Re: 3/7 Rupert AMPS 482,+2-437,+6, 469, PMPS 437
Thank you EVERYONE. I can't believe how many kind and wonderful people are here. It really helps.
PMPS is 437. so a pretty level day for Rupert (hey, trying to find the bright side!). will stick to the protocol and dose 1.5 tonight, but honestly guys.. I shall be a wreck tomorrow if we don't start seeing some action here! the only reason it came down a smidge since +6 is that he hasn't had anything to eat this afternoon.
Also. had a DOH! moment.. realized I'd got Surf N Turf and Ocean Breeze mixed up. Turns out the Ocean breeze is 8% carbs, the Surf N Turf is only 3. gack.
so I took the rest of the OB back and traded it in, got a few Surf N turf, but also got a flat of the Innova/Evo 95% Chicken&Turkey which is supposelyd 0% carbs. Hopefully that will help. I DO worry though because according to J&B's chart it says that it is 71% fat and only 29% protein... wondering if it's high enough in protein, and worrying about potential weight gain with that high fat level. Thoughts?? I have stocked up, so I have Friskies Ocean Whitefish Pate, Merrick Surfnturf, and the Evo, with a couple of cans of fancy feast gravy stuff for hypo emergencies. Think I"ll keep Rupie exclusively on the Evo for the next while unless everyone thinks that's the wrong thing? Vet is always concerned that he should lose weight.. he dropped a bunch when he was first diagnosed, and now has come back up to about 6.9kg (about 13lbs). He was way too thin before.. he is a BIG boy and we never really felt he was overweight in the first place, but she, of course, is convinced that's why he became diabetic. I , on the other hand, think it was the diet of Royal Canin dry for years that did it. Hopefully the switch to the low carb food will benefit the other four cats as well...
so any thoughts on the high fat that seems to be associated with the high protein foods????