3/6 Willows pmps 102bg great day for Willow!

Status
Not open for further replies.
It looks like Willow was being bouncy yesterday from that green on Saturday. I hope she comes back down today and surfs safely for you.
 
Hi guys

Here is the problem I'm having 1.25 is not enough and she stays yellow/pink. While 1.50 is too much and she keeps going below 50bg.
I'm at a loss with this problem. From the looks of her numbers today her amps 221bg with +9@60bg and dropping
Tonight she will be most likely below 70bg and my thought is to only give her 1u because we clearly know 1.5u drops her a lot.
WTH is going on with this cat ?
 
Here's an idea for you. For kitties that are long term diabetics, over one year on the juice, or have difficulty holding reductions, one method is to hold a dose until they go under 50'three times or under 40 once. Willow is now a long term diabetic. That might help Willow get more used to good numbers, and hence less bouncy.
 
Last edited:
Here's an idea for you. For kitties that are long term diabetics, over one yeR on the juice, or have difficulty holding reductions, one method is to hold a dose until they go under 50'three times or under 40 once. Willow is now a long term diabetic. That might help Willow get more used to good numbers, and hence less bouncy.
@carfurby

Hi
This is the third time at 1.5 below 50 and one of the times she hit 39bg. I did do reductions each time and had to go back up.
When I reduced her to 1.25 for three days she stayed yellow then pink and red one day. As soon as I put her back to 1.5 she drops like a rock.
Right now she is eating a little and her pmps is one hour from now.
The problem we have is many days there is no one home to check her, if she goes to low I could end up with her in a coma or dead.
I'm thinking if I did not give her some food at +9 she would for sure went below 50 today.
Here is another thing I noticed. When her numbers are yellow she eats more food during the day, when she is blue or green she does not eat that much during the day.

Thoughts?
 
Do you think you can consistently find a dose part way between 1.25 and 1.5 units?

Do you have an autofeeder for those days no one is home?
 
A pair of calipers might be a big help in getting a good in between dose. Harbor freight usually has them pretty cheap, especially with their constant coupons.
1.25 vs 1.5 is a 16% difference which might be too big to find that just right dose.
 
Here is another thing I noticed. When her numbers are yellow she eats more food during the day, when she is blue or green she does not eat that much during the day.
When a cat is in higher numbers, they eat more because their body isn't processing food correctly. When they get into normal numbers, they don't need to eat as much because their body is processing food correctly. However, if they drop really low, they may start looking for food.
 
Do you think you can consistently find a dose part way between 1.25 and 1.5 units?

Do you have an autofeeder for those days no one is home?
Hi
We have a autofeeder, the problem is if you look at her numbers where she got below 50 it took a whole can of gravy to get her safe again.
On the dose, I'm doing the best I can trying to get it between the half mark.
Tonight she was 102bg pmps, this was clearly affected by her eating at +9 and again at +10&11
I went with the 1.25 tonight and will keep checking her.
At one point we had gotten to 1u twice a day and she was dropping from there. Then we had to deal with the food change and everything went out the window.
 
A pair of calipers might be a big help in getting a good in between dose. Harbor freight usually has them pretty cheap, especially with their constant coupons.
1.25 vs 1.5 is a 16% difference which might be too big to find that just right dose.
They have a way to measure this? That would be a lot of help.
 
When a cat is in higher numbers, they eat more because their body isn't processing food correctly. When they get into normal numbers, they don't need to eat as much because their body is processing food correctly. However, if they drop really low, they may start looking for food.
Hi
This is what we are seeing with her lately it's spot on
When a cat is in higher numbers, they eat more because their body isn't processing food correctly. When they get into normal numbers, they don't need to eat as much because their body is processing food correctly. However, if they drop really low, they may start looking for food.

Hi
This is what we are seeing with her, spot on with her eating.
 
I like Wes's idea of calipers. It really helps get some consistency in dosing and help you find those in between doses. Neko was really sensitive to tiny changes of insulin her last year. I would have gone nuts without calipers. Did you ever read Marje's post on dosing with calipers?
 
I like Wes's idea of calipers. It really helps get some consistency in dosing and help you find those in between doses. Neko was really sensitive to tiny changes of insulin her last year. I would have gone nuts without calipers. Did you ever read Marje's post on dosing with calipers?
Hi
I was just watching it, that's not a bad ideal, I'll stop off at harbor freight tomorrow
 
She's looking like she's making progress.

I think you may find the calipers solve your problem. A lot of cats who are very sensitive to dose changes will improve with calipers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top