3/7 Minner AMPS 113 +4 64 PMPS 98 +4 56

MinnerPip

Active Member
Prior Post

Happy time change weekend!

Minner is at 6.75U and her numbers are inching down again. Hitting nadirs in 50s again (which I still don’t like although I have gotten better about not freaking out). The concern is more about PS numbers. Usually when she has lower PS numbers she has lower nadirs. She had a PS of 62 earlier this week and I could not convince myself to shoot that. Fed and got it up and shot 30min later. Other concern is having to feed her hourly, not sustainable.

I may shave her down in the AM. From 6.75 to 6.625.

Side note: She will eat weruva goldie lox. It’s a Christmas miracle. I am going to order sampler box of their classic pates.
 
Prior Post

Happy time change weekend!

Minner is at 6.75U and her numbers are inching down again. Hitting nadirs in 50s again (which I still don’t like although I have gotten better about not freaking out). The concern is more about PS numbers. Usually when she has lower PS numbers she has lower nadirs. She had a PS of 62 earlier this week and I could not convince myself to shoot that. Fed and got it up and shot 30min later. Other concern is having to feed her hourly, not sustainable.

I may shave her down in the AM. From 6.75 to 6.625.

Side note: She will eat weruva goldie lox. It’s a Christmas miracle. I am going to order sampler box of their classic pates.

Oh, my...feeding hourly is not sustainable at night. I don't know how you do it. For a few weeks, Jude was nose-diving at night, and I was doing the schedule that it looks like you keep all the time, and that was not sustainable for me. I ended up with a corneal erosion because my normally dry eyes (I have dry eye disease), that recover somewhat with sleep, were not getting enough recovery time. I need my vision, so that schedule is simply not sustainable for me. I don't know how people do this staying up all day and night and also maintain their health. I'm so glad Jude isn't dropping so low every night that I have to stay up monitoring--so glad. Also, glad to hear you have a Christmas miracle with the Weruva; Jude is not a fan. I'm going to have to find him something (other than FF) with a lower phosphorus content because of these recurring UTIs. The FF is a winner for him, but we're going to need to leave it behind.
 
Are you feeding just LC? How is her weight trending?
Yes, only LC and primarily 5% or less. I’ve given her a borderline LC/MC (10.x %) a few times in past month when she got into 50s early in cycle.

Ugh on her weight, I had not weighed her in over a month. It’s inching up.

18.x pounds - during year prior to diagnosis (june 2024)
15.0 - 27.oct
15.0 - 25.nov
15.4 - 30-dec
15.6 - 13.jan
15.8 - 03.feb
16.4 - 08.mar

I make decisions on food timing and food carb content (0%, 1%, 2%, 3%, 4%, 5%) based on her BG level every hour from pre shot until the cycle is waning. A lot of food (and $) is wasted b/c spoiled girl is more likely to eat freshly opened can. Last night I opened 7 cans to manage her active cycle. Total food consumed from 7 cans probably only about 2 cans worth. She refused to eat a 3% I gave her at +3 after reading of 63, she dropped to 56 by +3.5 and then was willing to eat (a different food!).

When her PS is below 100, I usually feed right after her shot. If it’s above 100, I wait to feed. Sometimes she’ll have a big drop from +1 to +2. This seems to happen in the AM cycle. I did switch to a new injection area lower down on her back b/c the sites below each shoulder blade seem to have fatty buildup. I think it’s made a difference. She has been getting good action every cycle since (knock on wood).

She’s such a challenge with food. It’s amazing that we’re on all wet food. Breaking her from dry took 4 months. She does the weird “cud chewing” on her right side throughout her meal eating. It disrupts her eating. Multiple vets have looked in her mouth and pondered it but have no explanation or suggestions. A really good close look in her mouth has never been done b/c the only time she has been under anesthesia was when she was spade at 6 months old.

I think she is very carb sensitive. I am confident if I only fed her 1-3% foods she would have officially earned a reduction. I should prove that out now that I’m able to mentally deal with numbers in 50s and 60s. 52 is her lowest recorded number. That was earlier this week. I’m off work this next week so perhaps I can experiment.
 
Oh, my...feeding hourly is not sustainable at night. I don't know how you do it. For a few weeks, Jude was nose-diving at night, and I was doing the schedule that it looks like you keep all the time, and that was not sustainable for me. I ended up with a corneal erosion because my normally dry eyes (I have dry eye disease), that recover somewhat with sleep, were not getting enough recovery time. I need my vision, so that schedule is simply not sustainable for me. I don't know how people do this staying up all day and night and also maintain their health. I'm so glad Jude isn't dropping so low every night that I have to stay up monitoring--so glad. Also, glad to hear you have a Christmas miracle with the Weruva; Jude is not a fan. I'm going to have to find him something (other than FF) with a lower phosphorus content because of these recurring UTIs. The FF is a winner for him, but we're going to need to leave it behind.
It’s wearing on me Marielle. I’ve been ok with it b/c her numbers are so good now. She’s truly regulated. I work from home which helps a ton. But I’m now deciding it’s taking too much focus away from other important things so I need to figure out how to test/feed less. I stopped traveling for work, stopped playing tennis, stopped lifting weights at gym, stopped socializing outside my home. I’ve gained 13 pounds since November! People say I needed to put on weight, but I view this as negative consequence of my life being predominantly focused on my beloved baby.

You seem to have found a balance and were able to restore your health situation with your eyes. Jude’s numbers look great and his dose has come down and you’re not testing insanely. Can I please “have what you’re having”. :p

I’m also concerned about the FF phosphorus. Let’s keep exploring potential alternatives that our masters will accept!
 
Back
Top