Chris S
Member Since 2020
Hi
question for Winston and harley
Winston-he has been coming in a few times in the blue pre shot -yay.
Today we still gave 1u am and by late in the day we got our FIRST green number.
for PMPS-came in 161. Gave .25 and a small snack. Have had a few under 200 and monitored. Vet agreed we leave the dose at 1 and monitor more when pred fully out in a week. Fingers crossed soon he might not need the juice. Was tonight PMPS the right dose/right idea? I felt if he was under 150 we would skip but he managed when we gave at 120-he never got into green that day.
Harley-she just can’t get green... had a few blues. A few more yellows. A lot of pink red and black ... so we were told to go from 2.5 to 3. Tonight we went to 2.75 (she was in the yellow tonight). Since she has been running high for a while, should we go right to 3? Or keep at 2.75?
two kitties -if you haven’t read our welcome or recent posts in the main board, here’s a brief rundown:
diagnosed recently
both are SLGS
Limited dry dr elesy clean protein chicken shared amongst 9 cats. 2-3 cups a 24 hour period usually.
Ff classics wet for everyone
lantus for both
AT meter for first few days home testing as noted in ss and now using Relion Prime. In notes column are any recent AT readings when at vet after the grey AT notes from initial monitoring earlier this week.
Winston 16 years old -cancer of unknown origin a year ago (although that is still not 100% confirmed-we excluded further testing) and was on pred 1 tab daily for a year. Recent diagnosis after GI issues led us to vet. Pred reduction to remove -on final step-1/4 tab every other -3 more doses and done. Staying 1u for now. Husband learned how to start home testing today (cause my tutorials weren’t enough lol).
Harley-weight loss brought her in. 11 years old. Just can’t seem to get her numbers out of those pinks and yellows yet. Tonight we did increase to 2.75. She gained .5 lbs so in 3 weeks we are up 1.5 lbs thank goodness (she was down to 7 .5 lbs and is back to 9 lbs from a high of 15lbs). What else can we do for her? Just patience? How much damage is being done to her for how long this is or might take to regulate?
Thanks.
question for Winston and harley
Winston-he has been coming in a few times in the blue pre shot -yay.
Today we still gave 1u am and by late in the day we got our FIRST green number.
for PMPS-came in 161. Gave .25 and a small snack. Have had a few under 200 and monitored. Vet agreed we leave the dose at 1 and monitor more when pred fully out in a week. Fingers crossed soon he might not need the juice. Was tonight PMPS the right dose/right idea? I felt if he was under 150 we would skip but he managed when we gave at 120-he never got into green that day.
Harley-she just can’t get green... had a few blues. A few more yellows. A lot of pink red and black ... so we were told to go from 2.5 to 3. Tonight we went to 2.75 (she was in the yellow tonight). Since she has been running high for a while, should we go right to 3? Or keep at 2.75?
two kitties -if you haven’t read our welcome or recent posts in the main board, here’s a brief rundown:
diagnosed recently
both are SLGS
Limited dry dr elesy clean protein chicken shared amongst 9 cats. 2-3 cups a 24 hour period usually.
Ff classics wet for everyone
lantus for both
AT meter for first few days home testing as noted in ss and now using Relion Prime. In notes column are any recent AT readings when at vet after the grey AT notes from initial monitoring earlier this week.
Winston 16 years old -cancer of unknown origin a year ago (although that is still not 100% confirmed-we excluded further testing) and was on pred 1 tab daily for a year. Recent diagnosis after GI issues led us to vet. Pred reduction to remove -on final step-1/4 tab every other -3 more doses and done. Staying 1u for now. Husband learned how to start home testing today (cause my tutorials weren’t enough lol).
Harley-weight loss brought her in. 11 years old. Just can’t seem to get her numbers out of those pinks and yellows yet. Tonight we did increase to 2.75. She gained .5 lbs so in 3 weeks we are up 1.5 lbs thank goodness (she was down to 7 .5 lbs and is back to 9 lbs from a high of 15lbs). What else can we do for her? Just patience? How much damage is being done to her for how long this is or might take to regulate?
Thanks.


