3/7: Pablo's AMPS 263, +6 192, +7.5 341

Status
Not open for further replies.

Holly and Pablo

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

WCR: Lazy bum stayed in bed until 9:30 after eating breakfast! And he was sleeping less than a foot away from my other cat, who he usually hates! Maybe he was cold and desperate since I didn't go btb. :lol:

So Carolyn put the skids on R usage (though I did give him a drop this morning which resulted in him going to opposite direction from what I wanted). She says that since he sometimes gets blue on just plain ol' Lantus, increase by 0.5 units every 6 cycles until I see better numbers. I'm fine with that. I really don't want to make more work for myself if it isn't needed! So I'm upping to 6.5 units tonight, and hoping for blues!

On a side note, I've already been pricing flights from SC to CO. Man, I wish I could afford first class! But at $1,200 round trip, I just can't see spending that extra money to be a little more comfortable for a few hours. Though my chunky behind would appreciate the extra space, Pablo's chunky behind could use the money more! ;-)
 
Re: 3/7: Pablo's AMPS 263

Yes, I did kill the R idea LOL
An aggressive plan is important as far as basal insulin with acrocats, and while many of us use R, there are kitties that just need more basal increasing. Let's give him a little more time and see if he can do it without R. I think you can probably start increasing at 1/2u increments at a time to get rid of these trips to pink, at least for a little while. We need to get rid of them before actual resistance shows up. So.. 6 total doses of this and then up 1/2u or...To be quite honest, I was itching to send you to 6.5u this morning and then to 7u after 6 doses of 6.5u. If you wanna play, let's play. ;-) I know the Protocol People will hang us by our toes :lol: but you've got room.
 
Re: 3/7: Pablo's AMPS 263, +6 192!

Niiiice. A blue at +6! I'm holding off on feeding a snack until +7 in case he drops a bit more. On some days, I've noticed his nadir is not exactly at +6. He's begging for food right now, poor guy!

And Carolyn...bring it on! I'm all for increases of 0.5 if his acro diagnosis will keep me out of trouble with the protocol people! :smile:
 
Re: 3/7: Pablo's AMPS 263

Carolyn and Spot said:
LOL give the poor boy a snack. No starving the acro kitties for nice numbers :P

Oh great! Now he has something to hold over my head whenever he demands a snack! "Buuut, but...I'm an acro cat! I needs to eat more, Mommy! I swears it won't all go to my hips!"

But considering that he almost broke a leg to get to my chicken sandwich, I guess I'll end the torture and give him some freeze-dried chicken snacks. :roll:
 
Re: 3/7: Pablo's AMPS 263

Handy tip. I go through dried chicken treats like water around here. I gave up and started buying rotisserie chickens when I had not one but two acrocats in my house at the same time. I was babysitting one LOL I like that much better. The chicken is filling, you can afford to give them more of it, they love it and it's cheap! They can't have the skin though, so keep that away from them.
 
Re: 3/7: Pablo's AMPS 263, +6 192

I am actually going to start feeding him raw (Dr. Lisa's recipe) within the next few weeks. He food spikes like crazy, even with LC FF, so I hate feeding him that mid-cycle FF snack because it messes up the rest of the cycle. Not to mention he really doesn't need to gain anymore weight!

What I've been doing is feeding him plain cooked chicken in between meals. I got chicken legs to cook today, in fact. I freeze the cooked chicken in individually-wrapped bags as well as broth cubes that melt in the feeder during the day. He doesn't spike that way.

Is raw appropriate for acros? And along that same line, what is different about the nutrition requirements for acros vs. regular diabetics? Pablo would eat all day long if I let him! As it stands now, he knows he gets food every 6 hours and comes to demand it exactly on time! It's funny because he will come and sit on my arms between me and my laptop when it's lunch time!
 
Re: 3/7: Pablo's AMPS 263, +6 192

I just make sure he has food that's nutritious and not full of crap LOL. I don't know anything about differing nutritional requirements and I think raw will be absolutely fine for Pablo -- I would feed raw to Leo if I had a job. Food spikes are not an issue to me with Leo after over a year. I aim for kitty feeling good now that his resistance is broken and he's got fairly flat cycles. :smile:
 
Re: 3/7: Pablo's AMPS 263, +6 192

Holy moly, +7.5 is 341! So much for not causing a food spike...150pts in response to 5 freeze-dried chicken treats? Really?
 
Nope. Relion Ultima. It's a brand new one I just opened last night after my first one died before PMPS yesterday. I just recalibrated it and called to request control solution too, since I don't have any. I have no idea what that big jump was about.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top