started on the 0% at this evenings PMPostS feedings????

I will attempt to get another test at +4, was hoping to get to bed early tonight but Rupie has other plans. Not that I begrudge them at all! Hopefully he surfs this blue for the rest of the evening.
 
Re: 3/7 Rupert PMPS 437, +2, 284,+3.5, 194, +4.5, 178

+4.5, down to 178, so only 16 points in the last hour vs the 90pt drop prior to that. phew! hopefully he doesn't bounce from this.....
 
Re: 3/7 Rupert PMPS 437, +2, 284,+3.5, 194, +4.5, 178

+7.5 and he's cruising at 136.. can't believe I"m up at 2:30am?! have given him a little to eat . He's happy. I"m going btb!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top