Re: 3/6 Samwise AMPS 209
Hi, Sue and Sam ~
Haven't been around much lately due to a crazy work schedule, but I wanted to check in to see how you and Sammy are doing these days, Sue. I love seeing that lower yellow number for Sam. I know you have a challenge with dosing for your sweet furboy. Carolyn has given you some good advice. We like what that 1U dose is doing for Sam now, Sue.
So glad to see that you're starting to get some PM +2 tests in, Sue. Looking at Sam's spreadsheet, we can see that Sam has a history of going lower at night. By getting those +2 tests done, you can see if/when Sam's going lower at night. That would help explain some of his higher AM numbers and tell you to hold the dose until the bounce has cleared.
The one thing you and I have talked about before is that Sammy doesn't tend to hold reductions well (and he's not alone, Sue. A number of us have gone through that with our kitties). If Sam were my kitty, whenever I gave him a reduction in dose, I'd skinny the higher dose, keeping his reductions small. And then I'd want to be sure over the next three days or so that he was able to hold that lower dose well. And by that I mean are his numbers looking as good or better than they were at the higher dose? If not, I'd take him back up to the previous higher dose that was working for him. I wouldn't keep him on a reduced dose that wasn't giving him good numbers for long, just long enough for any bounce to clear and to see what that lower dose was doing for him. Of course, with your daily schedule, you need to do what's safe for Sammy and comfortable for you, Sue, time-wise.
For example, you'd been dosing a fat 1 and starting to get some better numbers for Sammy. And then on 2/15, Sammy surprised you with that lovely 120 PMPS number. For Sam's safety and your comfort, you shot a reduced dose of .60 which is what I would have done too. You did test him at PM +2 and got that green 86. The next morning, 2/16, Sam's AM preshot was 592, and you shot a reduced dose of .70U. I think what I would have done is shot through the AM bounce/rebound by staying with the fat 1U dose and then reduced to 1U for the PM dose. Dropping the dose down to .70U is a very large reduction for Sammy since he doesn't tend to hold reductions well. After a few days on that reduced dose of .70U, Sue, Sammy was not showing improved numbers so it was time to take him back up to a higher dose.
Sue, you'll start making some good headway with Sammy on a dose and then he'll surprise you with one of those low numbers so you need to shoot a reduced dose. I think a key with Sam might be to keep reductions small and to follow the reduction protocol that Carolyn provided: "If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose."
Sue, I love your devotion to your sweet furboy. I care about you two. {{{Sue and Sammy}}}
Enjoy the day,
Eva