3/7/20 Butternut AMPS=386 @ER vet tonight for supervision

Dandelion

Member Since 2015
Butternut vomited — grass and his food — last night between 12:30AM and 6:30. I fed him @ PM 12:30 with bg at 281. He ate normally.

This morning @6:30 he was laying on the floor sleeping instead of meeting me to go outside. Not sure if he hypo’d or what after vomiting. He didn’t want to eat a meal.

He would eat a pill pocket this AM so I got his Cerenia into him@6:45AM. He ate a little babyfood around 7:10. I cut his dose to 1.25 U and shot him knowing I was headed to the vet and they could stabilize him if necessary.
I kept testing him at the vet and he eventually ate 1/2 can FF and with some gusto. I did start to give him gravy later at the vet to slow down the descent and to get home safely. He ate that heartily too.

He ate a bit more gravy when we got home but he’s either full or nauseous. It was enough to stop his bg from going down further.... so far. If this low appetite continues we’ll be going back to the vet for more testing and stabilization.

His potassium was lower than it’s ever been so the K gluconate dose has been increased. Rear legs weak again today but much better since he’s eaten and got some meds into him. Slight fever 103.5°

His bg is stable.. coming up a little and he’s in his bed purring. Definitely not himself though. :(

I expect the carbs to hit his system hard later on... . who knows. How should I handle his insulin dose @PMPS?

He has NOT thrown up again since last night. He’s NOT normally a barfing kinda cat so something is up with him. Pancreatitis flare, perhaps.
 
Keep an eye on him this afternoon - let's hope he's just resting after the vetty visit. I hope he starts to feel better soon...in the meantime, watch those numbers closely to make sure he surfs safely.

You've got a while before PMPS - let's see what he does in the next few hours. Looks like you and @SnowKat are kinda in the same 'watch' mode this afternoon to determine tonight's injection...
 
Butternut will be staying at the vet tonight so they can keep him safe. I cannot if he won’t eat. Shouldn’t have given him insulin in the first place this morning. 2nd dumb thing was to leave the vet before he was past nadir since he was dropping off BG early in the cycle. :facepalm::banghead: Thought I had him stabilized but he got down to 57 on the AT2, wouldn’t eat so I was outta here. I’ve never seen him that low on the AT2 before.

I havef to bring down his meds for 7 PM. They don’t have any Levemir or Lantus! Not sure what to tell them about PM dose? He’ll be on a drip unless he eats. I guess if he hasn’t eaten by 7 or won’t when I get @6:30 there then we’ll have to make a decision about dose.

They were awed by the SS. :cool: I said, “Everybody with a diabetic cat and treating with insulin should do this!”


Gotta run.
 
I'm so sorry to hear Butternut is still refusing food. I hope the vet has overnight supervision and that they are able to test him. I probably would not have them give insulin unless they tell you that they absolutely WILL be testing regularly.

That's a nice compliment that your vet recognizes the effort that you've put into keeping him safe and healthy. Please keep us updated when you know how he's doing and let's hope those numbers come up.
 
They told me his BG was 197 at around 6:30. I said, “well yeah his insulin wore off . Now he needs more and if he doesn’t want to eat that’s a problem!” He has his own vet nurse during the night and tomorrow if he has to stay. She will check his vitals and BG every 4 hours... maybe more frequently like every 2 hours. Doc will check him too @ shift change. They will text me pics of him during the night and I can call whenever I want to for updates.
He’s on a dextrose drip and hopefully they gave him insulin on time, then offer food. He’s loving his fluids!! Perfusion. :woot: He’s perky and looking around at everything... hope he gives those stinkin’ dogs the side-eye! o_O Good thing he can’t hear.
They know the dose I gave him this morning and how that went. :facepalm: They can check his SS for history too. I put in my .02 about it.

He hadn’t eaten when I got there tonight because they don’t have FF pate. I had to bring some plus all his insulin, other meds, bowl, etc.. ... He needs a suitcase! Of course I had to write up 2 pages of instructions ... they asked for it so I let it rip:D....Yep, I’m a helicopter parent. Yep, he’s high maintenance.
Crossing fingers he eats like he did this morning.

I mentioned tonight because I forgot earlier that at times when he strains in the box coz he’s constipated, he pukes. Vasovagal response or something and maybe that happened last night... right during the nadir hours. He isn’t backed up tonight though - checked with X-ray - and they didn’t see anything abnormal on the X-ray re his organs except smaller kidneys. Ultrasound is a possibility tomorrow - was clear a year ago and his PLI was even higher.

I’d never leave him alone anywhere in this condition. Was bad enough last night that I was asleep not knowing what was happening to him in the room below mine. :eek:
Gotta get to the bottom of his inflammation and deal with it.

Thanks :)
 
Hi,

Sounds like you've got a great vet team behind you and dandelion! :cat: Just sending healing strength and hugs, hoping he's home soon and stable!

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Darcy and Jonesy
 
Back
Top