3/7 Klinger AMPS 273; +1 444; PMPS 540 +1 470 +2 455

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcy & Klinger (GA)

Member Since 2010
Ugh!!!!
Klinger had some nice blues yesterday. This just seems so high to be a bounce from 100s.
Anyone???

He's acting normal. All p's in place, eating normal, playing...
This is his 3rd day on 1.35 and I don't know if I should increase or decrease the dose. I feel stuck.
 
mars72 said:
Ugh!!!!
Klinger had some nice blues yesterday. This just seems so high to be a bounce from 100s.
Anyone???

He's acting normal. All p's in place, eating normal, playing...
This is his 3rd day on 1.35 and I don't know if I should increase or decrease the dose. I feel stuck.

Marcy, I am too a little stumped as to why Klinger goes from these highs and then occasional lows....I am also wondering too, is it really that he is bouncing? The bounces are so huge.

Yesterday he had such a nice level cycle while you were there. I don't know why.

I know you aren't there during the day, but IF you were, and maybe you need to just bite the bullet and do this anyway, I would increase to 1.50 units and work up in .25 increments. It is not that big of an increase and actually he did do better on 1.75 units.

He really hasn't ever gone that low anyway and once you get a low number of 40 or below reduce the dose by .25. (I know if it were Tigger I would do this, but I am always home to check and have that kind of peace of mind).

There is something going on here. IMHO a cat doesn't normally test in these high of numbers (500's) and then have those lows too. Yes, one would think rebound, but, again, I am not so sure here either.

Anyway, anyone looking in please feel free to give your comments. Marcy feels like she is "stuck". And I think I am too!

ETA: Marcy has an updated profile.
 
I don't know for sure either, but every time I see numbers that can range from 98 to 540 in a cat that eats a low carb diet, I think rebound.

Yesterday he had a nice day ranging from 120 to 230, but today he could not get out of the 400-500 range (of course we don't know what happened during the day, but it probably was not a drop to 50 and back up to 540). Typical rebound patterns are high and flat. I also remember reading a post about inverted curves, which today's curve looks like, but the one on the 4th really was, being a sign of too much insulin - if I am remembering correctly.

I always go and re-read the petdiabeteswicki page when I can't figure out numbers like this:
http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Somogyi_rebound

I think you won't know which it is (too much or too little) until you make more definitive changes in either direction. On the fast acting insulins, we used to suggest a rebound test, but that is frowned on with slower acting insulins. I am not sure why. You could also, "start over" at .5u if you wanted to really rule out rebound. I bet that would do it.

And, here I will be of no help, you could raise to 1.5u and see if he can settle into that dose better this time and not spike 400s off it. I am not a big fan of setting a goal nadir of 50, but it isn't an unsafe number - just doesn't leave wiggle room if there is more of a drop.

Maybe he needs 1.4u or 1.45u......
 
mars72 said:
Ugh!!!!
Klinger had some nice blues yesterday. This just seems so high to be a bounce from 100s.
Anyone???

He's acting normal. All p's in place, eating normal, playing...
This is his 3rd day on 1.35 and I don't know if I should increase or decrease the dose. I feel stuck.

Marcy, hi,

I guess I answer to "anyone." I would say, you should not feel stuck and forget who is saying what -- just look at Klinger's spreadsheet. Look for the last time when you had lots of blues and greens and very few reds, and then let your eyes float over to the dose column. See the number there. It is not 1.35u. (I have not read back to postings matching the last "good" period, so maybe there was a reason to change a dose that was working -- but whatever it was, it doesn't look like a good idea in hindsight.)

I don't know what the right dose is for Klinger but the last time it worked it was somewhere between 1.5 and 2.25. It is an interesting chart, very intelligible and not hard to read, in my opinion. For what has happened lately, this one day caught my eye: 2/26/2011. On that day, in another ratchet in a series of reductions throughout the month of February, the dose was shaved from 1.5 to 1.35 and, in response, Klinger threw out an amazing string of greens and blues. That should have been a signal, but it was misread. And for sure they look like the numbers we want, they in fact look like those of a cat headed for remission... levels that were naturally interpreted as positive affirmation for the lowered dose. As a result you reduced a little further; but then a couple of days later, it no longer looks good, and the comment line says "Hmmm. What's with the pinks? Bouncing?" It's not that it is the wrong question -- it is that we so easily question the bad news, but forget to question the good news.

On Feb 26, that string of numbers was just accepted -- but it should have been questioned too. In any case, apparently rejecting the message (perhaps on a rebound theory) that Klinger is sending on Feb 28, there is a further reduction. So on 3/4, a week later, barely, there is the inverse of 2/26, now it's all reds, and there is scrambling to explain how that could be.

I think it all makes perfect sense. If you go back to, say, Valentine's day (just to pick a point) there were really nice glucose levels throughout the day, and in the subsequent days a few visits to the 400s but in general acceptable numbers. But for whatever reason, the dose was being lowered and lowered and the basic good results were maintained -- up to a critical point, I think. The good dose had probably been left behind a while back, and Klinger has been dealing with it, but with the 1.35u on 2/26, he received some critical amount less insulin than he needed -- a crisis for him. Instead of showing that in higher numbers, he calls on his own systems to make up the shortfall, thus masking the problem (a specialty of felines), which shows only later. You could say that the low numbers of Feb 26 are indeed a reaction to the dose reduction, but the reaction was misinterpreted. Interpreting it correctly now is pretty critical to Klinger, I would say. Feb 26 was an emergency, and he responded by calling on reserves, but he can't keep it up because he is diabetic, and the real picture is not visible until some days later, when apparently without reason (but actually for very good reason), the numbers seem to go haywire.

I don't see anything in Klinger's chart, by the way, to suggest that he can't be regulated on Levemir.

Ilkka
 
I agree with Ilkka. It looks like when he goes close to 50 that you lower the dose. He is probably a kitty that has to go below 50 twice before you lower the dose. I know with Oscar, when he is trying to level out sometimes he will hit like 48 once and then not go near there again for a week. If I take his dose down each time he goes near 50, then I quickly loose regulation with him. To me, it looks like your optimal dose was somewhere in between 1.75u and 2.25u. I do not advocate going right back up to 1.75u though. I would suggest going up to 1.5u and hold there for a few days to see where he levels off to. Instances like 2/26 gave you a beautiful curve, and I would not have reduced that dose quite yet.
 
Thank you, Pamela, Sheila, Ilkka, and Kelly. I think the :idea: just went on. :lol: :lol:
I raised his dose to 1.5 this morning and I'll let that settle...probably until Friday when I can get some mid cycle tests in.
I've reduced his dose in the 50s because he shows signs of hypo when he has gone into the 40s, so I don't like to let him get to that point.
I need to go and reread all of your wonderful and knowledgeable advice! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!
 
Hi Vicky,
Klinger has shown these signs in the 40s:
Sudden ravenous hunger
lethargic
Glazed expression
Poor coordination, such as staggering, walking the perimeter of the room, sitting in a strange area
Changes in head or neck movements
Restlessness
Urgent meowing

If he starts heading for the basement...it's not a good sign.
Thanks and have a great day.
 
Oh, what does he do in the basement?! I have visions of something to do with power tools run amok :lol:

It's weird, I have seen some of those symptoms in both of my guys, but no low BGs when tested. Beau's only reliable symptom was hunger that overpowered good sense (trying to "eat' out of an empty dish when a full one was a few feet away). I would test him when he was acting lethargic, acting aggressive, etc. and never have a low number. Jeddie is the same way. Whenever I think "Oh, he is acting strange" and test, he is never low. The lows are always a surprise at a spot check.

Which just goes to show that you can not rely on "knowing" when a hypo is happening without having the ability to test - makes me shudder to think of when Beau was on 7u of vetsulin and I was not home testing! He never *acted* like he was in a hypo.....
 
:lol: :lol: Sheila. Something like building squirrel traps or making scrap metal sculptures of his interpretation of shrimp??? :lol:

Kitties are always keeping us guessing. That's part of their charm. :-D
 
Hi, Marcy,
Had a chance to check out Klinger's SS today, looks like he just needs to settle in on the 1.5.
Now, tell him that! My latest experience is with the full moon, which is next week again.
Just when you think it is safe to come out from under the bed...

Alley was creeping up again on his dose, so I raised it, think I blew it, got a 362 PMPS.
Will I ever learn? Probably should have decreased. But I will wait it out for 3 days also.
We will be patient right?

You're doing great, give Klinger a chin scratch for me.
Pam & Alley
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top