3/7 Gordy, AMPS 196 | PMPS 339, +4=389 | Dental Tomorrow

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok, Gordy goes for dental in the AM and I have the following instructions for him.
1. Give dose tonight normally, but no AM dose (I figured)
2. He can have his 2am snack tonight - Vet wants to make sure he is good for his insulin/sugar levels for this evenings cycle
3. My original instructions say "no water after 6am day of" but she said he can drink as much water as he wants
4. bring some of his food so he can snack after his procedure
5. He is going to have pre-anesthetic bloodwork tomorrow, so hopefully I can get copies of what they come up with. He should only have the diabetes... nothing else. *fingers crosses*

Should I be aware of anything else? He has had dental before, so its just the diabetes part that's new.
 
it all sounds normal....
it's usually no food 12 hours before anesthesia ( since they don't want them to choke if they vomit)
sound like you are covered....

tomorrow night, be advised that anesthesia can lower bg so you might want to come post for advice before shooting....

Paws crossed for a good dental...
 
The newer anesthesia protocols for diabetics say you can have that small snack. When we went to a dental specialist, Neko could eat one third of her breffs before 6AM. You might want to take along a used Tshirt or some of his bedding so the kennel smells like home.

I hope the vet is doing dental X-rays, lots can hide from a visual inspection.

Get a BG test when you get Gordy home, then again at PMPS. Some anesthesia induction drugs lower the BGs, but not all.

Paws crossed for a boring dental. :bighug:
 
Oddly, I dont see xrays in the estimate. Hmmm. Myast vet did them prior to the surgery and thats when they discovered he didnt need extractions at the time.

He never has been a "smells" kind of guy... and he doesnt like me much right now (being locked in a room can do that), but I'll try and find something.

I'll def be testing him tomorrow. I unfortunately have to work in the evening, so if its still really low (if thats the case), i may just skip it altogether. Better safe than sorry, especially when will already be feeling pretty bad.
 
You may want to get some meat only baby food just in case he doesn't want to eat his regular food after the dental. Most cats will at least eat that. Sending good dental vines.
 
You may want to get some meat only baby food just in case he doesn't want to eat his regular food after the dental. Most cats will at least eat that. Sending good dental vines.
Good idea. Of course... I just checked my Whole Foods shelf and no plain meat ones. :rolleyes: Guess I'll have to check Walmart tomorrow. (Gotta go buy strips anyway)
 
Good luck. Gizmo had his dental a few weeks ago. Vet didn't do x-rays. No extractions. All went really well.

His numbers may be low after the procedure. Tread cautiously.

Gerber 2nd Foods is what you are looking for (baby food).
 
My cats liked the Gerbers better, but after a dental, Harvey was never picky about what brand I gave him. The vet said not to feed him that night, but Harv never let me get away with that, even when he'd had extractions! So I gave him just a tablespoon or so first and then made him wait about 20 minutes to make sure he kept it down - anesthesia can give them an upset tummy.

If he has any extractions, don't forget to ask for pain meds (although my vet always gave them without my having to ask).

Sending good dental vines!
 
If he has any extractions, don't forget to ask for pain meds (although my vet always gave them without my having to ask).
I think this is worked into his treatment pain, as well as, different levels of ABs. But I'll definitely asking!

Thank you everyone for your input!! I am sure the dental will go smooth (once they knock Gordy out.... and the knock out part is what really freaks me out!)

I wont have time to get the baby food prior to dropping him off, but I can get some (in case) before I pick him up. As I said, if his BG is low, I may just skip it in the evening.

Maybe I'll bring home a less-cranky cat who doesn't pick on Mango. :facepalm:
 
I'm taking notes! Uncle's got his scheduled two weeks from today. This will be his first as a diabetic.

Hope it all goes great for Gordy and you don't worry too much! :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top