? 3/7 new low of 222 PMPS, safe to shoot same dosage of 4?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good job for shooting!!

We usually say that if you get a PS under 150, to Stall, don't feed and post for help

As you learn more about how Raja responds to both food and insulin, that "no shot" limit will come down even more
 
On this forum, we suggest that when you first get a reading below 150, that you stall (not feed) and post like you did. Sorry no one got back to you, but you did the right thing. Over 150 however, you are generally OK to shoot.

And thank goodness for yellow! That's great progress today :) It means your next increase will be to 4.25 units. And if you don't see anything below 200 tonight, I think you can go to 4.25 units tomorrow.
 
Thank you. I will be observing his food and insulin relationship. Also was thinking of keeping the dose of 4 another 3 cycles based upon regulation. As this is his first time seeing yellow ?

"Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
  • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing."
 
I was referring to this part of the protocol:
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

Although Raja is new to yellow, he is not not seeing any blue numbers (yet). The part ot the protocol you references was for kitties seeing number under 200 (blues). His nadirs are currently great than 200 but less than 300.
 
ah...the dreaded .25 increase
I will have to try my best with the syringe I have. Just dont feel confident that I can repeat .25 increments accurately
 
Just dont feel confident that I can repeat .25 increments accurately
Once you decide where the .25 mark is, just try for that spot for that every time. As Wendy recommended, filling a syringe with colored liquid to compare it to each time will help with the consistency. Absolute accuracy isn't as important as consistency.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top