3/7 Alfred AMPS103 - QUESTION ABOUT DOSE

Status
Not open for further replies.

KJ & Alfred

Member Since 2013
Good morning. Alfred's BG just now was 103 and he will be alone all day. I am going out of town and my husband will be working. He can come back and check him periodically, but can't really be here all day to monitor him so we're a bit concerned, wondering if we should give the 1.25U or not (or less) since while not super low, still lower than we thought based on yesterday.

Anyone around to weigh in on this with us?

Here's where we were yesterday
 
Hi guys .. what a nice start to the day! I don't really have any advice for you, but sometimes it is best to play it safe .. I hope others with more knowledge will be here soon for you .. have a great day guys!
 
Thanks, Peter. We were just talking about playing it safe as well. I think Dave will come by at noon and check him again. Hope you have a nice day, too!
 
Yep at this stage, best to play it safe if he will be alone all day.

For the first time shooting that low you would want to monitor more closely.

You can get back on track tonight.
 
I'm no expert but I would not give the shot, it seems like he is really responding to all the changes. You don't want to risk a hypo. You are doing great!!!!! :-D
 
If you're not going to be home to monitor and because you don't have very much data yet, I too would suggest that you skip the shot, and leave out extra food for him because he does have some insulin in his depot.
Please get at least an out the door test before you leave.
 
Thank you, all. We just tested him again at +2 and he was at 162. Dave was able to rearrange his schedule a bit to be home this afternoon. He has eaten well and has some additional food out. Is there a scenario when numbers shoot up and you'd be inclined to shoot before your normal 12 hour schedule? Dave will keep testing as much as he can and ill be keeping up here while I'm traveling.
 
If numbers zoom way up (high 200s or more), you could shoot at +10 IF he got his shot on time today or if you skipped this morning....but not any sooner than that. You could also shoot at +11 if +10 doesn't work for you or if he's not really high by +10.
 
Thank you marje. I just landed in Portland and got a text from Dave :"258 @+ 4.5. Any word on midday shot???"

I copied your earlier response and shared with him. He'll be home most if the evening so should be fine to shoot and monitor etc.
 
Welcome to the forum! I have been away for a few days and wondered how Alfred was getting on! You are in the right place!

And what a handsome boy he is!
 
I'm sorry we slipped thus morning since it turned out Dave was able to be around more than we thought. Would a better course have been to give a smaller dose? We're up to 318 now.
 
Just wanted to stop by and say hi, not sure if I welcomed you and Alfred or not.
I am no expert but can offer support and warmth. I must say Alfred fits his name. Very handosme man. Alaska is on my bucket list, would love to go someday. Alfred is a lucky kitty to not only have beans who care enough to be here but to live in a beautiful state. Hoping good things for Alfred. Keep up the good work bean.
 
Yes, shooting a reduced dose is always an option.

If he's at 318...Dave can shoot at +10 or +11 BUT remember that the next shot will need to be 12 hours from when he shoots tonight with a slight adjustment. As an example:

If your normal shot time is 7/7. Dave shoots at 5 tonight. Then he will need to shoot at 5:15 tomorrow morning OR 5:30 tomorrow night to start getting back to your normal shot time. You adjust by shooting later 15 mins each cycle or 30 mins once a day.

BUT with the change to DST, I believe you don't have to go all the way back to 7 (sorry, we don't change time). Here's the explanation of how to adjust for the Change to DST.

Let me know if you have questions about that.

Also....if you don't shoot, then it is AMBG for mornings and PMBG for evenings. That's why I wasn't sure if you shot this morning because subject line is "AMPS".

have a great trip KJ!
 
Yes, Dave is updating the SS now and I forgot to clarify that it was an AMBG this morning vs. AMPS. We're going to shoot at +11 and stick with 1.25u unless anyone has other advice.
 
I think that's a good plan. That might actually work out right for DST. If you normally shoot at 7 but you are shooting at six tonight, then you could just leave him there and shoot at six ...when the time changes on Sunday, you'd be back at 7 without having to adjust schedules at all.

Clear as mud? :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top