3/7 Gobbles PMPS 108 +2 124 +4 105

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=90326&p=967916#p967916

Good Morning LL Family ~O) Gobby woke me up with kisses & smiles. He is in a great mood, very playful and ate a good breakfast. I gave him 1 soft & 1 hard treat at PM +7 (he was 112) because I had a feeling he might go lower and needed to get at least 5 hours of sleep (ended up with 4.75 hours of sleep, but took a nap yesterday evening for 30 minutes...!!!). He probably did go lower because his AMPS was 98. His SS is starting to pile up lots of greens and blues and so far, paws crossed, his reduction is working!!!

I plan on definitely getting an AM+2 today; we'll see where he's at then.
 
Re: 3/7 AMPS Gobbles 98

Very nice AMPS to start your day with Gobbles :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/7 AMPS Gobbles 98

Morning Kat,

Pretty green start for Gobbles. Surf safely buddy. Have a great day,
Kathie
 
Re: 3/7 AMPS Gobbles 98 +2 75

Thanks Dyana & Kathie,
He's dropped 23 points in 2 hours. I'm glad I'm at home today so I can keep an eye on him. Looking at his SS, it appears that the longer he is on the new, reduced dose, the lower his numbers...hmmm....I would have suspected a major bounce but maybe Mr. Kidney is healing up quickly????
 
Re: 3/7 AMPS Gobbles 98 +2 75 ? Neutrophils

I finally got 4 separate labs entered on Gobbles' SS (waiting on more in the mail). What really stands out is that his Neutrophils level has progressively risen, from 5490 (61%) up to 9779 (79%) & marked "high" on labwork. There has been one other progressive change: WBC went from 9 to 12.7. Then there are some fluctuations in other components, but none that are progressive.

According to my research Neutrophils is the most common WBC, so I am assuming the two changes go hand in hand. I am going to call Gobbles' vet today because the latest test, with the 9779 & 12.7, was one in which he told me was "normal". I've read that "Inflammation and infection are the causes of high neutrophils (white blood cells) in cats." Can someone shed some light on this? What Inflammations? What infections?

From Merricks: "Extreme neutrophilia, exceeding upper limits seen in inflammation, may be associated with myelomonocytic leukemia, Hepatozoon canis infections, and rarely neoplasms that produce colony-stimulating factors."
 
Re: 3/7 AMPS Gobbles 98 +2 75 ? Neutrophilis

Morning Kat! I hope someone can shed some light on your questions.....you know me, I'm totally clueless :?: Gobby, give lots of kisses to your momma & surf those low numbers!!! Kat, have a great day & I'll catch up with yo this afternoon Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 3/7 AMPS Gobbles 98 +2 75 +3 56 ? Neutrophilis

Gobby is dropping into low numbers. So....

AMPS 98 (at about 3 T. LC)
+2 75 (fed 1 t. 20%)
+3 56 (fed 1 T. 20%)

This is getting kind of scary....will test at +3.5

**He has had 3 dose decreases in the past 11 days....I don't think I feel comfortable shooting his current 1.5 U dose tonight and will most likely decrease to 1.25 U.
 
Re: 3/7 AMPS Gobbles 98 +2 75 +3 56 !!! NOSE DIVING

Morning Kat :smile:

Looking at Gobbles SS, this could be a replay of 3/2/13.... looks very similar.
That being said, of course you're staying on top of his #s ;-) maybe just feed the gravy so he won't fill up?
 
Re: 3/7 AMPS Gobbles 98 +2 75 +3 56 !!! NOSE DIVING

Great observation Bruce (& say hi to Simon!) on the 3/2 similarity. I missed your post re: gravy only, but did feed a little at +3.5:

Recap:

AMPS 98 (at about 3 T. LC)
+2 75 (fed 1 t. 20%)
+3 56 (fed 1 T. 20%)
+3.5 67 (fed 1 t. 18% pate + 2 crunchy cat treats)
 
Re: 3/7 AMPS Gobbles 98 +2 75 +3 56 +3.5 67

Nice response to the feeding - looks like a nice surf could be in the offing :smile:

Simon says Hi back at ya ;-) (spotchecked him this AM - 79 \M/ )
 
Re: 3/7 AMPS Gobbles 98 +2 75 +3 56 +3.5 67 +4.5 49

Well, he went lower again, which does not surprise me in the least, as he has not even reached his +5 time yet. He would not eat any gravy no food, so I resorted to watering down Karo (just a little) and putting it in a large (no needle) syringe, taco Gobby & give him about 1 t. via mouth. Well, Gobbles, you're getting another reduction tonight...

AMPS 98 (at about 3 T. LC)
+2 75 (fed 1 t. 20%)
+3 56 (fed 1 T. 20%)
+3.5 67 (fed 1 t. 18% pate + 2 crunchy cat treats)
+4.5 49 (would not eat--anything; forced watered-down Karo via mouth) -- slightly shivering--first time he's ever showed a mild symptom of low numbers
 
Re: 3/7 AMPS Gobbles 98 +2 75 +3 56 +3.5 67 +4.5 49 +5 67

Well, Gobbles, you're getting another reduction tonight--that will be your 4th in 11 days--Does anyone know what may be causing him to warrant decreases so quickly???

AMPS 98 (at about 3 T. LC)
+2 75 (fed 1 t. 20%)
+3 56 (fed 1 T. 20%)
+3.5 67 (fed 1 t. 18% pate + 2 crunchy cat treats)
+4.5 49 (would not eat--anything; forced watered-down Karo via mouth)- slightly shivering--first time he's ever showed a mild symptom of low numbers
+5 67 (I know this rise is due to the Karo. He wouldn't eat wet food, but would eat 5 pieces of dry food--I read in the Hypo Quick Reference that it was okay to do that.)
 
Re: 3/7 AMPS Gobbles 98 +2 75 +3 56 +3.5 67 +4.5 49 +5 67

Morning Kat,
congrats on another reduction! Gobbles is REALLY GREEN!!! Very nice!
Now come up just a smidge Gobbles and surf there!!
Does anyone know what may be causing him to warrant decreases so quickly???
Clean living? sorry, flippant.
don't forget the question mark in your first post to get eyes on your question.
have a great day!!!! hugs to you and scritches to Gobbles - mary and ollie
 
Re: 3/7 AMPS Gobbles 98...56...67...49 +5 67 ? y low ?shiver

Hi guys .. congrats on the reduction!! Numbers are looking great :mrgreen: Sometimes when cat's come down the dosing ladder they come down fast ... that's why it is so important to do these spot checks! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/7 AMPS Gobbles 98 +2 75 +3 56 +3.5 67 +4.5 49 +5 67

Does anyone know what may be causing him to warrant decreases so quickly???
One would hope because his pancreas is healing and starting to actively participate in the dance again :smile:
In other words he keeps telling you he needs less insulin.. His bounces seem less dramatic <anti-jinx> (height & duration) too. All looks good. :smile:
 
Re: 3/7 AMPS Gobbles 98 +2 75 +3 56 +3.5 67 +4.5 49 +5 67

ecurie said:
Morning Kat,
congrats on another reduction! Gobbles is REALLY GREEN!!! Very nice!
Now come up just a smidge Gobbles and surf there!!
Does anyone know what may be causing him to warrant decreases so quickly???
Clean living? sorry, flippant.
don't forget the question mark in your first post to get eyes on your question.
have a great day!!!! hugs to you and scritches to Gobbles - mary and ollie
Yes, he was extremely green--probably getting ready for St. Patricks Day. And thanks for the reminder re: ? Have a great day :-D
 
Re: 3/7 AMPS Gobbles 98...56...67...49 +5 67 ? y low ?shiver

PeterDevonMocha said:
Hi guys .. congrats on the reduction!! Numbers are looking great :mrgreen: Sometimes when cat's come down the dosing ladder they come down fast ... that's why it is so important to do these spot checks! Have a great day guys!
Thanks :mrgreen: And gosh I am so happy I do the frequent checks, though Gobbles isn't, however, he gets a kick out of all the MC, HC & treats, when he decides to "Go Green"... Have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 3/7 AMPS Gobbles 98 +2 75 +3 56 +3.5 67 +4.5 49 +5 67

Bruce & Simon said:
Does anyone know what may be causing him to warrant decreases so quickly???
One would hope because his pancreas is healing and starting to actively participate in the dance again :smile:
In other words he keeps telling you he needs less insulin.. His bounces seem less dramatic <anti-jinx> (height & duration) too. All looks good. :smile:
Gosh I hope you're right Bruce. I know I won't sleep well tonight---probably will set the alarm twice. And Yikes on the 165!!! Not shocking, however, since he got HC, MC, Karo and dry food-PMPS number should be interesting....Thanks for all your help and it's so nice you're still here!!!
 
Re: 3/7 AMPS Gobbles 98..56..67..49..67..165 ?quick reductio

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Congrats on the reduction! Yep! Looks like Mr. P is waking up and doing his job! :-D :-D :-D

Remember that the dry treats you gave will take longer to clear out of his system so numbers will probably be higher for the next cycle.
 
Re: 3/7 AMPS Gobbles 98..56..67..49..67..165 ?quick reductio

You're welcome :-D
Hopefully he stays blue like on 3/2, and the 165 isn't a bounce starting. I might get a +7 or so,
just to make sure he hasn't lulled you into a false sense of security :lol:
 
Re: 3/7 AMPS Gobbles 98..56..67..49..67..165 ?quick reductio

Ann & Tess said:
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Congrats on the reduction! Yep! Looks like Mr. P is waking up and doing his job! :-D :-D :-D

Remember that the dry treats you gave will take longer to clear out of his system so numbers will probably be higher for the next cycle.
Thanks so much Ann :-D So it's not "abnormal" for dose decreases to be so close together? I pulled up and re-read (for probably the 10th time :mrgreen: ) the TRP and can't find anything mentioned there re: quick reductions. Have you any idea how long it takes the dry treats/dry foods to clear out of his system? 24 hours? And will it take less time than that, for the wet carnage to leave his system? I was choiceless in the matter of the dry as he adamantly refused any gravy or wet food, and I wouldn't be shocked if he zoomed to 500 later :o
 
Re: 3/7 AMPS Gobbles 98..56..67..49..67..165 +7 261

I know he's due a decrease.Decrease by .25? .50? This will be his 4th decrease in 11 days and I do not know if I will be able to monitor him throughout the night. The decrease will be effective at 5 pm EST today.

AMPS 98 (at about 3 T. LC)
+2 75 (fed 1 t. 20%)
+3 56 (fed 1 T. 20%)
+3.5 67 (fed 1 t. 18% pate + 2 crunchy cat treats)
+4.5 49 (would not eat--anything; forced watered-down Karo via mouth)- slightly shivering
+5 67 (I know this rise is due to Karo. He wouldn't eat wet food, but would eat 5 pieces of dry--I read in the Hypo Quick Reference that it was okay.
+6 165
+7 261
 
Re: 3/7 AMPS Gobbles 98..56..67..49..67..165..261 ? dose dec

With regard to the lab results, Gobbles' neutrophils are not in the extremely high range that would potentially indicate some of the dire conditions you noted. Normal segmented neutrophil range is 2500 - 12,000/L. (Neutrophils are counted as either bands or segmented.) It may mean there's some sort of infection or inflammation present. By any chance, does Gobbles need a dental? Alternatively, stress can raise neutrophil levels.
 
Re: 3/7 AMPS Gobbles 98..56..67..49..67..165..261 ? dose dec

Sienne and Gabby said:
With regard to the lab results, Gobbles' neutrophils are not in the extremely high range that would potentially indicate some of the dire conditions you noted. Normal segmented neutrophil range is 2500 - 12,000/L. (Neutrophils are counted as either bands or segmented.) It may mean there's some sort of infection or inflammation present. By any chance, does Gobbles need a dental? Alternatively, stress can raise neutrophil levels.
He doesn't need a dental--I had both vets look and they said "absolutely not". Can vet-office stress cause the raise, or do you mean ongoing stress? Also, what is your advice re: Gobbles' decrease, Sienne???
 
Re: 3/7 AMPS Gobbles 98..56..67..49..67..165..261 ? dose dec

Kat

It's impossible for any vet to know if a cat unequivocally has no dental issues without X-rays and the only way to do dental xrays is anesthesia. I'm just telling you this because he still could have a dental issue but it might not be readily apparent. I've had that happen with cats....everything looks good superficially but then when they get in to clean teeth and do dental xrays, they find something going on. I'm not saying that is what's going on with Gobbles.... only saying it so you understand that even though his mouth might "look" fine to a vet, there could still be issues.

As with the ALT, I'd keep an eye on the neutrophils. They've gone up and down on my cats and I don't get too stressed about it as they are usually down by the next test. If he seems fine, just check it when you have the next bw done for the ALT. If you are really freaked about it, call you vet to discuss it. He/she might be able to make you feel better about it.

On the reduction.....you can give it to him and if he fails it, then raise the dose back up. Conversely, he only got to 49 so if you are worried that he's getting too many reductions too fast together, then wait a couple more cycles and see what he does but you have to monitor. If you have something going on or you are really exhausted, reduce him by .25u and see how he does.

Also...why did you water down the karo ;-)
 
Re: 3/7 PMPS 108

Marje and Gracie said:
Kat

It's impossible for any vet to know if a cat unequivocally has no dental issues without X-rays and the only way to do dental xrays is anesthesia. I'm just telling you this because he still could have a dental issue but it might not be readily apparent. I've had that happen with cats....everything looks good superficially but then when they get in to clean teeth and do dental xrays, they find something going on. I'm not saying that is what's going on with Gobbles.... only saying it so you understand that even though his mouth might "look" fine to a vet, there could still be issues.

As with the ALT, I'd keep an eye on the neutrophils. They've gone up and down on my cats and I don't get too stressed about it as they are usually down by the next test. If he seems fine, just check it when you have the next bw done for the ALT. If you are really freaked about it, call you vet to discuss it. He/she might be able to make you feel better about it.

On the reduction.....you can give it to him and if he fails it, then raise the dose back up. Conversely, he only got to 49 so if you are worried that he's getting too many reductions too fast together, then wait a couple more cycles and see what he does but you have to monitor. If you have something going on or you are really exhausted, reduce him by .25u and see how he does.

Also...why did you water down the karo ;-)
Wow--that dental advice makes sense; I assume I would have to specifically request the x-rays; not a big deal as I'm sure they think I'm slightly anal about Gobby at this point in time :lol: He has another appointment in April for follow up labs, but maybe I'll move his appointment sooner and request a dental x-ray. When I called about the ALT last week, the vet said Denamarin was a good choice and that he would recommended it (I ordered a box of 30 for $25.99 w/free shipping). I gave him the reduction; he was 108 at PMPS this evening. In all honesty, I need a few solid hours of sleep (sleeping 5 hours a night is starting to sneak up with me) AND Gobbles' was really stressed out today and probably needs more sleep as well. And I am worried that: what may have happened had I not been able and feed up his numbers today? That 49 reading was only at AM+4. The reason I watered down the Karo (just a little) was because I couldn't get it into the syringe... :lol: I guess we'll wait and see how the reduction goes :-D
 
The reason I watered down the Karo (just a little) was because I couldn't get it into the syringe...
:lol: :lol: :lol: How old is it????

They won't do an xray without anesthesia. Usually the dental xrays are done when the teeth are cleaned.....I've been dealing with the same thing with Gracie. Her teeth look magnificent but she has one tiny spot of tartar near the gum so it's impossible to know if there is any kind of FORL there. She's never had her teeth cleaned but they truly are beautiful to the vet's eyes. I'd like to get a dental just to make sure everything is good and get the tartar off that one tooth but the anesthesiologist wants Gracie's ALT and all other liver values normal before she'll give her anesthesia.

Your vets might feel the same way.
 
Gosh Marje, I don't know how long its been up in the cupboard.. :lol: ..brb--I better at least check the expiration date---ok, "best buy 8/9/13". Last time I used it to bake with, I made a decadent Pecan Cream Cheese Pie, a few months ago....(worth even dang calorie, btw)!

You may be right re: dental/ALT. Gobby had an elevated ALT on 2/26/13 (what other blood components are considered "liver values"?). I didn't get a chance to call the vet today, but will tomorrow.
 
Marje and Gracie said:
AST, alkaline phosphatase, GGT, bilirubin
Those were all in range. I now have his labs going back to 9/2012 entered onto his SS. I have earlier labs that I just received in the mail and will get entered today. When complete, I'm going to print it out and give it to Gobby's vet--pretty cool how easy it is to compare when laid out on a SS!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top