3/6 River (AMPS 337, +3 330) Tearing my hair out

Paigeworthy

Member Since 2018
Dammit, River, we haven't seen a solid blue and green day since 2018! What gives, Kitty?

Our last thread…

This cat is in AMAZING shape — great appetite and energy level, complaining about it but taking her Denamarin and Ursodiol…

But these numbers are killin' me. I know I am not getting as many tests in as I need. But she's been so damn high and I've been so damn busy that it just hasn't been my top priority. I think I'm going to switch to SLGS so I quit getting hassled.

She seems to be hovering between .75 and 1 units as her ideal dose, but every time we up the dosage, she ventures into lime green (then ~*~ bounces ~*~, obviously).

52057160_413173269229068_1821547565366141597_n.jpg
 
Its really aggravating isnt it, I feel the same with Bellas yellows!!!!!! Hope River comes down for u
 
Sorry you think of our cautions for safety as hassling. More a gentle nag. ;) And thank you for testing a bit more.

I don’t see any lime greens in the last couple weeks. Only the last couple weeks are really relevant data when looking at dosing. At this point you have two choices. The first is to go to SLGS and wait another three days before increasing, after doing a curve. Cause, yes, I think she needs more insulin. The second choice is to continue the amount of testing you have been getting lately and stick to TR, and increase now. She did not earn her last reduction to 0.75 units.

Best of all, I love that River is feeling good.:)
 
I don’t see any lime greens in the last couple weeks. Only the last couple weeks are really relevant data when looking at dosing. At this point you have two choices. The first is to go to SLGS and wait another three days before increasing, after doing a curve. Cause, yes, I think she needs more insulin. The second choice is to continue the amount of testing you have been getting lately and stick to TR, and increase now. She did not earn her last reduction to 0.75 units.

Best of all, I love that River is feeling good.:)

She had a lime green just over two weeks ago, and I made an educated guess that she dipped into lime at +5 PM on 3/1 as well. We had to steer her with food so she wouldn't go down there but thought maybe she did anyway.

The .75 dose is a pain in the ass so we will try to stick with TR for the time being, increase the dose back to 1, and be super vigilant :|

Hassling and gentle nagging feel the same when you're doing everything you can to stay on top of everything.
 
Kudos on getting a "before bed" test every night. That helps fill in the picture.

We will always support whatever you do if River is feeling good.
We're trying. I can't believe it's been less than six months since we started this journey; it feels like a damn eternity.
 
Dammit, River, we haven't seen a solid blue and green day since 2018! What gives, Kitty?

Our last thread…

This cat is in AMAZING shape — great appetite and energy level, complaining about it but taking her Denamarin and Ursodiol…

But these numbers are killin' me. I know I am not getting as many tests in as I need. But she's been so damn high and I've been so damn busy that it just hasn't been my top priority. I think I'm going to switch to SLGS so I quit getting hassled.

She seems to be hovering between .75 and 1 units as her ideal dose, but every time we up the dosage, she ventures into lime green (then ~*~ bounces ~*~, obviously).

52057160_413173269229068_1821547565366141597_n.jpg
River looks kinda like my Abby
 
She had a lime green just over two weeks ago, and I made an educated guess that she dipped into lime at +5 PM on 3/1 as well. We had to steer her with food so she wouldn't go down there but thought maybe she did anyway.
That cycle, (the 3/1/PM) to my eyes was the best cycle of your entire journey so far. It was exactly on the right track. I’m with Wendy - the reduction was not earned - back to 1U.

Keep in mind that in most cases the reason a kitty ends up with FD is that beta cells in the pancreas burned out trying to make enough insulin to metabolize a diet inappropriately high in carbs.
Insulin therapy is required first and foremost to ensure food is metabolized into an amount of usable energy that meets the needs of all the bodies cells.
If you want to take things o step further and try for remission, the pancreas first needs to heal. Healing requires rest - which means getting enough exogenous insulin to keep the BG between 50-120 - what we call the healing zone. If it’s in the cards given enough support the pancreas can heal to the point where they can gradually return to providing enough insulin to meet all metabolic needs.

Healing has its own timetable, it cannot be rushed. The numbers will be your guide.
It’s a marathon not a sprint.

It took us 21 months.
It was well worth it.

Hang in there and hang in here - it’s the best place for a diabetic kitty to be :cool:
 
Hi Paige
It is a marathon. - look how far you've come in 6 months and the marked improvement in River post DKA and all that
Hang in there - spring is coming to Chicago!!!
 
Thanks everyone! I am very touchy lately. Appreciate your support.

That cycle, (the 3/1/PM) to my eyes was the best cycle of your entire journey so far. It was exactly on the right track. I’m with Wendy - the reduction was not earned - back to 1U.
She's back on 1 unit!

Hi Paige
It is a marathon. - look how far you've come in 6 months and the marked improvement in River post DKA and all that
Hang in there - spring is coming to Chicago!!!
You're 100% right, Carol. Thanks for the perspective!
 
Back
Top