3/6 Pumpkin AMPS 336 +2 336 +4 391 +8 411

Jacques and Pumpkin

Member Since 2023
This is our first day trying a low carb diet (just 10% carbs). I made the switch last night. She seems a bit thirstier than normal, also a bit lower appetite and a bit more tired.

Hard to say if it's just variation in the measurements, but her BG seems a bit lower than it's been in a while.
 
The link to your last post here: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-13-pumpkin-amps-252-4-339.274157/
and the one on the Feline Health forum: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...increased-thirst-and-lowered-appetite.274911/

Reducing the carbs doesn't always have an immediate effect, or if there is something else going on it can raise the BG. I don't have a suggestion for the thirst, but she could be feeling less like she's in "Pumpkin normal BG" and feeling tired because of that. I compare high BG to lots of caffeine. Lower the BG and they have to get used to the new normal.

Did you not have a PMPS test last night?
 
Thanks for the links. I’ll remember to add them in the future.

I didn’t get a PMPS last night. I couldn’t be home and while my wife can manage the insulin shot, she isn’t yet able to test Pumpkin (Pumpkin is spicy but lets me get away with things others can’t).

If it takes a while for the carbs to have an effect should I hold off on a dose change? The advice I got in the other thread was to lower it if there was no effect from the diet change after a day. After today my next opportunity for AM cycle tests after
AMPS or PM after +4 is Friday.
 
Back
Top