3/7 Checkers pmps 417 +2/328 + 3/275

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/7 Checkers amps 119+1/189

That bounce didn't last long! I hope the Duralactin helps Checkers. Relief from pain may drop his numbers some.
 
Re: 3/7 Checkers amps 119+1/189

Hi Barb & Checks, Sending some pain-relieving vines to you today, Checkers. Feel better.
Barb, that's a good start for the cycle today. I hope it will be pretty even and stay in good numbers. Enjoy the day: it's supposed to be spring-like up here.

Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/7 Checkers amps 119+1/189

Hi Barb, nice blues for Checkers today. I hope the Duralactin helps with giving Checkers some pain relief. It's so hard to tell when they're in pain, as they're good at hiding it, except with the body language. Hope you both have a good day and sending healing vines to Checkers.
 
Re: 3/7 Checkers amps 119+1/189

Nice start to the day!!!!! Way to go Barb and Checkers! Could you please have a word with Rupert? I think he's lost up on the red floor wandering around!

c459f5f2-c4e7-4015-93af-63499ecbb268.jpg
 
Re: 3/7 Checkers amps 119+1/189

Oy, with these flat Lev cycles, I don't know when it's safe to go out. :lol:
Mamabean wants to go to WalMart for more yummy fuds, and stuff. May I Checkers, may I? :-D
 
Re: 3/7 Checkers amps 119+1/189 +2/191 +3/197

Hi guys .. I love these numbers on checkers! I think lev is really agreeing with him .. I hope the new pain meds help him out .. Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/7 Checkers amps 119+1/189 +3/197+4/176

amps 119
+1/189
+2/191
+3/197
+4/176

The 45 minute drive to WalMart's starting to look counter productive. It would cost more in gas, than I'd save on the cans of FF.
Plus, he's going down a bit.
Dr Dave has prefilled single dose syringes of bupe, waiting for me, so I'm off to the clinic and local supermarket. I'll treat my boy to some baby food chicken.

Oh yeah, I found my glass of milk splashed all over the counter; gee, I wonder who had his face in that. Civvies were asleep.
 
Re: 3/7 Checkers amps 119+1/189 +3/197+4/176+7/158

It's been only a few cycles, but I'm so pleased with the lev, so far. He's never been so flat, so long.

Thank you all, who recommended I try it. :-D

He just got his first 'dose' of Duralactin. It has no flavor, but it's only dried milk protein, how bad could it taste?
I sprinkled a capsule on his favorite Fish & Shrimp FF, and he gobbled it right up. I sure hope it eases his arthritis some.

I just ordered it from Amazon, on Sunday, and got it today.
 
Re: 3/7 Checkers amps 119+1/189 +3/197+4/176+7/158

WHAT A GORGEOUS BLUE SURF, CHEXMAN!!!

I just can't get over the difference :-D :-D

funny-pictures-grey-cat-milk-face.jpg
 
Re: 3/7 Checkers amps 119+1/189 +3/197+4/176+7/158

wow! you must be doing the happy dance!!!!! If Rupie doesn't get his act together maybe we'll look into Lev as well! you are our 'idols'! tee hee.

lolcat-fistbump-yoga.jpg
 
Re: 3/7 Checkers amps 119+1/189 +3/197+4/176+7/158

Nope, not dancing, Pip
I checked the ingredients on the Duralactin, before purchasing it, and although I was suspicious because it's dried milk protein, the ingredient list said nothing about carbs.
But the label has a warning about cats that might be sensitive to carbs. Sheesh, I hope tonight's high numbers are not permanent.
I don't want to have to raise his dose to compensate. I don't even know if it's gonna work for his arthritis.
 
Re: 3/7 Checkers pmps 417 'sigh'

well darn it Checkers!!!! It sure sounds like it's the drug that's doing it though.... how frustrating. I have a friend that uses Metacam for her dog. not sure if it's available for cats... nor am I sure of what's in it but I"m pretty sure it's steroid free. She seems to swear by the stuff.

hopefully our boys will quit messing around and find a place on a yellow or blue floor sometime soon!

Still, your boy has had some really nice numbers for a while there, so that HAS to have done some good!
 
Re: 3/7 Checkers pmps 417 'sigh'

Barb, don't even think of using Metacam (I'm sure you know this, but it causes renal failure in cats). I'm going to make sure that Pip gets this info.

Don't worry about the bounce this evening. If it is the duralactin, you can switch to some other pain killer. Checkers did great today!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/7 Checkers pmps 417 'sigh'

euw. didn't know that about Metacam.. that's why I wasn't entirely sure it was even available for cats, it's a 'dog' thing, but I think they might also call it Meloxicam for cats. good to know. it was just a thought. sorry.
 
Re: 3/7 Checkers pmps 417 'sigh'

Ditto on what Ella said - on the metacam - it is true... that i can say from first hand knowledge

sorry for the red floor visit. WOW... well guess time will tell if the med is a good one or not. oh boy - good luck! and NO METACAM!

Seems the boys wanted to play on the upper floors today, Maybe they can find their way off of that floor like right now...
 
Re: 3/7 Checkers pmps 417 'sigh'

I know about Metacam. Checkers has had it in the past, for short term, after dental extractions.

But I was here, and knew and loved, Carolyn's Latte, and know what she went through. She was instrumental in getting the Black Box warning for Metacam.
I've had several discussions with Dr Dave about pain meds.
If this stuff causes Checks bg to rise, I'll decide what to do then.

Thank you for caring. :smile:

Omg, Carolyn, you were posting at the same time I was. Hello :-D
 
I can't remember if I've mentioned Adequan in Checkers' condo before or not. We use it for our 17 year old civvie, Mario, who has pretty severe arthritis. It has been a miracle for him. He's still obviously arthritic, but he is also so much more comfortable, his posture is so much better, he runs and plays again...it has been awesome. I know a few others here use it too...Melissa uses it with her drooler, Patty recently started Champ on it.

If you do decide to give Adequan a whirl, you do need a script for it, but Drs Foster and Smith seems to have the best price...half of what my vet was charging.

I hope Checkers clears that bounce ASAP. Have a great night!!
 
Amy, do you do the injections yourself? Where in the cat's body does the injection go?
Checkers wouldn't let me shoot anywhere below the waist. I can only shoot scruff.
How long does it take to work? I've been looking into it. Several people on here use it...I think

Isn't it a steroid?
 
Re: 3/7 Checkers pmps 417 'sigh'

Pip & Rupert said:
euw. didn't know that about Metacam.. that's why I wasn't entirely sure it was even available for cats, it's a 'dog' thing, but I think they might also call it Meloxicam for cats. good to know. it was just a thought. sorry.

No worries, Pip...and no reason to be sorry.

I had no idea about the metacam before I joined here, either.
That's the beauty of this place...we all learn so much from each other!
 
Barb & Checkers said:
Amy, do you do the injections yourself? Where in the cat's body does the injection go?
Checkers wouldn't let me shoot anywhere below the waist. I can only shoot scruff.
How long does it take to work? I've been looking into it. Several people on here use it...I think

Isn't it a steroid?

Hi Barb-

Sorry I missed this last night. We do the injections ourselves, and we do them in Mario's shoulder area, just like Trix's insulin. It was originally believed that Adequan had to be given IM, but that's not the case anymore. We give it SubQ, and it works perfectly fine that way. We do use a different syringe, because Mario's dose is basically the equivalent of 30 insulin units; while we could use an insulin syringe, that much juice goes in much more quickly with a bigger needle.

To the best of my knowledge, it is not a steroid. I know Rocket had an adverse skin reaction to it, but everyone else I know who has used it has had great results.

It does take a while for it to REALLY start working, but we started seeing positive results after just a few doses. I would say we started seen the best results a couple months in. There is a "loading dose" protocol to follow. We did 2 injections a week for 4 weeks, then one injection a week for 4 weeks, then every other week for 4 weeks. Now, we give it to him one injection every 3-4 weeks. I can tell when he needs a "boost", because his posture starts getting "icky", and he starts bunny-hopping down the stairs again.

We started him on it last June, if I remember correctly...one of the best decisions we've made, because he was having a really hard time with his arthritis. You could even see his stiffness when he slept. Now, he looks super-relaxed and flopped out when he snoozes.

I hope this info helps!

Amy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top