3/7 pm 2 sugar kitties 371 and 146 amps, 295 and 161 pmps dosing question

Chris S

Member Since 2020
Hi

question for Winston and harley

Winston-he has been coming in a few times in the blue pre shot -yay.

Today we still gave 1u am and by late in the day we got our FIRST green number.
for PMPS-came in 161. Gave .25 and a small snack. Have had a few under 200 and monitored. Vet agreed we leave the dose at 1 and monitor more when pred fully out in a week. Fingers crossed soon he might not need the juice. Was tonight PMPS the right dose/right idea? I felt if he was under 150 we would skip but he managed when we gave at 120-he never got into green that day.

Harley-she just can’t get green... had a few blues. A few more yellows. A lot of pink red and black ... so we were told to go from 2.5 to 3. Tonight we went to 2.75 (she was in the yellow tonight). Since she has been running high for a while, should we go right to 3? Or keep at 2.75?

two kitties -if you haven’t read our welcome or recent posts in the main board, here’s a brief rundown:

diagnosed recently

both are SLGS

Limited dry dr elesy clean protein chicken shared amongst 9 cats. 2-3 cups a 24 hour period usually.
Ff classics wet for everyone

lantus for both

AT meter for first few days home testing as noted in ss and now using Relion Prime. In notes column are any recent AT readings when at vet after the grey AT notes from initial monitoring earlier this week.

Winston 16 years old -cancer of unknown origin a year ago (although that is still not 100% confirmed-we excluded further testing) and was on pred 1 tab daily for a year. Recent diagnosis after GI issues led us to vet. Pred reduction to remove -on final step-1/4 tab every other -3 more doses and done. Staying 1u for now. Husband learned how to start home testing today (cause my tutorials weren’t enough lol).

Harley-weight loss brought her in. 11 years old. Just can’t seem to get her numbers out of those pinks and yellows yet. Tonight we did increase to 2.75. She gained .5 lbs so in 3 weeks we are up 1.5 lbs thank goodness (she was down to 7 .5 lbs and is back to 9 lbs from a high of 15lbs). What else can we do for her? Just patience? How much damage is being done to her for how long this is or might take to regulate?

Thanks.
 
Hi Chris,
No advice for you I'm afraid, but bumping your post up. It *might* be easier (once somebody brilliant comes on board . . . that's not me! LOL) to post the two cats in two different threads? I'm not sure . . .

I hope someone can help you out!
Hang in there :)
Darcy
 
Hello and Welcome! We have a current member @Briere Fur Mom who had two - note the word 'had'. One of her boys went into remission and the other is still a work in progress.

She had one condo with two spreadsheets that she used to keep us all up to date and informed on the goings on with those two boys of hers.

I'm sure she will be along soon and can offer you many words of wisdom!

Your spreadsheets are looking excellent! You will want to start a new condo/thread aka post to this forum today. You can set it up like this
3/8 Harley AMPS ### / AMPS ### - ? if you have a question ...and then continue with copying/pasting the url from this post into your new one for continuity.

I'll look for your new post! :bighug:
 
Welcome!!!! I can't wait to see the progress of your 2 sweet ones!!! You are in the right place. The FDMB rocks!!!!:woot:

Wow, you certainly have your hands full with 2 sweet ones! Not to mention the 7 civvies(other cats in the house)! OMGoodness your household sounds a lot like mine. I have 12 kitties, 2 are diabetic. Of the 2 diabetics, one of them(Ittle) went into remission w/i 3 months of diagnosis. Ittle, imo, is a steroid induced diabetic. He was on ear meds that contained steroids. He became diabetic shortly thereafter. Ittle went OTJ(off the juice-remission) swiftly. Moey, my other diabetic, is currently on insulin. He's been diabetic for 6 years now. Paws crossed he'll reach remission one day but, I'm happy that he's well regulated. If it's good enough for the ole' fur pants Moey...it's good enough for me. He's in the driver's seat, I'm just the passenger!:rolleyes:

Any questions you have, fire away. The more you ask, the more you learn. I don't want to write a book on your thread so, any concerns or things you think I can help you with, feel free to tag me anytime. I will help you w/i my ability. If I can't help you, I'll try to find someone who can. Dealing with 2 sweet ones can be challenging to say the least. You've got this!!! You have a lot of support on this forum. I couldn't have managed my boys without the help of these wonderful folks!
I'll link an example of one of my threads, which shows how I used to write my condos(when I had 2 sweet ones to post about). This is what Sue's talking about when setting up your condo(title) for your thread. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...y-amps-329-3-342-6-315-9-282-pmps-283.219714/ I think that's my very first thread with a huuuge condo(title). You will run out of room trying to post #s for both kitties in the condo. Thank goodness you can edit that darn condo as many times as you'd like:p Anywho, I'll keep rambling with random things that pop into my head so, it's better if you ask questions. Otherwise your thread's gonna turn into rambling thoughts of a coffee deprived person LOLo_O:facepalm:

Again I'm looking forward to seeing your condos. I hope you can post daily. It's lovely watching progress:D:cool: Have a most beautiful day Chris!!!
 
You can condense those SS links in your signature. It helps by adding space in your signature so, you can include more info about your kitties. Just gives you more room basically. For example you see Moey's SS and Ittle's SS highlighted blue in my signature. I ran into the same problem when first joining the forum. I couldn't include any info about my boys because the darn SS links took up sooooo much space. So, I learned to condense and link the SS url into their names. Space saver!!!

Go to your name tab at the top right hand side of the screen. Open your signature.
Highlight one of your kitty's SS's links. Right click and cut. In the place of where the SS link used to be, you can write the name of the kitty and SS. Example: Winston's SS. Now, highlight the kitty's name you typed and go to the menu at the top left hand corner of the box your typing in. There's an icon that looks like a chain link. It's the first icon. Click on it and it opens a box that will allow you to paste that SS url that you cut. Click the empty space, then right click and paste. The url should appear. Click insert and there you have it. Rinse and repeat for your other kitty.
I hope that made sense:)

ETA: Be sure to click save changes
 
Chris --

Is it possible for you to get tests during the PM cycle? Many cats drop into lower numbers at night. Without the PM information, you're missing half of your data. There's also no way to know if you should have raised Harley's dose by 0.5u. (Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, not the pre-shot numbers.)

There are two options with respect to dosing strategy -- Tight Regulation (TR) and Start Low Go Slow (SLGS). The guidelines are described in this post on dosing methods. Just as an FYI, with SLGS the dose increase is always 0.25u. There is an option to increase by a larger amount with TR but the majority of nadirs need to be more than 300. With either method, you hold the dose for more than 1 cycle (a minimum of 6 cycles/3 days with TR and a week with SLGS). I'm not sure who encouraged you to increase Harley's dose so quickly and by as much as you did but it wasn't consistent with any of the dosing methods that are used here. The bottom line is to keep an eye on Harley's numbers so you don't get caught by a surprise drop in numbers.
 
Back
Top