? 3/7 Hugo AMPS 528! 3 units

Elle D & Hugo

Member Since 2020
Hi everyone. I finally got the chance to start bg testing before his shot, and this morning's reading was 528! He just went up a unit (from 2 to 3) and his last curve was in the 300s on the 2 units. Is this a bounce? He got his shot last night, but I've been doing it in the scruff when I'm by myself. Could that be it? I definitely gave it to him. Should I call the vet? What should I do?

Edit: I will definitely do a ketone test today. Also, we did just start him on his Flovent inhaler, but could that be having that much of an effect?
 
Last edited:
Hi everyone. I finally got the chance to start bg testing before his shot, and this morning's reading was 528! He just went up a unit (from 2 to 3) and his last curve was in the 300s on the 2 units. Is this a bounce? He got his shot last night, but I've been doing it in the scruff when I'm by myself. Could that be it? I definitely gave it to him. Should I call the vet? What should I do?

Edit: I will definitely do a ketone test today. Also, we did just start him on his Flovent inhaler, but could that be having that much of an effect?

Ketones were negative
 
Hello Elle! Are you new to the forum? I've had a crazy busy week so I've missed out a lot...possibly I missed a previous post?

Could you please add the url from your previous post (if there was one) to this one?

Glad to hear ketones are negative, did he have a history of ketones?

Sorry for all the questions but it looks like you're new.

Also, we typically increase by .25 units at a time. Have you read the dosing methods? You should read those and select one method to follow - it'll help you as you decide when to increase or decrease the insulin.

Here's the 'stickie'...the yellow tabs at the top of this forum - all great reading for newbies :)
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 
This is the link to your post from the Health board.

One thing that will be helpful for you and for us is if you start testing on a daily basis. It looks like your spreadsheet has test data from 3/1, 3/3, and 3/7. It's also very important to test every night before you go to bed (i.e, a "before bed" test) in order for. you to be sure that Hugo is in safe numbers. We have no idea if Hugo dropped into low numbers sometime between when you last tested and this morning. His numbers could have dropped into the 30s and you would never know.

Another reason why getting tests is crucial is that Lantus dosing is based on the nadir -- the lowest number in the cycle -- and not on the pre-shot numbers.

On this board, we are very numbers driven. We want to be certain your cat is in safe numbers and that means getting a pre-shot test every single time you plan to give a shot and trying to get at the very least, one additional test each cycle. Insulin isn't a trivial medication and home testing is the best way to know how your cat is responding to your care and how you can keep Hugo safe.
 
This is the link to your post from the Health board.

One thing that will be helpful for you and for us is if you start testing on a daily basis. It looks like your spreadsheet has test data from 3/1, 3/3, and 3/7. It's also very important to test every night before you go to bed (i.e, a "before bed" test) in order for. you to be sure that Hugo is in safe numbers. We have no idea if Hugo dropped into low numbers sometime between when you last tested and this morning. His numbers could have dropped into the 30s and you would never know.

Another reason why getting tests is crucial is that Lantus dosing is based on the nadir -- the lowest number in the cycle -- and not on the pre-shot numbers.

On this board, we are very numbers driven. We want to be certain your cat is in safe numbers and that means getting a pre-shot test every single time you plan to give a shot and trying to get at the very least, one additional test each cycle. Insulin isn't a trivial medication and home testing is the best way to know how your cat is responding to your care and how you can keep Hugo safe.

Thank you. I wish I could get all that information, and I'm trying to get as much as possible, but its difficult since both my boyfriend and I work 8 hour days and I have an almost 2 hour commute. I'm going to try to start doing a test at least before we give him his shots, but Hugo is not taking to his tests or shots very well, and I am frequently on my own to try to do all this. It usually takes one of us to hold him while the other tests or gives shots. I'm sorry that I have so little to offer. I've tried to do more on my own and it usually just ends in tears and a missed shot.
 
A new thread here was the right thing to do. You're using Lantus, so you should be posting in the Lantus group - which this is :)

I know how difficult it is to wrangle an uncooperative cat and try to get them to hold still while you poke (of all things) the poor animal in the ear in an attempt to extract a single drop of blood for this little tiny meter thing! Luci was an absolute hellion when we started out...she wanted no part of any of this holding her (that was the first issue) and then dear God - stabbing her little ear with this sharp thing and then trying to get a single drop of blood on this tiny strip...let me tell you it was a nightmare...but I told DH it was her life - so we had to at least coordinate in the am and pm enough to get that pre-shot test...the other tests, well we did the best we could...and eventually Luci got the hint that 1)we weren't trying to kill her and 2)she always, always got food when we did this 'thing'.

I learned a trick along the way in the early days to just pick her up and put her on the testing towel (I picked out an old towel to put on the counter)...and then pet her and tell her it was all going to be 'ok'...then I'd put her down and give her a treat...no poke...although there were times when I had to slip in the poke...but there were a lot of times it was just a 'trial run' so to speak...and soon she was calmer and would relax while I did the deed...and after a while she would be waiting for me on the testing towel! The first time she did that I took a picture and posted it here! I was so stunned! Who was this cat? And what happened to that hellion that used to be my Luci?

Hugo will come around...just take it one step at a time - the most important thing is to get that test before any insulin. And then every chance you get pick him up, pet him, give him some lovey words and then a treat...no poke...after a while of course, you'll have to get a poke (test)...but he will soon associate the whole process to the treat...I use the exact same spot every time and get all my stuff set up before I pick Luci up...you don't want to be fumbling for your supplies while Hugo waits...

I wish you the very best...I know it's difficult in the early days. Just keep trying...you'll get there. I promise!
 
I agree with Sue. It's a matter of behavioral conditioning and reinforcing behaviors with treats. You want to get Hugo acclimated to the process. Put him in your test spot. Give him a treat. (Do that a lot.) Put him in his spot -- rub his ears. Give him a treat. Repeat -- a lot. Poke his ear. Ditto. Even if you don't get a drop of blood, Hugo gets a treat. You want him to associate testing with treats or whatever it is he really likes. People have brushed their cats vs a treat.

The other part of this is you need to be calm. If you're anxious or upset, Hugo will pick up on your emotions. In the beginning, it's all overwhelming. We really understand. There are lots of moving parts (in addition to your cat). We want you to feel confident in handling Hugo's FD.
 
A big welcome to you and Hugo as you begin this new adventure. When I learned that cats' ears are not overly sensitive I was able to relax and do the ear-prick with more confidence. Apparently after centuries of cat fights, in which the ears were typically involved, cats have developed a degree of insensitivity in their ears.

It will all get easier and you and your boyfriend will create a schedule that works for you and for Hugo. Don't forget those treats!
 
Heck, if I could do it, you will be able to do it. Took a little bit of time, but Claudio finally figured out that testing was gonna happen with or without his cooperation. Now he just sits there and purrs.
One thing I learned was to have another strip ready in case the first test wasn't correct. I tested and got an 85. Knew that wasn't right since he was in the 300's. By the time I got another strip out and inserted
into the meter, he was ready to take off. Now I have another strip ready in case it's needed.
 
I want to thank you guys so much. I was actually able to both test him myself and give him his shot with no incident tonight. It seems like he is adjusting. He's still mad about it, but I got it done without even a swat. I would be happier if his numbers were lower, but at least its it's happening!

Also, I wonder if any of you would have any insight on this. We've been feeding Hugo a whole 5.5 ounce can of food, both morning and night, since his hepatic lipidosis, with an appetite stimulant. The vet wanted us to keep him on it for a while to make sure he didn't backslide, but eventually we'll have to go back to normal. We used to feed both him and his brother the smaller cans, or split a 5.5 in half for them. Every time I ask my vet about this, he kinda shrugs and says to feed him however much he wants. I know small meals over the day are better for him, to keep him even. Should I just keep feeding him them same amount and stop the stimulant? I know that the amount he eats is gonna have an effect on his numbers. I dont want to keep going up in units, stop the stimulant, and have him plummet when he doesn't eat as much. Any advice?
 
Back
Top