3/7 Michelangelo PMPS 78, +1/60, +2/51, +3/49, +4/61, +5/73

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo.

I used the vial again today for his AMS and his numbers are looking good again. Maybe the vial isn't bad? ohmygod_smile It's like he's never recovered from when I erroneously lowered his dose on 2/26. Is this still NDW?
He was doing better before when I was skipping shots at what I thought was too high a dose. But he hasn't seemed to recover since I lowered it/raised it back because I misled myself by being a big ol' chicken
rubber_chicken_icon.jpg
and didn't shoot when I should have shot. :?

___________________________________________________________
Bought a new lantus pen last night from my local Walmart Neighborhood Market. Not only did they sell me a single pen, but they also told me I could come back within the next 30 days with my receipt and the $25 off coupon (I forgot to bring it) and get the discount! This is the same pharmacy that told me I could get a year-long prescription for syringes from my vet. I've never really been a big fan of Walmart; it's too claustrophobic for me and I'm also not a fan of a lot of their business practices. Once I started having to buy test strips, I finally broke down. I went specifically to the Neighborhood Market one because it's more like a grocery store than a SUPER!BIG!MEGA!STORE!OF!CHEAP!IMPORTS! and now I find myself going there weekly for other things besides test strips! :o Amazing how something as simple as good customer service can make me disregard my principles. I'm a sell-out. :roll:
 
Re: 3/7 Michelangelo AMPS 171, +7/138

Kpassa- you are not a sell out...I felt the same way when I went there for Rubens supplies, but its for Mikey, and for that one reason alone it's ok. Your not selling out b/c you want cheap meat or b/c you can save 30cents on cheap crap b/c its shipped in from china. It's b/c of how it benefits lil Mikey and your caring of him. You get a free pass. don't think of yourself as a sell out, think of yourself as a great parent willing to bend on certain principles because of love for your family. I commend you.
Keep up the good work, your doing great and Mikey, can you give your bean a break, lets get a nice green surf going please.
sending love
~S
 
Re: 3/7 Michelangelo AMPS 171, +7/138

I totally agree Sam.. We are doing the best for our kitties and need to save money to pay for their care..
 
Re: 3/7 Michelangelo AMPS 171, +7/138

That's how it looked to me, that he may have lost (some) momentum with that reduction. But fret not, if in the next few cycles you don't see enough green for your liking, you can always increase again.

Or just fatten?
 
Re: 3/7 Michelangelo AMPS 171, +7/138 PMPS 58 - shoot?

WTH, Mikey? Just trying to remind me how contrary you can be?

I'm thinking it's because he didn't eat too much today. It's been a gloomy day today and neither have eaten their normal amount of food. That's what usually happens when it's overcast...has anyone else noticed this with their cats' appetites?
 
Re: 3/7 Michelangelo AMPS 171, +7/138 PMPS 58 - shoot?

Kay

If you have supplies and can stay up to test...why not shoot? It's a safe number. You have tons of data. Time to start learning to shoot low!

Be sure you get a +1. I will be up for several hours if you need help.

You can take the 911 down. ;-) thanks!
 
Re: 3/7 Michelangelo AMPS 171, +7/138 PMPS 58 - shoot?

All right! I'm gonna go for it! Writing an email to my boss right now, but I'm still trying to figure out a way to say that I'm going to be out tomorrow. :lol:
 
Re: 3/7 Michelangelo AMPS 171, +7/138 PMPS 58 - shoot?

I retested him and he had already risen to 78 by the time I shot him. His morning shot was 15 minutes late (had to chase him around the house again; he thinks it's a game!). So tonight's shot would have technically been 15 minutes early to be back on schedule, but is now exactly on time. :-D

Sent an email to my boss, calling out sick tomorrow so now I'm rescheduling and canceling all my meetings. :-|

And trying to find things to do to distract myself from watching TV so I'll have stuff on my DVR to watch when I'm still up at 6 am. I think I'm gonna start a pot of coffee.... ~O)
 
Re: 3/7 Michelangelo AMPS 171, +7/138 PMPS 78 - I shot!

Great! I hope this will give you enough confidence that next time you get that 50 something, you'll shoot....as long SS it's safe (you have supplies, are rested, etc).

So Kay has earned her BOS award!! YAY!!

Don't forget the +1.
 
Re: 3/7 Michelangelo AMPS 171, +7/138 PMPS 78 - I shot!

i should be up for a while- 2-3 more hours and will gladly stay up later w/ you kpassa, if even to just chat to keep you distracted. just let me know how i can help. i'm super super proud of you and can honestly say i don't know if i'd be so strong to do it. your in the right place and i have a good feeling about good things happening for lil mikey and you.
i'll keep checking in on you guys. your not alone
Hi Marje-i can see your being the super awsome gaurdian angel that you are. love you so much, borderline stalkerish....lol :lol: :lol: :lol: jkjkjk
 
Re: 3/7 Michelangelo AMPS 171, +7/138 PMPS 78 - I shot!

That's me o:-) o:-) o:-) :lol: :lol: More like :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Just looking for that +1 :-D
 
Re: 3/7 Michelangelo AMPS 171, +7/138 PMPS 78 - I shot!

RubenTheCat said:
Kpassa- you are not a sell out...I felt the same way when I went there for Rubens supplies, but its for Mikey, and for that one reason alone it's ok. Your not selling out b/c you want cheap meat or b/c you can save 30cents on cheap crap b/c its shipped in from china. It's b/c of how it benefits lil Mikey and your caring of him. You get a free pass.
And you're definitely one to know, Sam! A vegan who had to hand-feed a carnivore? Impressive! :thumbup So a free pass coming from you, I'll accept. ;-)

Wendy&Tiggy said:
I totally agree Sam.. We are doing the best for our kitties and need to save money to pay for their care..
I think of every unnecessary extra dollar spent as a dollar I could have donated to FDMB or DCiN or some place else. So, not only am I saving money, I'm helping others by supporting Walmart (I just cringed inside writing that, but it's true). I have to justify it some way, I suppose. :lol:

Dale 'n' Chip said:
But fret not, if in the next few cycles you don't see enough green for your liking, you can always increase again.
There is definitely enough green for me at the moment! :lol:

Marje and Gracie said:
Great! I hope this will give you enough confidence that next time you get that 50 something, you'll shoot....as long SS it's safe (you have supplies, are rested, etc).

So Kay has earned her BOS award!! YAY!!

Don't forget the +1.

Yeah, I think that now I've crossed the point of no return and the only way to proceed is through the unknown I've been avoiding, I won't have any problem doing it in the future because it's never as scary the second time. "We are what we repeatedly. Excellence, therefore, is not an act but a habit." - Socrates. Otherwise known as "Practice makes perfect!" :mrgreen:

I seem to remember being sent an image by someone of a really great BOS trophy but I can't seem to find it right now (might be on my PC at work and am too lazy right now to check it).

And Marje, there's no worries of me forgetting either of the +1s (the +1 for the 58/56 was a 62 and the +1 for the 78 is a 60). :lol:

RubenTheCat said:
i should be up for a while- 2-3 more hours and will gladly stay up later w/ you kpassa, if even to just chat to keep you distracted. just let me know how i can help. i'm super super proud of you and can honestly say i don't know if i'd be so strong to do it. your in the right place and i have a good feeling about good things happening for lil mikey and you.
i'll keep checking in on you guys. your not alone
Hi Marje-i can see your being the super awsome gaurdian angel that you are. love you so much, borderline stalkerish....lol :lol: :lol: :lol: jkjkjk

Thank you so, so much! I'm on PST so his +6 won't be till your 4:30 am. Wanna hang with me till then? :lol: ;-)

Someone very wise once told me:
Marje and Gracie said:
For someone who has the data you have, I would shoot and get a +1.
And she is absolutely right. I do have the data, so I feel a little like I'm cheating and don't really deserve the BOS award because I'm not really stressing (yet). :oops:
 
Re: 3/7 Michelangelo AMPS 171, +7/138 PMPS 78, +1/60

No need to stress...you are in control.

What have you fed him? I'd definitely give him two tsp of LC now. Since this is the first time you've shot low, why don't you feed and get a +1.5?

Need a food spike here Mikey :-D
 
Re: 3/7 Michelangelo AMPS 171, +7/138 PMPS 78, +1/60

just checking in...kk mikey lets eat some food and level/surf it out. i may not stay awake but will gladly set alarms and check in w you for as long as it takes. woder if lil mikey knows how many people care for him and his bean
 
Re: 3/7 Michelangelo AMPS 171, +7/138 PMPS 78, +1/60, +2/51

Haven't fed him anything yet. He's a self-regulator when it comes to eating and has already freely eaten about 6 times since I shot him (which is fairly normal for him to do).

This last time, I figured I'd compare the Prime (that I regularly use) and the Micro (that I've been using these last few days). +2 is a lovely 59(P)/51(M). He's gone as low as the 20s on the Micro before and been fine (40s on the Prime), so I'm not nailbite_smile just yet, but I'm definitely a little :?

What's really stressing me out is that my brother has been laying into me all night long for giving him a shot when he was that low. :roll: I've tried explaining the logic again and again to him but he...ARGH! If I knew what his problem was, I'd be able to successfully explain it to him so I wouldn't ever have to explain it again! :evil:
 
Re: 3/7 Michelangelo AMPS 171, +7/138 PMPS 78, +1/60

It's fine if he normally free feeds but he's at 59 at +2. You have a long cycle to go. His +2 is much less than his PS and so you are likely to see an active cycle...early.
 
Re: 3/7 Michelangelo AMPS 171, +7/138 PMPS 78, +1/60

Mikey and Henry are tearing it up both outside and in right now, banging into things, galloping about, knocking things over, jumping in front of me and walking on the keyboard when I'm trying to type. You know, the usual.

Last night, I was rounding them up for bed in the typical half-hour ritual of getting one upstairs to my room, going for the other; getting the other upstairs to my room and finding the one is now gone, then rinse and repeat. It suddenly struck me that every night I've been reliving the sisyphean task of literally herding kittens. :lol: haha_smiley

:dizcat dancing_cat bcatrun_gif flip_cat​
 
Re: 3/7 Michelangelo AMPS 171, +7/138 PMPS 78, +1/60

He's eating again. Still his LC food. Should I be testing him more frequently? Every half hour? Like now?

ETA: 63P/59M. Now I'm not so much :? as I am :-|
 
Re: 3/7 Michelangelo AMPS 171, +7/138 PMPS 78, +1/60

Kay

It would be great if you would keep your subject line current and your condo would just have one number...pick a meter and stick with it. If you are comparing for your SS, that's fine, but let's just work with one number...the Micro?

PMPS 78
+1: 60
+2: 51
+3: 59

Well, earlier, I asked for a +1.5 ;-) he's surfing right now but he should onset soon. If he's eating, you could get a +4.
 
Re: 3/7 Michelangelo PMPS 78, +1/60, +2/51

again just checking in, come in mikey lets slow the drop a lil
 
Re: 3/7 Michelangelo PMPS 78, +1/60, +2/51

Kay

My computer keeps dropping off and our house alarm keeps beeping. We called the alarm company and they said there are disruptions from the phone company so we called them and they are having some technical issues. If I disappear.....you know why. Just look at the Handling Low Numbers link in my signature block.

You've handled low numbers before so you'll do fine.
 
Re: 3/7 Michelangelo PMPS 78, +1/60, +2/51, +3/49

Still dropping, but slightly fluctuating. I hope he doesn't keep at this rate and comes up a little bit before nadir.
 
Re: 3/7 Michelangelo PMPS 78, +1/60, +2/51

Marje and Gracie said:
Kay

My computer keeps dropping off and our house alarm keeps beeping. We called the alarm company and they said there are disruptions from the phone company so we called them and they are having some technical issues. If I disappear.....you know why. Just look at the Handling Low Numbers link in my signature block.

You've handled low numbers before so you'll do fine.

Thanks for letting me know. I knew with the time difference that whenever I did eventually shoot low, there might not be anyone around anyway so I greatly appreciate that both you and Sam have been here with me this far. :YMHUG:

I'm well prepared with supplies for all the worst case scenarios (including a Zombie Apocalypse) and I'm forearmed with all the info here for how to deal with hypos, low numbers, etc.... Right now,food-wise, we're still on him doing his nibble-grazing on the 5% LC. I figured I would next pull out the 8% LC, then the HC gravy, then 18% HC food, and Karo or honey as a last resort.
 
Re: 3/7 Michelangelo PMPS 78, +1/60, +2/51, +3/49

Got back on...I'm only one hour difference and am often up through the night with new members so no worry there. Tonight is just the phone/Internet service.

I'd hit that 49 with your 8% retest in 30. Lather, rinse, repeat until he's up and surfing,
 
Re: 3/7 Michelangelo PMPS 78, +1/60, +2/51, +3/49

Marje and Gracie said:
Got back on...I'm only one hour difference and am often up through the night with new members so no worry there.

It is so much appreciated! :YMHUG: I don't even know where I'd be at if it weren't for you and everyone else like you who are so willing to help! It brings back a bit of my missing faith in humanity. :smile:

Marje and Gracie said:
I'd hit that 49 with your 8% retest in 30. Lather, rinse, repeat until he's up and surfing,

Already beat you to it with the 8% LC. ;-) Been trying to get a +3.5 for the last 10 minutes but Mikey and Henry are running around and there's not a chance I'm gonna be able to catch him to test him till they're done with their current play session. I'm betting it won't be till +4 before I can get a test in.
 
Re: 3/7 Michelangelo PMPS 78, +1/60, +2/51, +3/49, +4/61

I'm guessing that might be the spike of the 8% carbs doing its trick. Gonna hold off on the gravy for the moment.
 
Re: 3/7 Michelangelo PMPS 78, +1/60, +2/51, +3/49, +4/61

+4.5/70

The one thing I didn't prepare for tonight was my brother being an F-ing @$$ to me all night long about how I'm treating Michelangelo's diabetes all wrong and not only am I giving him insulin at a different pH, but also a different species from Michelangelo, not to mention his "workout" theory that he holds as gospel that since I'm not allowing Michelangelo's pancreas to work by artificially injecting him with insulin, then he's always going to be diabetic and if I would just stop giving him insulin then he'll heal. ohmygod_smile grr_red No matter how many times SINCE OCTOBER I've tried to explain to him the scientific, biological, logical, chemical, rational, etc.... behind diabetes in general, human vs. feline, type 1 vs. type 2, bounces, the history of the discovery of insulin, glycogen, glucogon, glucose, liver, pancreas, depots, basically everything you ever wanted to know and then some and he obstinately refuses to ever let me finish so he only hears half of all the complex things I'm trying to say and immediately discounts it all as illogical because I never get to the point where I can even answer his questions without it dissolving into him badgering me and telling me I should just give Mikey up to science. :cry: :cry: :cry: I am sooooooooooooo stressed out right now by him and I can't even concentrate on Michelangelo. I've been begging him in tears for the past hour to just leave me alone! :evil: :cry: :-x :sad: He's sucked all the energy from me right now and ruined any sense of focus and accomplishment I might have had tonight. It's a complete f-ing disaster! :cry: :cry: :cry:

And now I'm scared he's so tainted me shooting Mikey's first low number that in the future, when I get another low number to shoot and remember tonight, all I'm going to think about is how STRESSFUL it was...and knowing that logically not a single bit of it has anything to do with me shooting low isn't going to change the leftover bitter taste in my mouth. :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: And I can't even stop crying!
 
Re: 3/7 Michelangelo PMPS 78, +1/60, +2/51, +3/49, +4/61

KPassa said:
...and knowing that logically not a single bit of it has anything to do with me shooting low isn't going to change the leftover bitter taste in my mouth. :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: And I can't even stop crying!
Maybe you can re-remember later more logically?

Cause really it's all about the numbers not so much this stress right now. And you are laying the groundwork to know that Mikey can handle all this just fine even if you were out and had to leave food down or something.

But it is almost over now so just Breathe and survive for now, you are doing an amazing job! :cool: :cool: :cool:

And it is amazing that Mikey takes the dose threat so seriously (fatten the dose) that he even made all this possible tonight? I'm impressed! ;-)
 
Re: 3/7 Michelangelo PMPS 78, +1/60, +2/51, +3/49, +4/61, +5

(((Kay)))

You did great last night and I'm sorry I lost connection and couldn't get back on. I wanted to tell you to be sure and reduce his dose this morning with that 49.

As far as your brother goes....IMHO, I'd set limits and one of them is that you will not discuss Mikey's diabetes or treatment with him again...at all. Mikey is your cat, it's your decision. Period. Do not discuss it with him....don't try to teach him; he doesn't want to learn. You are just absorbing negative energy that you don't need. You did GREAT GREAT GREAT last night. I was SO PROUD of you for shooting!!! And look how well you managed his curve...gorgeous!!!!

There is probably not one of us here who hasn't at some time wondered how our kitty would do if we just stopped the insulin. I've seen what happens to Gracie's numbers when I've taken her down too low....they shoot right up. What ever would make me think that if I stopped insulin, I'd see something different? Also, I've seen alot of SSs and I've seen people stop insulin. At first the numbers seem ok but then they gradually increase. Who wants to start over?

BTW, I found the BOS award you deserve. Here it is just for you...you earned it!
file.php
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top