3/7 Maverick PMPS 81? Sooo confused

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karrie and Maverick

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=38308

NDW or LOTS of furshots. I payed extra attention to shooting this morning. I decided to do the scruff which I've always avoided. It allows for a larger tent area for these longer needles. I thought the needle was in, but it wasn't. All them times I've pulled the syringe out and there was still a tiny bubble on the end must have been furshots? ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile I'm so confused. I've used like 70 of these new needles so you'd think I'd have it figured out by now. Or maybe they weren't furshots, just that this morning I used the scruff.

Guess we'll know soon enough.

Thanks for all the advice yesterday. Finally no headache today. But it's Monday. Booooo.
 
Re: 3/7 Maverick AMPS 127

Good morning guys ... No real advice here .. we tried shooting mocha in the scruff once and she let us know we were never to do that again .. I hope today wasn't a furshot .. let's think green!!!!
 
Re: 3/7 Maverick AMPS 127

Also hope it wasn't a fur shot. I dont' remember what needles you use...BD?? Do you hold the plunger in tight as you remove the needle so the drop on the end doesn't go back into the syringe??? Hopefully, you'll see him come down today. BTW, I alternate center scruff, outer scruff, chest and have seen no difference in numbers so it will be interesting to see what Mav does.
 
Re: 3/7 Maverick AMPS 127

I am positive it wasn't a furshot today. I decided to push past what I thought was in, and got where it needed to go, and no drop on the end. I always hold the plunger down when I remove the needle. Sometimes I feel the needle come out, but sometimes I don't. So I wonder how much of his numbers are furshots. I will keep the scruff area for the next few weeks. We are using monojects but the only ones I could get with 1/2 markings were long needle ones. I loved the BD short needles but the 0 mark being so inconsistent I won't go back to them.
 
Re: 3/7 Maverick AMPS 127

Golly, Karrie, I don't know what to tell you. Sometimes I get that little drop at the end of the needle after pulling out the syringe, too. (got it yesterday and again today). I don't think that it means a fur shot. Today I pulled the drop back into the syringe and shot that drop again!
I gather that Hocks does not ship to Canada, otherwise you could order the short-needle Monojects from them.
I just Googled Monoject and got this: Does this sound like a Canadian site to you? (these are the Monojects I use: U-100, 30 gauge, 3/10cc, 5/16 inch needle, 1/2 unit markings):

http://www.google.com/products/catalog? ... s=sellers#

Have a better day!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/7 Maverick AMPS 127

Karrie, it absolutely doesn't mean that you gave a fur shot if there's a little drop on the end of the needle. It's more important if you feel it on his fur. And I give shots in the scruff a lot. or to the side of it. or the belly if I use a short needle (which is a very good place to shoot btw). But you don't necessarily need to get a great tent to get the insulin in. Just make sure you "feel" the needle go in. As long as it's under the skin and not coming out the other side, Maverick is getting his shot :razz:

Great AMPS btw
 
Re: 3/7 Maverick AMPS 127

Drop on the end of needle isnt a fur shot--It usually happens with the BDs--You are getting it all in, that drop could be lurking in the syringe :? --Not to worry Look at that great amps!!
 
Re: 3/7 Maverick AMPS 127

Cool thank you guys. I was feeling a bit guilty for his numbers. We'll see what his +4 shows. Still have no idea where his nadir is but he isn't going low so no worries. I'll call the hospital supply place and see if they can order in the monoject short needles for me.
 
Re: 3/7 Maverick AMPS 127

Nice amps there maverick. It sounds like to me you are doing everything right - not to worry! I too use the scruff, other sites too and it really hasn't affected numbers - Mannie is just wonky in that regard.

Have a god one today - I am glad that your headache is gone. :-D
 
Re: 3/7 Maverick AMPS 127

Karrie, Monoject has that weird end, that I can't even describe, where the excess you expressed, can run down, and it will leave the fur wet, and feel like a fur shot.

I know that's not what you are referring to now, I just thought I'd throw that in. I always touch a corner of clean tissue to those ridge things, to absorb it.

I wish Checks would let me do someplace else besides scruff. He whips his head around, showing me his sharp toofers, when I try to do lower, even his shoulder.

Very nice amps for Maverick
 
Re: 3/7 Maverick AMPS 127

I always shoot the belly, when I leave Tray with my Dad he shoots the scruff because he's too scared of being scratched but Tray's #'s always seem higher when shot there so who knows.

Good luck with these new needles.
 
Re: 3/7 Maverick AMPS 127

i shoot binks behind the scruff and between or to either side of his shoulders, FWIW.
 
Re: 3/7 Maverick AMPS 127

I've been doing Maverick's shoulders too. I did the scruff today though - maybe the skin is thicker back there? What do you guys think?

Waiting to hear back from the supply place to see if they can order me in some short needled syringes. I miss them.
 
Re: 3/7 Maverick AMPS 127

This is an interesting condo with shooting different places. I use the scruff but try and do the side, too. Wow, I've never tried belly though!

Karrie, the name of the pillow is Core Support Pillow - it's a foam pillow and full size. I believe I paid $49.95, kind of pricey. I found their website, but I bought mine at a pharmacy that carries medical supplies.

www.coreproducts.com
 
Re: 3/7 Maverick AMPS 127

Sorry the syringes are giving you frustration, Karrie... hopefully you'll have better luck with the short needles!

We use those and shoot Willie on the side. I try to rotate the sides as best I can, but it is harder for me to shoot left handed, so he gets more shots on the right side than the left.

I've never tried the scruff.

Hope you guys have a good night! Will have to post a pic of Willie's new toy!!
 
Re: 3/7 Maverick AMPS 127

Hi, Karrie and Maverick... sorry to stop by & see your frusturations :YMSIGH:
I use the BD syringes.. I know many don't like them, but I love them.. I shoot Baby on the side of the belly, the side of the chest & the side of the flank..
I alternate sides too, I am one of those nervous types who doesn't want to shoot the same place because I fear lumps :roll:
Injecton Sites
You will find your groove & at least Maverick is looking good still!
 
I'm going to have to figure out a way to know if I'm getting furshots or not. He was squaking up a storm with the scruff shot tonight. I'm done with the scruff. His skin is so thick there. I am overthinking things now.

He was eating 10 minutes before his shot. Took me that long to draw up his dose tonight. I had trouble with bubbles - I never have issues with bubbles.

I tested him and got an 81 was sure it was a mistake. Three pokes later we got a 76. Je suis confused!!!!! I know NDW - maybe tonight/tomorrow will be better if it wasn't a furshot tonight?
 
Thanks for that link! I was doing the sides for the last five months. I had read the scruff wasn't ideal. How would you tent the area if you shave the hair? How do you guys do it with short haired kitties?

He was more normal today by the way. More interactive and social than the past two days where he seemed to just stay on the dog bed.
 
what a great pmps!!
i went through a couple of weeks ( a month or so ago) where i just couldnt get anything right...
i was so frustrated...then it all went back to smooth groove...
hope that's the case for you, karrie!
 
I started doing it on the flanks, belly, etc. because I also heard that the scruff wasnt ideal but after a fur shot and a freaked out cat I just use the shoulders and scruff.

I tented it the same way...I think
 
Hi Karrie,

I used to shoot Whiskers in the flank and rotate it a circular motion with different shots, thats how the vet showed us, until Carolyn sent me the link, than we started with the side of the abdomin, scruff, varying spots with different shots. I think it helps Whiskers BG numbers.

Your doing great, you always do.

Have a wonderful night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top