3/6 Trixie PMPS 278 +2 219 +4 112 +5 83 +5.75 62 +6.75 68

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Green AMPS again! I did shoot a full dose today, since I knew I could come home to take care of her if need be. I definitely think we're getting a late nadir because of the fluids, but I have yet to determine when the drop is starting. Last night, we did her fluids at "shot +2". We stayed and tested until "shot +5.5/fluids +3.5", and she was at 161...exhaustion had set in and we crashed. Then I woke up to the 85. Argh. Granted it is a lovely number, but the late drops that I'm not able to easily catch are making me a little nervous. I was hoping we'd have some evidence by that last reading last night, which was already well past our old, "normal" bedtime...and once again, she was up there enough that I thought the previous mornings' lower AMPS were probably a coincidence. Since we both work, evenings after her shot at some point is the only time that we can consistently do the fluids.

Hopefully fluids will go a little more smoothly tonight. Last night wasn't a total bust, but it wasn't as successful as the previous two nights. I have to re-watch Marje's video for a refresher.

When I mentioned the drops to the vetty last night, she said that even though Trix doesn't appear to be dehydrated (her skin snaps back, slippery gums, wet nose, eyes look good), with her createnine where it is/was (sooooo hoping it's going down), she has to be dehydrates at the SubQ level and the fluids are helping her better-absorb the insulin. For now, we're going to stick with the LRS, but she did say there are other solutions that may be a better option for Trix. We're planning on sticking with the LRS until we rerun her bloodwork on March 22, and then we'll use those results combined with the BG issue to determine if we need a different solution.

And, because of that, we're holding off on tracking down a full case of solution until we know for sure LRS will be "the one". I finally did find someone who can get me the stuff for $9.99 per bag, plus $9.99 shipping. Crazy. Even though get the stuff from the vetty is costly, until we retest, I guess that is what we will do...we'll need 2 more bags to get us to March 22. I'm picking one up tonight, while I'm running errands.

I did start the phosporous binder this morning, too. We're starting low - spreading about a 1/4 tsp over the course of the day - and going from there. Again, since her case is a little odd, we're taking a lot of these things a little more slowly. This morning's fuds spike is a little unusual for Trix, so of course I'm wondering if the binder has something to do with that.

Marje suggested I try a lower phos food as well. As we know, with FD involved, that's a bit tricky. She hates EVO even more than she hates Wellness, so that one is out. I'm going to try Weruva Paw Lickin' Chicken again...she does love that one, and it is lower in phos than Wellness. The only issue is that, even though it supposedly only 3 on the carb scale, when we tried it last year, it seemed to send her BGs all over the map....no matter how much in increased her, I was making no progress as long as she was eating it. When I finally switched her back to Wellness, we hit the breakthrough dose of 5.00U....it was crazy. So, I am a little nervous about making that switch, but I'll start with giving her just a little bit at first to see how it affects her numbers. HOpefully she'll remember how to eat those shreds - I remember last year she didn't quite know what to do with it at first, but once she figured it out, she loved the stuff. It would be nice to retire the FortiFlora, too!

Yep, the game has totally changed here. We're slowly getting our bearings. With all that, Trix remains radiant. I'm trying to not be overly fussy with her or make her nervous by behaving differently.

One more day of work and I'm finally off tomorrow. Have a great day, LL!

Amy
 
Re: 3/6 Trixie AMPS 85 +2 120

Wow on the greens. Those are nice to see but a little un-nerving. Sounds like you are getting all of your info in a row and ready to act when you know for sure. Leave it to Trixie to not be a "normal" case of anything. Glad it hasn't fazed her at all. Have a great day Amy!
 
Re: 3/6 Trixie AMPS 85 +2 120 +4 150

Yep, definitely not "normal Trixie" cycles these days....or, I guess we're looking at a "new normal." One day at a time....
 
Re: 3/6 Trixie AMPS 85 +2 120 +4 150

We found the fluids really affected Zener's BGs, usually sending them plunging in the following cycle. Looks like Trix has other plans. Of course. :lol: Big hugs to you, Amy.
Liz
 
Re: 3/6 Trixie AMPS 85 +2 120 +4 150

Hi Amy, sounds like you have plans in place and are feeling your way. You are doing great. Rusty likes Paw Lickin Chicken and it doesn't spike his bgs. He does have trouble with the shreds because he only has 5 teeth, so I chop them up with the edge of a spoon and that seems to work.

Good luck with everything,

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/6 Trixie AMPS 85 +2 120 +4 150 PMPS 278

Yuck! I know there was insulin in that syringe this morning, and I know I didn't do a fur shot! Well, she's feeling radiant, despite the yucky PS. I wasn't home for dinner/PS/shot time, but DH said she ate like champ, was thrilled with her post-shot "treats" (pill-pocketed meds), and was happily rolling around basking in front of the heating vent, warming her belly fur.

We're going to try fluids at +1 tonight (in a few minutes), then eat our on din-din...
 
Re: 3/6 Trixie AMPS 85 +2 120 +4 150 PMPS 278

I'm glad Trixie is still being radiant throughout all of this. Good luck with the fluids tonight.
 
Re: 3/6 Trixie AMPS 85 +2 120 +4 150 PMPS 278 +2 219 +4 112

We had a successful fluid run at +1 tonight...Trix was so sweet and such a helpful little girl. When we took her into the bathroom, she headed to the towel and laid down....she's such a good little helper. The needle stick was smooth and fluids went in nicely.

And...now her BGs are on the move! Maybe we need to do the fluids earlier like we did tonight, just so we can see where she is headed. I'm staying up, but I do hope she levels off...
 
Re: 3/6 Trixie AMPS 85 +2 120 +4 150 PMPS 278 +2 219 +4 112

Awww, what a sweet girl, to lay down and get ready for her fluids! I hope she surfs it for you tonight. It's good you're off tomorrow too, to spend some "down" time with her. It's good to be proactive with all you are doing. I hope you can find a good balance of phos/carbs too, I know how hard that is :? . Have a good evening Amy, scritches to Trixie from me :-D
 
Re: 3/6 Trixie PMPS 278 +2 219 +4 112 +5 83

She's still on the move...I'm really missing my flat, reliable cat right now......
 
Re: 3/6 Trixie PMPS 278 +2 219 +4 112 +5 83 +5.75 62

Gave her a little HC to slow things down.....tired bean, here, Trix....surf, surf, surf!!!
 
Re: 3/6 Trixie PMPS 278 +2 219 +4 112 +5 83 +5.75 62

Come on Trixie...hop on that surfboard and get your surf on!!!!! I definitely like where your numbers are right now! Snuggle well tonight!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top