3/6 Samwise AMPS 209 PMPS 413 +2 292

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/6 Samwise AMPS 209

Whoaaaaaaaaa Sam!!!! :RAHCAT

Considering those amps (info I did not have when I posted in your other condo), you may want to stick with the 1u for the next few days and do what you can to get those extra tests in, followed by a curve on 1u this weekend. Then re evaluate for next week.

Note: he may be high this evening because his liver probably saw some numbers this afternoon that it is not used to. Don't fret. ;-)

I am so happy you have stuck with this dose. It is WONDERFUL to hear Sam is feeling better. :mrgreen:

Keep up the good work (both of you!)!!!!
 
Re: 3/6 Samwise AMPS 209

I was just going to edit my original post, but wanted to make sure you saw this...

DO what you can to get those extra tests for the time being. You may end up needing to shave a drop or more off the 1u. I notice in Sam's ss that a few months ago he hit a 36 on 1u, but you kept shooting the 1u anyway. If you ever catch him below 50, you will want to decrease the dose by up to .25u.

As a guide, I am adding protocol for reducing doses:
Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.

Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
 
Re: 3/6 Samwise AMPS 209

Beautiful Amps Sammy.....Looking good! :thumbup SO nice to see him out of those red numbers he looks so much better in yellow but would be absolutely stunning in blue :-D

I have to second this in the curious minds want to know......Chicken Crisis?

Mel, Maxwell, Musette &The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/6 Samwise AMPS 209

Hi, Sue and Sam ~

Haven't been around much lately due to a crazy work schedule, but I wanted to check in to see how you and Sammy are doing these days, Sue. I love seeing that lower yellow number for Sam. I know you have a challenge with dosing for your sweet furboy. Carolyn has given you some good advice. We like what that 1U dose is doing for Sam now, Sue.

So glad to see that you're starting to get some PM +2 tests in, Sue. Looking at Sam's spreadsheet, we can see that Sam has a history of going lower at night. By getting those +2 tests done, you can see if/when Sam's going lower at night. That would help explain some of his higher AM numbers and tell you to hold the dose until the bounce has cleared.

The one thing you and I have talked about before is that Sammy doesn't tend to hold reductions well (and he's not alone, Sue. A number of us have gone through that with our kitties). If Sam were my kitty, whenever I gave him a reduction in dose, I'd skinny the higher dose, keeping his reductions small. And then I'd want to be sure over the next three days or so that he was able to hold that lower dose well. And by that I mean are his numbers looking as good or better than they were at the higher dose? If not, I'd take him back up to the previous higher dose that was working for him. I wouldn't keep him on a reduced dose that wasn't giving him good numbers for long, just long enough for any bounce to clear and to see what that lower dose was doing for him. Of course, with your daily schedule, you need to do what's safe for Sammy and comfortable for you, Sue, time-wise.

For example, you'd been dosing a fat 1 and starting to get some better numbers for Sammy. And then on 2/15, Sammy surprised you with that lovely 120 PMPS number. For Sam's safety and your comfort, you shot a reduced dose of .60 which is what I would have done too. You did test him at PM +2 and got that green 86. The next morning, 2/16, Sam's AM preshot was 592, and you shot a reduced dose of .70U. I think what I would have done is shot through the AM bounce/rebound by staying with the fat 1U dose and then reduced to 1U for the PM dose. Dropping the dose down to .70U is a very large reduction for Sammy since he doesn't tend to hold reductions well. After a few days on that reduced dose of .70U, Sue, Sammy was not showing improved numbers so it was time to take him back up to a higher dose.

Sue, you'll start making some good headway with Sammy on a dose and then he'll surprise you with one of those low numbers so you need to shoot a reduced dose. I think a key with Sam might be to keep reductions small and to follow the reduction protocol that Carolyn provided: "If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose."

Sue, I love your devotion to your sweet furboy. I care about you two. {{{Sue and Sammy}}}

Enjoy the day,
Eva
 
Okay, minor chicken crisis explained.. I was letting them out of their house to run around and free range, they really dig it when one of the hens, I think it was Oprah, got a claw stuck in the grate in front the house. That's there to keep that damned rabbit from digging in front of the door, I had to free her up which took a bit of time. Then lunch had to be eaten and by the time I was done, I didn't have enough time to catch a test. That hen was so upset, squawking and flapping of wings! You'd think she was being tortured. :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Thanks, Eva for caring about me and the Samster. Thanks to all of you. I really appreciate it and all your comments of help. I am going to stick with the 1 unit until I see something going on!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top