Dandelion
Member Since 2015
Butternut vomited — grass and his food — last night between 12:30AM and 6:30. I fed him @ PM 12:30 with bg at 281. He ate normally.
This morning @6:30 he was laying on the floor sleeping instead of meeting me to go outside. Not sure if he hypo’d or what after vomiting. He didn’t want to eat a meal.
He would eat a pill pocket this AM so I got his Cerenia into him@6:45AM. He ate a little babyfood around 7:10. I cut his dose to 1.25 U and shot him knowing I was headed to the vet and they could stabilize him if necessary.
I kept testing him at the vet and he eventually ate 1/2 can FF and with some gusto. I did start to give him gravy later at the vet to slow down the descent and to get home safely. He ate that heartily too.
He ate a bit more gravy when we got home but he’s either full or nauseous. It was enough to stop his bg from going down further.... so far. If this low appetite continues we’ll be going back to the vet for more testing and stabilization.
His potassium was lower than it’s ever been so the K gluconate dose has been increased. Rear legs weak again today but much better since he’s eaten and got some meds into him. Slight fever 103.5°
His bg is stable.. coming up a little and he’s in his bed purring. Definitely not himself though.
I expect the carbs to hit his system hard later on... . who knows. How should I handle his insulin dose @PMPS?
He has NOT thrown up again since last night. He’s NOT normally a barfing kinda cat so something is up with him. Pancreatitis flare, perhaps.
This morning @6:30 he was laying on the floor sleeping instead of meeting me to go outside. Not sure if he hypo’d or what after vomiting. He didn’t want to eat a meal.
He would eat a pill pocket this AM so I got his Cerenia into him@6:45AM. He ate a little babyfood around 7:10. I cut his dose to 1.25 U and shot him knowing I was headed to the vet and they could stabilize him if necessary.
I kept testing him at the vet and he eventually ate 1/2 can FF and with some gusto. I did start to give him gravy later at the vet to slow down the descent and to get home safely. He ate that heartily too.
He ate a bit more gravy when we got home but he’s either full or nauseous. It was enough to stop his bg from going down further.... so far. If this low appetite continues we’ll be going back to the vet for more testing and stabilization.
His potassium was lower than it’s ever been so the K gluconate dose has been increased. Rear legs weak again today but much better since he’s eaten and got some meds into him. Slight fever 103.5°
His bg is stable.. coming up a little and he’s in his bed purring. Definitely not himself though.
I expect the carbs to hit his system hard later on... . who knows. How should I handle his insulin dose @PMPS?
He has NOT thrown up again since last night. He’s NOT normally a barfing kinda cat so something is up with him. Pancreatitis flare, perhaps.

Thought I had him stabilized but he got down to 57 on the AT2, wouldn’t eat so I was outta here. I’ve never seen him that low on the AT2 before.
He’s perky and looking around at everything... hope he gives those stinkin’ dogs the side-eye!
Just sending healing strength and hugs, hoping he's home soon and stable! 