3/7 Jack amps 39/42 +2 102 +4 124

Status
Not open for further replies.

saltycat

Member Since 2016
yesterday condo

I will never understand this cat. He knows when I need a decent night of sleep and plans his dives accordingly.
30u, even with R still had him in the pinks. After 3 cycles at 34, he dipped into the mid 50's. No problem, we'll drop it down a bit to 32. He was rising yesterday and into the evening, I thought we were at a good dose, until waking up to that 39:banghead:.

A token shot and a little mc with breakfast has him back up, but man, I'm gonna need heart meds soon, and maybe some loony pills as well.:D

Time will tell if it was a weird fluke, or if we are getting ready to go down the slide again. These acro/iaa cats are exhausting!

Vines for all the beans and kitties for those who could use some today.
 
How do you calculate how much to shoot when he is low? Like on 1/19, only 10u. 2/13 only 14u. Today 20u. But it does look like only 10u on 1/19 because you weren't home to monitor. Captain Jack is a full time job!
 

Time will tell if it was a weird fluke, or if we are getting ready to go down the slide again. These acro/iaa cats are exhausting!

Yes they can be exhausting.

Remember, IAA can break on a dime, releasing previously bound up insulin back into circulation in amounts that can't be predicted or anticipated. Being that it is self limiting and generally lasts about a year, with an IAA of 65% that has been active at least 7 months caution is required.

Better day too high than an hour too low.
 
How do you calculate how much to shoot when he is low? Like on 1/19, only 10u. 2/13 only 14u. Today 20u. But it does look like only 10u on 1/19 because you weren't home to monitor.

It is really a moving target based on a few different things. If he isn't feeling or eating well, I am more conservative with the dose. When I get a low number, but he is eating and feeling good, I am more confident in shooting closer to the normal dose. Being able to monitor is another moving part in the equation. His recent change in patterns also get some consideration. Something is a little different these days and I am adjusting the dosing as I relearn some of his new patterns.

1/19 he didn't eat breakfast, I knew he wasn't feeling well and gave a small dose, and as you noticed, I wasn't around to monitor as closely. I've noticed over time that generally and especially with Jack, even a little insulin is usually better then a full skip as you get to know the patterns better... ECID
2/13 was similar, he was eating but just nibbling, usually he plants his face in the bowl and licks it twice to make sure he got everything. I was suspecting a pancreatitis bout and if he wasn't interested in food, it makes low numbers harder to deal with.
Today he is eating good, and I am home to monitor so I felt a 2/3ish dose would be okay.

Remember, IAA can break on a dime,
Yes, my lack of sleep a few weeks ago when we dove from 38u down to 22u is a strong reminder of how fast things can change.
It would be interesting to know how long he has been IAA positive. Obviously, we only found out about 7 months ago, but I'm sure it was present before then.

He is being quite challenging these days, 30u + R had him in the pinks, and 32 got him to sharkland. If he keeps this up he is going to lose his Captains license for erratic driving.
 
To add to Sandy's post, the antibodies seem to pick the most inconvenient time to release the stored insulin. :banghead::banghead:

Jack really?! Was than necessary this morning.
 
Jack really?! Was than necessary this morning.
In his mind it was so he could continue his catlike air of mystique:cat:. I thought he was heading for a bounce from Sunday night's greens. Boy was I wrong.

If he keeps up with the blues for the rest of the day, I'll be scratching my head on what to do with PMPS tonight. First thought is to shoot something like 26 if he is still blue. It is so hard to tell if it is a one off or the IAA/tumor is sputtering again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top