3-7 Jones AMPS 157

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracey&Jones (GA)

Member Since 2016
I am back from vacation and I guess outside of the early bobble with high numbers and changing doses AND the fact the MotH house decided not to mid cycle test, things are ok. I have started some mid cycle testing again (DS during the day and myself at night). I am thinking the .1U is working well, appetite is decent and he is very alert and active. Just wondering if I should hold this dose or drop to a drop? I really wanted to move him over to a raw diet now that I have his allergy results back and realize what I am feeding him is in the yellow yield/tolerant zone and hopefully relieve some of the IBD issues.
 
Welcome back. I hope you and DM had a good time.

According to SLGS you would reduce cause he's going lower than 90. Hard to tell how low h's really going yet. Those mid cycle test will help. Have you counted the number of drops in this dose?
 
Welcome back. I hope you and DM had a good time.

According to SLGS you would reduce cause he's going lower than 90. Hard to tell how low h's really going yet. Those mid cycle test will help. Have you counted the number of drops in this dose?

We did. This is the last big trip my Mom (she is 72) will be making and I am so glad I did it with her. Many happy memories were made.

I haven't done a count of drops in 0.1u but I can do that tonight. I know he earned a reduction but I wanted to get a couple cycles in of my dosage vs. the CS dose to make sure it is consistent and get some mid-cycle test in. But even with the higher # last night at +3, his AMPS was lower than expected. Which lead me to question if a further dosage drop may be warranted. He didn't eat a lot last night but he is eating very well during the day. 1-1/2 cans of Friskies/Wellness mix for the last few days, which also makes me wonder how low he is going.

I will take a count of the drops, maybe lose a drop from the normal dose?
 
I found even if I put the plunger against the top hub of the BDs, I could still squeeze out three drops. Which is why I was wondering if there was a dose between a drop and 0.1.
 
I will count the drops and do a 1 drop reduction then. See how that goes over the next few days. I plan on trying the raw this weekend if I can find what he can eat and I am home to monitor as well.
 
There should be lots of raw options that have proteins he can eat. It is interesting that he can do venison and buffalo but not elk. Same with my civie. Also interesting to see he can't do honey or maple syrup, or grains. Thank goodness there are HC options with potato.

I use the Red Dog Blue Kat brand of raw. I got the As Fed numbers, actually on their website, and the proteins are between 3-5 % carbs. It will be interesting to see if Jones likes kangaroo. Some cats go nuts for it. Neko used to.
 
There should be lots of raw options that have proteins he can eat. It is interesting that he can do venison and buffalo but not elk. Same with my civie. Also interesting to see he can't do honey or maple syrup, or grains. Thank goodness there are HC options with potato.

I use the Red Dog Blue Kat brand of raw. I got the As Fed numbers, actually on their website, and the proteins are between 3-5 % carbs. It will be interesting to see if Jones likes kangaroo. Some cats go nuts for it. Neko used to.

I was surprised that salmon was ok but tuna wasn't. I have been giving him tuna water for years.

Yeah, we had the corn syrup for hypos but was going to double check the ingredients on that. We have some gravy FF that I am going to have to check as well for ingredients. I was checking out the Red Dog Blue Kat based on your suggestion and it looks like the Bone & Biscuit stores sell it. Was going to check out my local one and see if they had some options I can use if not if they were willing to order in. One question though, do you get just the meat and organ and add a supplement (or cook up with the EZ complete) or do you get the complete ones? I was looking and was going to compare ingredient lists to his allergy list this week.
 
One question though, do you get just the meat and organ and add a supplement (or cook up with the EZ complete) or do you get the complete ones?
I get the complete meals. I think that most of the veggies in their meals are on the green list for Jones, but I'd have to double check. Another good quality brand that I've used is Natural Instincts. They have no veggies in their cat food. But their "singles" are enough for two days for one cat. I like to do the rotation so the smaller RDBK works easier for me.

I also prep about half the meals with EZComplete, but that just needs pure meat. There are other premixes that need organ (TC Feline for one) and one of our members here gets the meat/organs and makes meals with TC Feline. Actually, she buys the Natural Instincts organs/meat cause the size works out better. There are lots of other vendors from BC and Alberta that do just meat or meal/organs. The only other one I've used is Club Canine/Feline. Most of the time now for the EZComplete meals I just go to the local organic exotic meat butcher.
 
Which is why I was wondering if there was a dose between a drop and 0.1.

I tested this 3 times now. Doing a hard push and let it drop back - I get 1 or 2 drops only. Doing my normal draw of .1u I can get between 5-7 drops. So for tonight with the pred I did a normal draw and then pushed out 1 drop. Basically the plunger is almost right on the zero line. I can do that for the next few cycles and see where it takes us. He ate all his food today and ate some dinner (salmon his favorite) when I got here and looks like he is consistently below 90 during the day. See what number he decided to give me @ +3 tonight.

My only concern with the raw is that Jonesy is a grazer. Eats through out the day, so wondering if homemade may be better. Or give some raw when feeding before injection and then put the homemade in his feeder for throughout the day I have the sureflap feeder to it does seal and close, but no cooling system. I will be putting a spreadsheet together comparing ingredients to his allergy list. He loved my drooler's wet food she was eating and loved the Kangaroo canned she had as well.
 
The problem with raw is that it shouldn't be put out uncooled for more than 30 minutes. I got around that by using a gel pack under the autofeeder or an ice cube on top, but if it was warm out (don't I wish today :rolleyes:) or it was for a much later meal when the gel pack would be thawed, I would usually do canned. Home made isn't any better, it's still raw meat.
 
was warm out (don't I wish today :rolleyes:).
You and me both!

So is it worth while changing him over? When home I can watch and remove what is not eaten and give more. But otherwise...it takes him all day to eat a can and half of FF. He eats like 10 bites and then gone. Maybe I should just source some other protein type of canned food that is more in his green zone.
 
The problem is finding a good quality low carb canned food without bad products in it. Ziwipeak is a possibiity, but a bit spendy. Some of the other companies make limited ingredient diets (Natures Variety, Merrick) that might work. I still think raw might be worth an experiment. I found with my kitties that they became more hoovers with raw food. Or the other option is a raw main meal while you are home, then canned later. Or get a feeder with a cool pack under that will keep it cool for a few hours.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top