? 3.6 Rufus AMPS 113, +3.5 71, PMPS 146, +2 82 (AT2) Dosage ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sean & Rufus

Member Since 2018
Rufus is doing OK, his old personality is coming back slowly. A little high bg this am after last nights lows, but I did finf him scarfing down super high carb food, 2 hours prior to test. Totally my fault. Ate almost all of his food.

Hope everyone has a great day :)
 
Looking good, Rufus! Sorry about all the issues he has going on, but it will be good to find answers and give him a new lease on life. Were the dental sutures the dissolving kind? Or do they need to remove them?
 
Looking good, Rufus! Sorry about all the issues he has going on, but it will be good to find answers and give him a new lease on life. Were the dental sutures the dissolving kind? Or do they need to remove them?
I don't really know. No follow up appts so they must be dissolving. But tomorrow will be 3 weeks, you'd think they would be gone by now.
 
PMPS 146. Not sure if this dose is good? Higher AM & PM PS's, but lower mid's. Any thoughts??
 
Last edited:
I would hold the dose. Remember that dosing is primarily based on the nadir, not PS readings, and just last night Rufus hit 59, and today he hit 71 - both of which, technically on AT and following SLGS would warrant a reduction.

For arthritis, I've used Adequan and Dasuquin (which is supposedly hyped up Cosequin). IMO, Dasuquin is OK, and Adequan is just fabulous - pretty much a miracle for my severely arthritic GA civvie, Mario - significant relief for his arthritis with (from what I could tell) no side effects - he was on it for over 2 years. I also used it with Trixie, but it was only for a few months before she passed away. Still, in that short time, it helped her tremendously. I know Stacy had been trying out Canna Companion with Asia and seems to be seeing good results.
 
I would hold the dose. Remember that dosing is primarily based on the nadir, not PS readings, and just last night Rufus hit 59, and today he hit 71 - both of which, technically on AT and following SLGS would warrant a reduction.

For arthritis, I've used Adequan and Dasuquin (which is supposedly hyped up Cosequin). IMO, Dasuquin is OK, and Adequan is just fabulous - pretty much a miracle for my severely arthritic GA civvie, Mario - significant relief for his arthritis with (from what I could tell) no side effects - he was on it for over 2 years. I also used it with Trixie, but it was only for a few months before she passed away. Still, in that short time, it helped her tremendously. I know Stacy had been trying out Canna Companion with Asia and seems to be seeing good results.
Rufus is on cosequin now, and not sure if it is helping anymore, also vet thinks I should take him off of it for his possible GI issues. Neither current or previous vet will do Adequan. Specialist yesterday is going to ask her colleagues, so hopefully one of them can do it. Isn't it a series of shots? I'd hate to have to drive 35 minutes each way for them :(
 
Why won't they do Adequan? It's been used for arthritic kitties for quite a number of years now, and several kitties in the group have used it. It is a series of shots; however, they can be done subcutaneously so they can be done at home - especially by someone with FD experience. It was old-school thinking that said they had to be done intramuscularly (which would have to be done by a vet most of the time), but it has since been proven that subQ works just as well. Mario was on it 7 years ago, so the efficacy of subQ dosing is not new knowledge at this point.

There is a loading series followed by maintenance dosing - usually 2 shots a week for 4 weeks; 1 shot a week for 4 weeks; a shot every other week for 4 weeks; as needed after that - usually one shot every 3-4 weeks. With Mario, I could always tell when he needed a "boost" because he would get gimpy again. I always purchased my Adequan online - most recently, Valley Vet had the best prices (way cheaper than purchasing it from a vet). It is off-label for cats, and I always got the Equine version because it was a little cheaper. The canine version is the same exact thing as the equine version except the canine version has a preservative in it. Since the equine version doesn't have the preservative, you have to keep it in the fridge. All in all, not drastically different from giving insulin. I hope someone will prescribe it for you - it really is a great medication for arthritic pets.
 
Thanks you so much for the info! I'm not really sure why neither vet will do it. New vet I didn't even get to talk to, alsways have to go through the tech who talks to the Dr. Old vet and I talked for almost an hour on the phone tonight. Man do I miss her. She is such a nice lady and genuinely cares about Rufus. We talked all about what is going on with him. Anyways, she said they don't do the Adequan there either. It was a little strange,as if she had never heard of it before. I don't know about calling other vets because I don't want to many cooks in the kitchen, but it does sound like it is worth it. I'll ask specialist about it again when I call in later this week. Things move a little slow over there, though.
 
I know some vets are a little behind the times, but Adequan has been around for quite a while now...they need to get with the program :rolleyes:! Good luck with the specialist. Adequan really is awesome for arthritic pets. I've got two others who will probably be starting it soon, too, and it's one medication that I won't hesitate to use.
 
I know some vets are a little behind the times, but Adequan has been around for quite a while now...they need to get with the program :rolleyes:! Good luck with the specialist. Adequan really is awesome for arthritic pets. I've got two others who will probably be starting it soon, too, and it's one medication that I won't hesitate to use.
Thanks Amy! I suspect it is that they are behind the times. Crossing my fingers somebody will prescribe it to me!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top