3/7, Bell, AMPS 391 +5.5 347 PMPS 304

Seth&Bell

Member Since 2024
Yesterday

Party's over Bell! Cmon down now! I hate these high pink cycles, definitely takes a toll on her. Her tummy has been icky and she's peeing a bunch. Not really surprised at all, given that awesome stretch she's had. I'm just really hoping I can catch the bounce break on the weekend instead of the wee hours of Monday morning.

Got my shot 3/4 of the way earlier. One more move to go
 
1772929939897.png
 
I thought the same! I was hoping the earlier shot time would give her a bit of an extra kick…

On that note, Wendy, I do have a question about an experimental dosing strategy. I know you mentioned the strategy of holding one more shot at the current dose before reduction if you are sure the cat is bouncing. Would it ever make sense to use the same principle to try and combat (or reduce) a bounce in a non-reduction cycle? It is pretty obvious when Bell is going to have a bouncing cycle, and I’ve wondered if a one time increase when I’m absolutely sure she is bouncing would help. And then returning to the original dose the next cycle.

I’m guessing the answer is “not a good idea” since it would mess with our ability to evaluate the baseline dose. But I have noticed that Bell sometimes responds to an increase the same cycle as the increase, which is what sparked this question.
 
So you are asking if we temporarily increase a dose to combat a bounce? Your answer is correct - not a good idea, you'll mess with the depot. We base dosing decisions on nadirs, try to ignore the bounces. At least with Bell, the numbers part of her bounces don't last long. There are tools, like fast acting insulin R that are possibilities if her high numbers lasted longer. But there are also downsides to R use and I don't think would be a good choice for Bell at this point. Note for any lurkers, the use of R is an advanced technique and suggested only in certain types of cases. And only to be tried with the help of someone with experience with it.
 
Back
Top