3/7 Java +12 79,76 +12.75 62 +13 70,+13.25 50,64 13.50 66

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steph and Java(GA)

Member Since 2011
yesterdays condo


Ok after last nights little issues, How should I time this out? technically I am at +11 in a couple minutes so do I go back to my usual times? Last night I shot about 40 minutes late.

I just want to get back on schedule which for us is 8:30ish
 
Re: 3/7 Java Question about timing this morning

Good morning Steph. Post your +11......depending on the number you may be able to shoot early.
 
Re: 3/7 Java Question about timing this morning +11 316

I was thinking about the dilated pupils - I wonder if you should post on the health board about this also. I don't recall if you got an answer on whether this could be related to diabetes or not yesterday.

Bump.
 
Re: 3/7 Java Question about timing this morning +11 316

Karrie and Maverick said:
I was thinking about the dilated pupils - I wonder if you should post on the health board about this also. I don't recall if you got an answer on whether this could be related to diabetes or not yesterday.

Bump.


yes it can definitely be related. It can mean a cat is going blind, it can mean hypertension, which we have checked for. I am going to call my vet today.
 
Re: 3/7 Java Question about timing this morning +11 316

Just to add some confusion into the mix...

You can easily move the shot time by 30 min. this morning and make up the difference tomorrow. Or, if the numbers are still in the pinks, move the time the entire 40 min.

Remember, though, daylight savings time starts next Sunday. If you can keep the schedule you're on, you have only a 20 min. change to make later in the week. (It's just a thought that I figured I'd put out there.)
 
Re: 3/7 Java Question about timing this morning +11 316

With this number I think you can shoot 30 minutes early then you can shoot your regular time for PMPS. :smile:
 
Re: 3/7 Java Question about timing this morning +11 316

Sienne and Gabby said:
Just to add some confusion into the mix...

You can easily move the shot time by 30 min. this morning and make up the difference tomorrow. Or, if the numbers are still in the pinks, move the time the entire 40 min.

Remember, though, daylight savings time starts next Sunday. If you can keep the schedule you're on, you have only a 20 min. change to make later in the week. (It's just a thought that I figured I'd put out there.)

great idea, thanks!
 
Re: 3/7 Java Question about timing this morning +11 316

HI, GUYS!!

i'm curious about the dilated pupils question...couldn't find it in your condo?
 
Re: 3/7 Java Question about timing this morning +11 316

you have to look up yesterdays condo.

I think she should pm Lisa/DL's mom for more info. She is a vet tech so can explain it maybe?
 
Re: 3/7 Java Question about timing this morning +11 316

Thanks everybody. Lisa sent me a pm and explained what happened in her case. My vet emailed me to day and we are going to recheck BP next week at his dental and also try to do a pressure check. He said I may want to see an opthalmologist.

On another note, Java is 79, 76(I rechecked this time) at his +12. I held the shot and fed and I am going to check again in 15 min. Same as last night?
 
Re: 3/7 Java Question about timing this morning +11 316

Steph when you are stalling it is best not to feed. You want to get a real bg number not a food spike number.
Java likes to throw you these low numbers at night. :roll:
 
Re: 3/7 Java Question about timing this morning +11 316

Miriam and Putty said:
Steph when you are stalling it is best not to feed. You want to get a real bg number not a food spike number.
Java likes to throw you these low numbers at night. :roll:

Yeah I remembered that after I did it. Everyone told me tha tlast night and I thought I knew without looking up my condo. really dumb, now what?
 
Re: 3/7 Java +12 79,76 held shot--fed and recheck?

Sienne and Gabby said:
Do you have the flexibility to be off schedule in the AM?
somewhat, I have class but have another hour or so to play with, I could probably skip my first class, that gives me until 12:00
 
Re: 3/7 Java +12 79,76 held shot--fed and recheck? +12:20

And Java got his entire meal? Seems odd that his numbers would be dropping.

Can you update your SS for today?
 
Re: 3/7 Java +12 79,76 held shot--fed and recheck? +12:20

Sienne and Gabby said:
And Java got his entire meal? Seems odd that his numbers would be dropping.

Can you update your SS for today?


just finished. no he ate maybe 1/4 can or less. I add water and he laps that up first, then grazes. he just came back looking for more.
 
Re: 3/7 Java +12 79,76 fed and recheck? +12:20 70,+12.75 6

Well, Java is completely heading in the wrong direction! I guess get a test at +13 we'll see what Java has planned.
 
Re: 3/7 Java +12 79,76 fed and recheck? +12:20 70,+12.75 6

Housekeeping stuff -- did you get a +4.5 this morning? The test data isn't visible on your SS. The 315 from this morning should be your AMPS, even if it was a little late. And finally, the numbers from tonight should be green, not blue.
 
Re: 3/7 Java +12 79,76 +12:20 70,+12.75 62 +13 70

+13 70

thanks for pointing that stuff out. i am typing left hand and petting Java at the same time
 
Re: 3/7 Java +12 79,76 +12:20 70,+12.75 62 +13 70,+13.25 5

ok I did a 13.25 and got error, retested got 50, retested, got 64. what should i do?
 
Re: 3/7 Java +12 79,76 +12:20 70,+12.75 62 +13 70,+13.25 5

How much longer can you stall? If you can't, you have a couple options:
1. retest to confirm if you have a rising number or not
2. skip the shot
2. give a BCS which would be .25u less than he normally gets but you will have to monitor closely until he's got a couple rising numbers without food.
 
Re: 3/7 Java +12 79,76 +12:20 70,+12.75 62 +13 70,+13.25 5

I called off for class tomorrow but have to leave her by 12 noon for sure so I only have another hour or so
what are the repercussions of not shooting?
 
Re: 3/7 Java +12 79,76 +12:20 70,+12.75 62 +13 70,+13.25 5

If you are going to shoot, you should do it by +14 but only if you have a rising number. If you don't shoot, his numbers will probably go up as his shed will start to drain (which it is already doing by stalling) but it's anyone's guess how high his numbers will go. Stalling is like an automatic dose reduction so....the other option is if you have a rising number without food for an hour, then you could shoot his full dose. If you don't shoot, you don't need to monitor..he can't hypo with no insulin.
 
Re: 3/7 Java +12 79,76 +12.75 62 +13 70,+13.25 50,64 13.50

I see this will be the lowest number you've shot. So he's at 66? Are you able to stay up as late as need be and monitor him often...I mean like maybe every 30 minutes and do you have all you need there....HC food, karo, etc???

We're kind of at different places in this dance; I think you will have to decide what you are MOST comfortable with. If he's at 66 now and he was 60 just a bit ago, then he's surfing. If you give his shot, then as soon as the insulin kicks in, he will probably drop so you would have to stay on top of it ALOT. If you skip a shot, that's ok; he'll get back in a cycle or so but he may have some high numbers (I see he does run in red and high pink).
 
Re: 3/7 Java +12 79,76 +12.75 62 +13 70,+13.25 50,64 13.50

One more thing to keep in mind... you'll be making up an hour for daylight savings this week... I only point that out because I ended up shooting at +14.5 on Saturday and am kinda kicking myself because I'm having to make up 30 minutes each day this week to get back on track!
 
Re: 3/7 Java +12 79,76 +12.75 62 +13 70,+13.25 50,64 13.50

Steph...I'll be right back. I have to test Gracie. I shot her at 55 tonight and it's time to see what she's doing.
 
Re: 3/7 Java +12 79,76 +12.75 62 +13 70,+13.25 50,64 13.50

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I see this will be the lowest number you've shot. So he's at 66? Are you able to stay up as late as need be and monitor him often...I mean like maybe every 30 minutes and do you have all you need there....HC food, karo, etc???

We're kind of at different places in this dance; I think you will have to decide what you are MOST comfortable with. If he's at 66 now and he was 60 just a bit ago, then he's surfing. If you give his shot, then as soon as the insulin kicks in, he will probably drop so you would have to stay on top of it ALOT. If you skip a shot, that's ok; he'll get back in a cycle or so but he may have some high numbers (I see he does run in red and high pink).


I think I will skip it. We only increased to 1.75 last thursday and he already seems tired. I can't imagine being up all night poking him. I am afraid as tired as I am I might fall asleep. If you think its ok to skip one that is what we will do. I guess I can feed him now?
 
Re: 3/7 Java +12 79,76 +12.75 62 +13 70,+13.25 50,64 13.50

Christie & Willie said:
One more thing to keep in mind... you'll be making up an hour for daylight savings this week... I only point that out because I ended up shooting at +14.5 on Saturday and am kinda kicking myself because I'm having to make up 30 minutes each day this week to get back on track!

I'm chickening out. I know I shouldn't be scared but he kind of seems tired and I just don't want to take any chances. How is Willie?
Handsome as usual?
 
Re: 3/7 Java +12 79,76 +12.75 62 +13 70,+13.25 50,64 13.50

OK Steph....that is a fine decision. You have to be comfortable with it. Yes..feed him. So you can now set your time to shoot tomorrow; if you want to go ahead and make the adjustment for the time change, you can do it in the morning. Don't worry if his numbers are high tomorrow. ECID...they may not be any higher than normal but they may. Just give him a few cycles to refill his shed. Good job.

Sorry I couldn't tell you what I would do in this case. If you are tired and so is he, it's probably best to skip because you don't want to miss a test so that's a good decision.
 
Re: 3/7 Java +12 79,76 +12.75 62 +13 70,+13.25 50,64 13.50

Marjorie and Gracie said:
OK Steph....that is a fine decision. You have to be comfortable with it. Yes..feed him. So you can now set your time to shoot tomorrow; if you want to go ahead and make the adjustment for the time change, you can do it in the morning. Don't worry if his numbers are high tomorrow. ECID...they may not be any higher than normal but they may. Just give him a few cycles to refill his shed. Good job.

Sorry I couldn't tell you what I would do in this case. If you are tired and so is he, it's probably best to skip because you don't want to miss a test so that's a good decision.


Thanks Marjorie. I REALLY appreciate your help and patience!
 
Re: 3/7 Java +12 79,76 +12.75 62 +13 70,+13.25 50,64 13.50

No patience required and you are more than welcome. I can't tell you how much people have helped us and continue to help us. It's very scary the first time
you shoot a low number and, for me, it's still a little nerve wracking (like tonight). Sorry I had to leave you to test. One day, you will feel comfy enough to help someone, too. It's what we do here in LL!! Get a good night's rest. (((Java)))
 
Re: 3/7 Java +12 79,76 +12.75 62 +13 70,+13.25 50,64 13.50

You guys are all amazing!!!!! Steph you'll get more confidence as you build up your data also. I got confidence with shooting low by following other threads where they shot low and seeing what they did to keep their kitty above hypo numbers. Your schedule often determines what you can do also. Java is doing great!!!!
 
Re: 3/7 Java +12 79,76 +12.75 62 +13 70,+13.25 50,64 13.50

Karrie and Maverick said:
You guys are all amazing!!!!! Steph you'll get more confidence as you build up your data also. I got confidence with shooting low by following other threads where they shot low and seeing what they did to keep their kitty above hypo numbers. Your schedule often determines what you can do also. Java is doing great!!!!


Thanks Karrie!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top